We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“College Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“College Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

My son and I were on a college trip and had a tour at Marquette. The hotel's location was perfect, close to everything. The hotel itself is spectacular. It's very old school. Blu has amazing views and is a great place to have a drink. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Any room here is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phreadhead48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    319
    83
    32
    24
See reviews for
359
647
64
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Pfister has been so impressive on our anniversary stay. The rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. The hotel is historic and charming and located in the perfect area to see many of the main attractions. We upgraded our stay to include the lounge and the service has been unbelievably. Wifi, snacks, drinks, happy hour, business center and much more, but best of all was the service. Clint was so nice, he shared with us different ideas of things to do, places to go, etc and just really welcomed us. Definitely steered us in the right direction after we were drifting off course with our list of things to see and try to do. Thank you- will be back if we are ever in Milwaukee

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachtraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Talk about a beautiful hotel. As soon as my wife and I walked up to the front desk we were in awe! We checked in a peak time but were in our rooms very quickly. Numerous staff members asked if there was anything we needed.

The rooms were very comfortable and plenty spacious. The bathrooms are very elegantly appointed. Seems like a funny comment but there were very nice.

The only knock would be the cigarette odor coming from our a/c unit. When we notified the front desk they did send up security and offer to move us to another room. I guess another knock would be that wifi is not inclusive with the room fee. Not a deal break but with as high end as the Pfister is, you would think it would be included.

We would stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The accommodations, the staff, the friendliness, the competence, the overall ambience-just about everything that makes a hotel great is evident at the Pfister. Our experience there could not have been better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old tower section which has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebtedyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Upon arrival we met many employee's who were all smiling and willing to go out of their way to assist us. The rooms were spectacular. We were withing walking distance of the places we were going. Highly recommend this hotel! Very Beautiful with Great Service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaZ861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Wedding Weekend~ Everyone we came in contact with had a smile on their face and really seemed to love their jobs refreshing!~ 10+ across the boards~ Highly recommend this hotel it is beautiful and the service is beyond great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This grand and iconic hotel served as a magnificent backdrop to a lovely holiday stay. Conveniently located to nearly everything a visitor to Milwaukee would want to see or do, this hotel has it all. Our room was comfortable and well-appointed. The food was excellent. We (in our very casual shorts/jeans and tees) were quite comfortable throughout the hotel, never feeling out of place or under-dressed. Yet, the lobby was often filled with the curious mixture of high-fashion and middle-class casual. It is a great location to people watch too - we saw sports figures and a national political figure just during our 4-night stay. Mostly, the SERVICE at this hotel - its people - set it apart from all others. We were treated as if we were the hotel owners, not guests. There wasn't a request too small or a need too great that they couldn't handle. The beds were supremely comfortable, but our lower floor room did pick up street sounds (which was not a problem, unless going to sleep very early). The self-parking charges are in keeping with the area, although we wished they were a little lower. Nevertheless, we felt the additional added charge of $5/night, to make it valet parking instead (unlimited in/out), was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Pfister Hotel on your visit to Milwaukee. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests – most especially those who take the time to express kind words about our property and our associates. You have certainly made my day!

We are proud of The Pfister's heritage, but most proud of our associates who make a commitment to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for all of our guests. We strive to be “People Pleasers” and are very happy you have recognized our efforts. .

Next time you're in Milwaukee, we'll be here ready to welcome you back to The Pfister!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing