We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pfister Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$157
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Milwaukee)
$169
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Milwaukee - Park Place(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,074)
Filter reviews
2,074 results
Traveler rating
1,539
363
97
45
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,539
363
97
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmason street grilltower roomblu loungehistoric sectionnewer towerclub accessart collectiontop floorlobby loungebeautiful hotelold world eleganceclub levelolder partlake viewdowntown milwaukeeclassic hotelgrand old hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,418 - 1,423 of 2,074 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed two nights in June 2013 at the Pfister. The oldest, public areas of the hotel are lovely and fun to explore. The lobby has an old-fashioned magnificence to it, and the exterior of the building transports you to a different time. I appreciated that they have hotel umbrellas you can borrow to go for a stroll if rain is forecast. The oldest parts of the Pfister are just great.

However, my hotel room and most of the rooms seem to be in a more modern tower addition that lacks the pre-war glamour of the older part of the building, but doesn't feel new enough to feel like a luxury hotel. There is too much old-fashioned drapery around the windows and stodgy upholstery. The wooden beds seemed too large for the smaller-size room, and my window view was nothing special. The hair dryer in my room was really terrible. I had come for a wedding, and I actually went out and purchased a hair dryer because the one in the room was so weak.

There is on-site parking, but it is rather cramped and has a lot of blind turns.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Service was very good. The location in downtown Milwaukee was a pleasure. We walked everywhere and especially enjoyed walking straight towards Lake Michigan and the exquisite Milwaukee Art Museum. Work out facilities were fine. Quality of the room accomodations also very nice. We would recommend the Pfister.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntj1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at The Pfister several times. It is one of my favorite hotels mainly because of the service you receive. The staff there is very professional and attentive. It is an older hotel so occassionally you will have a problem due to the hotels age, but again the staff is there to make things right best they can. This is a great hotel for special occassions and/or quick weekend trips to Milwaukee. The location is excellent. If you need dinner reservations or event planning utilize their concierge desk - Peter is incredible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for all the wonderful comments in regards to the entire staff at the Pfister! We pride ourselves on our "people pleasing people" motto. I will be sure to pass on the nice compliment to Peter he truly knows the in's and outs of Milwaukee and loves to share his knowledge about the city with our guests. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Milwaukee again soon and you will visit the Pfister again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Slumber party birthday bash for 2 charming 11 year olds was marred by squeaky bedroom, bathroom doors (apparently engineering does not rate WD 40 as critical tool of the trade), squeaky difficult curtain pulls, bad outlet in the floor lamp of King Salon, wobbly electrical outlets in decorative power & Internet powerstrip & unsafe handicapped shower in Women's restroom adjacent to 23rd floor pool - even for able children. Additionally check in/check out policies are inflexible even when I offered to pay for a 2nd room.

Other than that the property is exquisite, refined and a great venue to encourage pre-teen civility. If you have no agenda between 12-3 and the weather permits outdoor activities this place is a gem to behold.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maxfromidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good location for Milwaukee Art Museum.
Great climate control in rooms. Clean rooms.
Nice meeting rooms, helpful staff.
Busy elevators. Nice view of the city and waterfront from many of the rooms.
Hope to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank eleanorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our amenities offered at the hotel! We always enjoy hearing about our guest's stay. We are fortunate to be within walking distance to the Art Museum so that our guests are able to enjoy such a great attraction. We look forward to your return should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews