We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We checked into the Pfister Hotel for one night on the recommendation of a friend; greeted with a great warm welcome by Stephanie at the front desk followed by our bellman Shea's knowledge of and enthusiasm for Milwaukee and the Pfister Hotel's beauty we increased our stay a night before we even unpacked. This necessitated a room change due to a prior reservation on our assigned room. That first room was an enchanting room in the historic part of the hotel and the second room in the tower was a beautiful and charming modern room. The room change was swiftly accomplished with no bother to us. Each and every staff member with whom we met was friendly, courteous, accommodating and enthusiastic. Obviously there are many people behind the scenes who keep the Pfister beautifully cleaned and maintained. We thank you ever so much. The Pfister is a treasure with an amazingly wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you a million times over for choosing the Pfister and for your kind and glowing review. As yo mentioned there are many people that make the Pfister what it is and that is what truly sets up apart. The passion and genuine spirit to serve are what has kept the Pfister amongst the greatest hotels for over 120 years. Again we thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Pfister and the Mason St. Grill (its on site restaurant) were exceptional and one of the finest lodging and dining experiences of my life. The attentive restaurant service was outstanding. The hotel itself had a genuine "old-world" charm coupled with modern conveniences and attributes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review and for choosing the Pfister Hotel. We continuously strive for the best and are beyond thrilled that is the experience you came away with. We truly hope that should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee that you will choose the Pfister again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautify old building, I think originally 1893. European architecture. The staff could not be more courteous and helpful. The room was spacious, had every option that I could want, most comfortable hotel evening that I have ever had - beds were perfect. It is within walking distance to the art museum, restaurants, unique shopping, and the riverwalk. We loved it.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room in the original building section as opposed to the tower portion. (The origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We are so glad to hear you had such a comfortable and welcoming experience here with us!! The people and service here are truly what makes the difference and certainly as with all travelers we strive to provide the comforts of a true home away from home. We cant thank you enough for choosing the Pfister and for sharing about your wonderful experience. We hope to see you again and welcoming you back.

Best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I wish to send many thanks to all the employees at the Pfister, especially
to Roc who was kind to open the "Grand Ballroom" and share the "Loin"
and the history of the room, it is definitely a grand room.
Thank you for the wonderful customer service, gold star to all.
Judy

Room Tip: Live it up and stay in the tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Salinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you Judy on behalf of all of the over 300 staff of the Pfister. Roc amongst many others are the people that truly make the Pfister such a wonderful place. We hope that the Pfisters true spirit to serve will draw you back and we look forward to welcoming you back. Again thank you and best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were on a road trip from Minnesota to Michigan & back and had one night to spend in Milwaukee so we wanted to be downtown in a place that would give us a flavor of Milwaukee and be close to the famous art museum. The Pfister fit the bill perfectly. It is a lovely historic hotel from 1893 only 4 blocks from the lakefront and the museum. We can heartily recommend the Art Lovers package which included a bottle of wine, 2 tickets to the museum (valued at $17 each), free parking and a $40 meal voucher at one of the hotel restaurants. Service was helpful and friendly.

Our room in the 7 story original building was large and lovely with traditional furnishings and a huge marble bathroom. We also purchased an upgrade to the Club Lounge which is on the 23rd floor of the neighboring newer tower. It is a terrific deal with a wide selection of appetizers, desserts and drinks in the evening and a well stocked hot breakfast buffet in the morning, all in a lovely room with a fireplace, flat screen TV and expansive views of the city.

The only negative was that it can be hard to book reservations with one of their many packages online. After several attempts it took 2 phone calls and a series of emails to book what we wanted, and then the desk clerk was confused again once we arrived because the confirmation email did not provide enough details. But we got it all sorted and received all that we had reserved. We would stay at the Pfister again.

Room Tip: Room 532 was a lovely corner room on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister as well as taking the time to share about your experience with us. Such an amazing response from what sounds like a wonderful visit. We do offer a multitude of package offers that we hope provides options for all of our guests needs and wants when visiting Milwaukee. And thank you for telling about the booking difficulties you faced, it is certainly something that we will be looking into further to ensure a seamless overall guest experience. Again thank you for choosing the Pfister and we hope to see yo all again soon.

Best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were there 3 nights for a wedding and everyone could not have been more courteous or attentive to our needs. All this while there were 3-4 other large wedding parties and the Cardinals Baseball team was there several nights as well along with just the "regular guests". The coordination of the lobby, rides, buses that all these parties and guests required ran so smoothly you would have thought you were the only ones there. The Mason Street Grill was great and had the best lettuce wedge salad I have ever had. The little pastry/coffee cafe served Starbucks so didn't even have to leave in morning for coffee. Milwaukee is a great city, vibrant and alive. We had the reception at the Art Museum on Lake Michigan and was spectacular. You will love Milwaukee and the Pfister.

Room Tip: Our room was in the newer tower and let me tell you the beds were so comfortable I haven't slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peghfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and were impressed by the service provided to you. Most importantly, I am so pleased to hear that you found your accommodations comfortable and were able to sleep well. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and for your endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location, trappings, and service were all top quality -- a perfect place to stay downtown. There are a variety of room types and prices to fit most needs and desires. The artwork and architecture are enough to tempt one to stay inside and simply soak it all in.

Room Tip: Higher floors (we were on 19) can provide a spectacular view of the lake as well as downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. It's thrilling to know that you would use adjectives such as "top quality, elegance, and comfort" to describe your experience. Your compliments motivate us to continue to provide these memorable experiences for each and every guest. We hope to see you again next time you're in Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#29 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,101 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#3 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $173 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing