We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun concert getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun concert getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

When you walk in to this hotel you feel as though you just walked onto a movie set. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and I originally received a room with double beds. They gladly changed is to a King size with no problem. If you would like to stay with the old style charm of the hotel ask to stay in the main building. If you want a newer boutique style room ask for the Tower. The room was large, modern, and lots of character. The cafe downstairs had a wonderful menu for breakfast and it was delicious. The hotel is perfectly located near all of the restaurants, concert venues, and shops. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jml1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Pfister Hotel. We are proud of the hotel's 120 year history, and excited that you experienced the blend of historic charm along with our newly renovated Tower guestrooms. I'm happy your stay was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to The Pfister very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    319
    83
    32
    24
See reviews for
359
646
64
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just booked my next stay to the Pfister. We stayed in Pfister for almost 2 weeks on our last visit to Milwaukee and i loved the style of the hotel. They lobby is very nice and the lobby bar with a piano player is nice (try their Bloody Mary's, great). The room was a little tiny, but it is understandable. Upstairs lounge/bar is very nice with a great view of the city. The same thing goes with the pool that is located in the higher floors and it has floor to sealing windows, so you can see the whole city when you are swimming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Welcome back to The Pfister! We are happy you have found what we think is the best view of the city from the 23rd floor Lounge and Pool. Thank you for sharing your comments.

As The Pfister Hotel continues to strive for consistent excellence in service, it is our goal to make certain that all your expectations are exceeded by our “People Pleasing People” philosophy.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, Wisconsin for one day on Thursday July 3, 2014.

We were in town for The Zac Brown concert at Summerfest.

HOTEL CHECK IN: We arrived at 10:00am to check in. The room I requested was not ready. There was another identical room available in the historic section so I took it. Check-in was fast. The staff at the front desk was impeccable. There were several bellmen at the entrance to take your luggage. Parking is in the lower section of the newer hotel and you could either park yourself or get the valet service. I parked myself. The newer section of the hotel is not connected to the old section so you have to take the elevator down from the new section, walk down the hall to the old section and take another elevator up to your room. You need your room key to operate the elevator.

ROOM: Our room was 844 on the 8th floor. It was a very well decorated one bedroom King Suite. The room consists of two rooms: a parlor which functions as a sitting room and a bedroom with one king bed. There is a pull out sofa sleeper in the parlor room. The suite includes two flat screen televisions, a desk, two telephones, safe in the closet, a make up mirror, a hair dryer, Ironing board with iron, a snack tray and a refrigerator

POOL: There was a small pool on the 23rd floor in the new section.

SPA: The Well Spa is located in the hotel.

RESTAURANTS: There are three restaurants and 2 bars in the hotel. The Lobby Lounge and Blu on the 23rd floor are very nice. We had room service twice during our visit and was excellent.

SUMMERFEST: The hotel was 15 minutes walking distance to the Summerfest Grounds. We spent most of the day at the fest.

SUMMARY: The Pfister Hotel is a world class hotel with grand elegance and historic tradition. The hotel staff is impeccable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you Pfister management for accommodating my requests. We will return the next time we visit Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Historic Section
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_eyes1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests – most especially those who take the time to express kind words about our property and our associates.

We are proud of the Pfister’s magnificent building, but most proud of our associates who make a commitment to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for all of our guests. We strive to be “People Pleasers” and are very happy you have recognized our efforts.

We are honored you selected The Pfister Hotel when visiting Milwaukee and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The water for the bathtub comes out of the ceiling.

But my mother and I had a regular date for lunch in the lobby.

Half my clothes are from Roger Stevens in the lobby.

I spent my first night as betrothed there.

Cocktails at the Blue Bar are not to be believed. Perfect.

The spa is impossibly unbelievable, as visiting sports people seem to be the clientele.

The only wheelchair accessible bathroom is on the roof, but the hotel staff are very accommodating.

Getting us to the roof.

Spend your honeymoon here, then The Dells.

And to treat yourself , go to the spa.

It is expensive, but worth it ten times over.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HRQuadracci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Pfister so eloquently! We are proud of our history and beautiful building, but most proud of our associates who strive to be People Pleasers and create memorable moments for our guests. It sounds like you had many moments to cherish.

We hope to welcome you back to The Pfister Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful location. Terrific Building. Researched pet policy before booking but got hit with $100 non-refundable deposit that was NOT disclosed. Front desk staff not friendly but the Club Lounge staff was spectacular! Great place and centrally located. Would go again, but not with pets.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us at the Pfister. We strive to be a home away from home and most of all hope to welcome you back in the near future. We know you have many choices when visiting Milwaukee and we are again so thankful and privileged that you chose us. Best wishes and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Pfister is a beautiful luxurious historic hotel in the middle of everything in Milwaukee. Very nice view from the 32nd story Blu lounge and swimming pool. Lots of fun things to do nearby. Walking distance to breweries, restaurants, art museum, festivals, and more. Milwaukee is a fun town with out the huge crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your visit to The Pfister. It sounds like you were able to experience all that Milwaukee has to offer.

The view of Lake Michigan from the 23rd Floor is a view like no other in the City. We are proud of our history and most proud of our associates who strive for consistent excellence in service.

We hope to welcome you back to The Pfister Hotel the next time you visit Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,177 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Pfister is a Historic Hotel of America. Some of those are good, and some are bad. This one was very nice. The front desk staff was very courteous and welcoming, and the bellman was a font of knowledge. We upgraded our stay to include the lounge package or $40 per room or $20. 00 per person. It was totally worth it. We had free wi-fi, complimentary appetizers and soft drinks in the evening with liquor for a small charge, a full hot breakfast buffet I the morning and all from a lounge of the 23rd floor with an amazing view of the lake, sailboats and sun. This was totally worth it for us. My only complaint was that our room, 236, was at the top of the stairs leading up,from the lobby and directly across from a popular meeting place, and the noise was awful. There was a huge conference of insurance folks, and they were having a GREAT time if you know what I mean. Really terrible location for our room, but our room was large and comfortable. Wish we had had coffee in the room as well.

Room Tip: Don't get room 236
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing