We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed recently @ the Pfister in Milwaukee, and I've stayed there before. It is easily an outstanding hotel. Everyone involved has excellent demeanor, and genuine consideration for the guest. Valet service-excellent. Ambiance is old world charm. Very attractive lobby bar and restaurant. .
The room was very fine, and I just love the lighted magnifying mirror in the bathroom ( too bad it reveals all those flaws!).

Biggest criticism of the Pfister I think would have to be that it's a few blocks from the Bradley Center, and the Marcus Center, but, realistically, this is a small point at most.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justme54481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pfister during your trips to Milwaukee! The Pfister has 120 years of history and character that adds to our old world ambiance. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our restaurants, bars and other amenities (such as the mangnifying mirror which I'm sure found no flaws at all!). Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    305
    76
    29
    22
See reviews for
338
607
63
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We, too, have enjoyed previous stays at the Pfister (old section, suite). In July and August of 2012, we stayed in Room 242 and 306 and had lovely stays.

This year, our experience was different. There is an alley on the west side of the hotel, which is used for deliveries. Our suite this time (346) faced this alley. I can't say "looked out onto" the alley, because the lower pane of the windows were opaque glass. To see the sky beyond the adjacent buildings, you had to crane your neck.

The worst part, though, was that Room 346 shares a wall with a delivery corridor within the hotel. The swinging doors opened with a squeak and closed with a thud. All. The. Time.

If you manage to avoid a room on the west side of the hotel, you have a good chance of enjoying your stay.

Also: someone mentioned a lobby with lots of seating. Where is this? The lobby in the Pfister has been "monetized" -- there is a bar there with lots of seating, but if you are just meeting someone and don't want to be in the bar, you are limited to a very few seats -- maybe eight. This causes an enormity of clusters of people clogging the aisle ways. It all seems so social and friendly for a while and then it just gets annoying.

Okay -- armed with a little knowledge, enjoy the Pfister.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was amazing. The staff was excellent. The massages at the spa and all the spa services were great. The staff went above and beyond for us. What a great place to enjoy our sons wedding. All the food at the hotel was wonderful. From the bellmen to all the employees hats off to you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for such an amzing post and for taking the time to share about your experience here with us!! And most of all thank you for allowing us th opportunity to play host to such a special occassion. We know how imporant these times are and truly are hononred to be a part of them. We very hope to see you and your family again. Maybe even to celebrate next year!!

Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first stay in Milwaukee and friends recommended The Pfister to us ... and we are glad they did. It is a great old hotel, so the bathrooms have marble and the rooms are large. If you are there during the week, I suggest you pay the extra money for the upgrade to their executive lounge as it is well worth it. The view of the lake is fantastic and the food, wine and even champagne is truly lovely.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FLStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you, thank you!! We are truly blessed with an amazing hotel in a great location. And as you mentioned we now have our brand new Club Lounge on the 23rd floor with some of the best views (and food!!) in the city.

We truly hope that should your travles bring you back to Milwaukee you will choose to stay with us again. We look forward to welcming you bakc. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The people, from the concerges, to the front desk, to the Lobby Lounge, to Housekeeping, to room service, to the Bell staf, to the parking attendants, all compliment this magnificant facillity. The whole experience was being welcomed to our "home away from home."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky to have such great stafff as well as customers. We love that we can be your "home away from home" and hope you can come visit your Pfister family again soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We love this gilded age historical hotel for weekend getaways from Chicago. It's location on the main Blvd through Milwaukee is ideal for walking to the lakefront, the art museum or Summerfest. The high ceilinged elegant lobby with large fireplace and cozy seating is a great place to relax and have a cocktail. There is also a casual restaurant in the lobby that you can grab a bite from as well as a coffee cafe and steakhouse. The bloody mary which is a meal in itself is fabulous!! Service is friendly, polished and professional. There is an old (1893) section of the hotel and modern towers. In our experience the rooms in the old section are larger and in some cases better maintained. There is a bar on the top floor of the tower called Blu that has great views of Lake Michigan and live music. It is very dark cozy and romantic. No food, but decent cocktails. There is a spa in the lowest level that continues the cozy elegant feel of your stay and is nice to have in house. The large ornate ballroom off of the lobby hosts a sunday brunch. There is a wonderful art collection in the hotel that is really great to see as you explore the hotel. The story is that a one point the art collection was worth more than the hotel. We have stayed in other hotels in the city, but always come back here. Delightful!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in the original section of the hotel for size and atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaluca04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a great review! The Pfister was built 120 years ago whcih adds character and ambiance to our hotel. We are lucky that Milwaukee downtown has grown around us to give us the perfect location for guests! So happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our bloody marys, which are well known for being amazing! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Pfister is our hotel of choice whenever we stay in Milwaukee. It is old-school luxury that is just not found in new buildings. The art and architecture makes it feel like a European classic castle, and the service matches that level. The lobby is grand but comfortable, with a welcoming bar. The rooftop pool has an unmatchable view. The staff is friendly and caring, the rooms are scrupulously clean, and the beds are comfortable. It's not cheap but worth every penny. It carries you away to another, more elegant, era.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgergirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are honored that the Pfister is your hotel of choice in Milwaukee! The Pfister is a 120 years old which add character and ambiance to our property. We hope that you feel like royality when you stay in this Milwaukee castle and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing