We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I don't travel a whole lot but when I do I like to stay in nice accommodations. The Pfister represents this to the fullest!
First of all I have to say that the staff as a whole was just outstanding. Now a days you see so many people working in the service industry and they have no personal skills but the Pfister's staff was five-star. I can't even begin to tell you how refreshing it is to see people who seem to enjoy their job.
I stayed in the tower on the 18th floor with the lake view and it was very nice. The room was spacious and the bed was huge. I could go on for days but I'm not a writer and I don't like to write so I'll end my review by saying, if you get a chance, stay at this hotel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: The tower rooms seem to be more contemporary than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dastony1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    325
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
372
681
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I spent Easter weekend here. Oh my, it was wonderful. The room was tastefully appointed. The Lobby Lounge was wonderful. We had lunch and a couple of cocktails. We then spent a few hours in Blu - beautiful! The Jazz Band was wonderful and the view was to die for. Sunday's Easter Brunch was terrific. The food was great, the ambience was elegant, the service, impeccable. Can't wait until I can come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAK828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here twice for business. I understand I stayed in the new section so can only comment on that. But found the room comfortable, and the hotel charming. Beautifully decorated for Christmas and the holidays. Rumors of it being haunted are charming and alarming, but a lot of ado about nothing in my case. Loved Blu and the dinner restaurant. Nothing to disway you from staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noleintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We visited Milwaukee for the first time this past weekend as a side trip to our visit to Chicago. We know little about the city and booked Pfister Hotel without much knowledge about it. We were completely surprised by how beautiful the architecture of the hotel is, how well it is maintained and how friendly and helpful the staff is.

The location is ideal, right in downtown, and a short walk to the Art Museum with the renowned Calatrava Pavilion. We were given a room in the historic wing. The room was very comfortable, good sized and finely furnished. The place is impeccably maintained and the renovation work they have done over the years kept the beauty and the charm that the building holds. It was good that they didn’t do an over-modernized or trendy renovation that left behind all the history and charm.
The hallways and the common spaces on each floor are generous unlike the hotels of today. The lobby is fantastic - be sure to descend the grand staircase and see its beauty from different levels. This hotel is a true icon in this city, in history and stature and the owners and the staff must be credited for keeping it in mint condition for us all to enjoy.

The icing on the cake in staying at this classic hotel is its great staff and their warm hospitality. They obviously take pride in their work and of their community. The excellent front desk staff, especially Clint, who checked us in, gave good recommendations to restaurants and places to visit and answered our questions about the history of the hotel.

Pfister Hotel is the perfect combination of historical ambiance and gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WideEyedWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for the Ron white show. Very nice and helpful all the way. We requested a room as high as possible and got the 22nd floor. I was looking for ice when Christopher? Said let me get it for you. He brought the ice and asked if the construction noise was a problem, it was almost not noticeable and lasted about an hour so no big deal we were having fun anyway. Valet was so fast. I just dig the old world charm of this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Pfister and it was simply AMAZING. From the room, to the staff to the history, it was just perfect. There wasn't anything that didn't exceed our expectations. It was perfect and the management and staff should be proud of what they have/do there. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Avery, now 7, on his third annual visit with Grandma (me) asked if this time we could bring his little sister, Romy, so she could meet the Pfister! I agreed. Then mama wanted to come along and of course we like to share! So the four of us came to the Pfister and everyone of us had a spectacular time. For location, quality and fun factor it was ideal. The food was perfect for our nut allergic family and the service was spectacular. Everyone went out of their way to make this acceptable for an energetic family like this one. The pool - the food - and the room made this a wonderful spring break treat. We thank you - and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We loved the roomy suite in the historic area and the option to walk up the amazing grand stair case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#24 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing