We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Elegance with Modernity”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great place to stay and attend a Gala. Spent a great evening in the Ballroom and one of the old section sleeping rooms. Great beds, bath, etc. They don't make them like this anymore. Staff is very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,900)
There are newer reviews for The Pfister Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I will start by warning you that the Pfister is an old-fashioned hotel and the rooms have a "dated" feel to them.

However, besides that the Pfister is truly a 5-star experience in every way. From the moment the valet met us at the entrance, the staff really helped set the hotel apart from your average hotel or resort. The architecture and artwork is extremely impressive, I actually spent part of Saturday afternoon wandering around and really feeling like I was back in time.

According to my wife the spa was very nice and reasonably priced; I spent some time on the 23rd floor enjoying the pool and then having cocktails at the Blu Lounge...probably as nice of a view as you will find of downtown Milwaukee. We had lunch at the Cafe which again wasn't too overpriced with good food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry__Hood95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are good sized. When receiving the lake view, it is always a plus. We enjoyed the piano man at the lobby bar immensely. The breakfast options were quite pleasing, along with the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerryPChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Pfister Hotel is Milwaukee's top hotel. Quality and comfort are found everywhere from the lovely Victorian lounge on the first floor to the WEll Spa to BLU looking out at the city. The rooms are cozy and warm, with many fine amenities. Service is available with the touch of a button on the phone and the staff is both courteous and helpful. We have been regulars for over twenty years and have not had a bad experince of any kind...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnS319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Pfister is truly a great hotel. I've stayed at The Pfister many times over the years for business and my experience has been consistent. The staff, from the clerks at the front desk to the housekeeping service of my room ... and everyone inbetween, makes me feel as if I'm special. Whoever took care of my room each did an incredible job and I would like her/him to know it (Room 1110 from 3/3-3/7/13). This type of service is rare today. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent one night at The Pfister on my trip through Milwaukee. The hotel is very well-kept, elegant, and comfortable. The staff was nothing but friendly and helpful. I would return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveW104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My family and I just had a first class visit to the Pfister this week. At check in, when we told them we were in Milwaukee for my swearing in as a US citizen they pulled out all the stops and really made it a special trip. Heather at the front desk sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room, which was MUCH appreciated! At lunch after the ceremony our lovely waitress came out with a plate of dessert for our table to share. From the very beginning of our stay we were made to feel incredibly welcome and it was so hard to leave after just one night! The suite was gorgeous and the beds were very comfortable. I'd stay there again in a second! Thanks Pfister Hotel!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a king suite, room # 844. I would definitely recommend staying in the original part of...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,604 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $182 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing