We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A recent renovation solidified a 5 star rating. The rooms are generous, appointed well, and the staff are friendly.”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“A recent renovation solidified a 5 star rating. The rooms are generous, appointed well, and the staff are friendly.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Pfister is the preeminent hotel in Milwaukee--it is a classic. The new renovation is the crowning touch. The new Verlo beds are superb as our the linens. European showers add the final touch. A personal favorite are the chocolates delivered to your room at night. And if you leave your shoes out at night, they are shined by the next morning.

Room Tip: I always request a lake view (towers) or a suite in the old portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaintraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,339
    330
    85
    37
    25
See reviews for
382
690
69
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Actually, the 23rd floor Club Lounge was added a whole year ago but this was our first opportunity to visit The Pfister since that time. The Pfister has always been our favorite big-city hotel in the entire U.S. (see my previous reviews) but I had been waiting for over 20 years (no kidding) for them to add this feature. We always always book rooms with Club Lounge access at any hotel that has the feature. It used to be that hotels had a 'Club Floor' meaning you had to book on that specific floor and then you had Club access and that does make it even nicer in a way because you have easy proximity to the Lounge and many are still that way. But more and more we're seeing hotels where you can be staying anywhere on the property and then upgrade to get club Access. It is ALWAYS worth it. While the Pfister falls into the second catagory meaning they don't even have rooms on the 23rd floor. What makes for a perfect trade off is the wonderful view you get of the Lake and the city below. Just gorgeous. The 'Cocktail Hour' is amazing with upscale liquor brands like Crown Royal and Skye and small bottles of Champagne. Any kind of mixer and soft drink you could want. Hot and cold appetiser selections that are constantly replenished. Then breakfast is not just a continental cold breakfast but plenty of hot offerings - again constantly replenished. Yummy. We were told that breakfast goes off at (I think is was) 10 am and we called to ask..... 'Really?'. That seemed awfully early to us since if you're on vacation you're moving at a slower pace and maybe can't get there quite that early (although I know that's not early but I have to get myself and my handicapped son showered, dressed etc). Anyway, they said that "No" they actually don't generally break it down quite that early and NEVER if guests are still in the room. Come to think of it, it could have been 9 am we were told. Can't recall but either way it seemed early at first glance.
In closing, and again if you see my previous reviews that talk more about this wonderful hotel in general, you'll see why we continue our long love affair with this Milwaukee Grand Dame.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was so impressed with the newly remodeled rooms at the Pfister. It was the perfect combination of high end luxury with a comfortable homey vibe. The people on staff were incredible. Every single interaction I had there was positive, accommodating and made me feel like I was someone special. Really, really great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahTostrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at the Pfister Hotel recently for a conference and enjoyed my stay very much. I arrived early but my room was ready, and all of the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room was a decent size and was clean and comfortable, though I found I couldn't control the temperature very well and it was on the warm side. The bathroom was a good size, and there was plenty of closet space, with a safe. There was some noise from the hallways, but not bad. My room was in the older historic part of the hotel, and the lobby and hallways are beautiful.

The gym was a good size, but is awkwardly located off of the lobby so you have to cross the lobby in your gym clothes. I didn't use the pool, but its indoors and on a high floor with great views of the city. The dining options in the hotel itself aren't great - there is a cafe serving Starbucks and some food to go, plus some sit down spaces. The Public Market and other dining options are pretty close by. There's not much immediately outside the hotel, but the Milwaukee Art Museum, the lakefront, and the Riverwalk are within fairly short walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chestnut683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Elegance, tradition, and hospitality welcome you to the Pfister. Cozy, clean beds, luxurious bathrooms, the Lobby Lounge ambiance with outstanding drinks, service, and piano entertainment, the top floor pool, and the Blu with incredible lake views, make staying at the Pfister a "must" for total joy and relaxation.

Room Tip: I prefer a room in the historic section facing East or South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starshiprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Its a cool old hotel from a different era. It has a nice exercise room that you can get into very early if you ask at the front desk. The hotel is more old school than anything. In some ways it would be nicer if they tried to update the hotel a little. It really isn't so nice that it needs to be preserved. The room as adequate at best, although the bed was extremely comfortable. Given a choice I would go back to the Iron Horse hotel which has a lot more character and is a lot more interesting and plain fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsar911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I don't travel a whole lot but when I do I like to stay in nice accommodations. The Pfister represents this to the fullest!
First of all I have to say that the staff as a whole was just outstanding. Now a days you see so many people working in the service industry and they have no personal skills but the Pfister's staff was five-star. I can't even begin to tell you how refreshing it is to see people who seem to enjoy their job.
I stayed in the tower on the 18th floor with the lake view and it was very nice. The room was spacious and the bed was huge. I could go on for days but I'm not a writer and I don't like to write so I'll end my review by saying, if you get a chance, stay at this hotel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: The tower rooms seem to be more contemporary than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dastony1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing