We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“THE PFISTER HOTEL IS A WORLD CLASS HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“THE PFISTER HOTEL IS A WORLD CLASS HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee, Wisconsin for one day on Sunday July 7, 2013.

We were in town for The Eagles concert at Summerfest.

HOTEL CHECK IN: I e-mailed the hotel several weeks before July 7th requesting an early check-in and room in the historic section. We live in Illinois about an hour 45 minutes away. I called the hotel at 7:00am on July 7th and asked if I could get the early check in. I was told the hotel was full the night before and probably would not be able to check in till after 1:00pm. We arrived at 10:00am to check in. To my surprise there was a room ready. Check-in was fast. The staff at the front desk was impeccable. There were several bellmen at the entrance to take your luggage. Parking is in the lower section of the newer hotel and you could either park yourself or get the valet service. I parked myself. The newer section of the hotel is not connected to the old section so you have to take the elevator down from the new section, walk down the hall to the old section and take another elevator up to your room. You need your room key to operate the elevator.

ROOM: Our room was 846 on the 8th floor. It was a very well decorated one bedroom King Suite. The room consists of two rooms: a parlor which functions as a sitting room and a bedroom with one king bed. There is a pull out sofa sleeper in the parlor room. The suite includes two flat screen televisions, a desk, two telephones, safe in the closet, a make up mirror, a hair dryer, Ironing board with iron, a snack tray and a refrigerator

POOL: There was a small pool on the 23rd floor in the new section.

SPA: The Well Spa is located in the hotel.

RESTAURANTS: There are three restaurants and 2 bars in the hotel. The Lobby Lounge and Blu on the 23rd floor are very nice. We had room service twice during our visit and was excellent.

WEATHER: The weather was HOT, 85-90 degrees and humid.

SUMMERFEST: The hotel was 15 minutes walking distance to the Summerfest Grounds. We spent most of the afternoon at the fest. We went back to the hotel to cool off, take a shower, change clothes and get a bite to eat. The Eagles concert in the Marcus Ampitheater started a 7:30pm and was fantastic.

SUMMARY: The Pfister Hotel is a world class hotel with grand elegance and historic tradition. The hotel staff is impeccable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Pfister management for accommodating my requests. We will return the next time we visit Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Stay in the historic section
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue_eyes1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much!! What an incredible response!! We thrilled that you were able to enjoy so many facets of the hotel and the city. And of course The Eagle too!! What a great way to spend any vacation. Even if the Eagles don't come back next year we truly hope to see you again for some more Summerfest enjoyment .Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    319
    83
    32
    24
See reviews for
358
645
64
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed two nights in June 2013 at the Pfister. The oldest, public areas of the hotel are lovely and fun to explore. The lobby has an old-fashioned magnificence to it, and the exterior of the building transports you to a different time. I appreciated that they have hotel umbrellas you can borrow to go for a stroll if rain is forecast. The oldest parts of the Pfister are just great.

However, my hotel room and most of the rooms seem to be in a more modern tower addition that lacks the pre-war glamour of the older part of the building, but doesn't feel new enough to feel like a luxury hotel. There is too much old-fashioned drapery around the windows and stodgy upholstery. The wooden beds seemed too large for the smaller-size room, and my window view was nothing special. The hair dryer in my room was really terrible. I had come for a wedding, and I actually went out and purchased a hair dryer because the one in the room was so weak.

There is on-site parking, but it is rather cramped and has a lot of blind turns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Service was very good. The location in downtown Milwaukee was a pleasure. We walked everywhere and especially enjoyed walking straight towards Lake Michigan and the exquisite Milwaukee Art Museum. Work out facilities were fine. Quality of the room accomodations also very nice. We would recommend the Pfister.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntj1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed at The Pfister several times. It is one of my favorite hotels mainly because of the service you receive. The staff there is very professional and attentive. It is an older hotel so occassionally you will have a problem due to the hotels age, but again the staff is there to make things right best they can. This is a great hotel for special occassions and/or quick weekend trips to Milwaukee. The location is excellent. If you need dinner reservations or event planning utilize their concierge desk - Peter is incredible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for all the wonderful comments in regards to the entire staff at the Pfister! We pride ourselves on our "people pleasing people" motto. I will be sure to pass on the nice compliment to Peter he truly knows the in's and outs of Milwaukee and loves to share his knowledge about the city with our guests. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to Milwaukee again soon and you will visit the Pfister again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Slumber party birthday bash for 2 charming 11 year olds was marred by squeaky bedroom, bathroom doors (apparently engineering does not rate WD 40 as critical tool of the trade), squeaky difficult curtain pulls, bad outlet in the floor lamp of King Salon, wobbly electrical outlets in decorative power & Internet powerstrip & unsafe handicapped shower in Women's restroom adjacent to 23rd floor pool - even for able children. Additionally check in/check out policies are inflexible even when I offered to pay for a 2nd room.

Other than that the property is exquisite, refined and a great venue to encourage pre-teen civility. If you have no agenda between 12-3 and the weather permits outdoor activities this place is a gem to behold.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxfromidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good location for Milwaukee Art Museum.
Great climate control in rooms. Clean rooms.
Nice meeting rooms, helpful staff.
Busy elevators. Nice view of the city and waterfront from many of the rooms.
Hope to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eleanorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our amenities offered at the hotel! We always enjoy hearing about our guest's stay. We are fortunate to be within walking distance to the Art Museum so that our guests are able to enjoy such a great attraction. We look forward to your return should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

First and foremost the lobby is just beautiful, the best part of the hotel. I stayed there for two nights in the original part of the hotel. The suite was great, far to big for one person. King size bed was comfy and I was well rested, but when I went to bed I could hear the hotel staff calling out for taxi's, not a problem for me but if your a light sleeper ask for a higher floor. I was on the 4th. The breakfast was good but not much choices. The concierge got me a great ticket for the Brewers game, so thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing