We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The service, rooms and room service are all excellent at the Pfister which makes it my first choice when sleeping in the downtown area. This past weekend was no exception however the perfect stay was damaged by my 10 am luke warm shower. The hot water seemed to be running low at that time of day since the night before it was more than hot. The front desk promptly sent up an engineer to check on the problem but by that time my shower was over and I was out of the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
First thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are overly thrilled that you not only chose the Pfister but continue to do so. I also wanted to extend our up most apologies for the less than ksplendid experience you encountered on the morning of your departure. While there always the unforseen i assure we do take all possible steps to be proactive and perform preeventative maintinance or all aspects of the property. Again i would like to extend our apologies and a thank you. We truly do look forward to your return. And should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee please feel free to come by and say hello. I would love the opportunity to greet you personally and welcome you back. Safe travels and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    304
    76
    29
    22
See reviews for
336
606
63
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

When visiting Milwaukee, I choose the pfister. It has always been consistent in price, service, and quality.

My only suggestion is that the rooms need updating- the historic section is showing signs of age.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlobel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for always choosing the Pfister and for sharing your kind words. We do also greatly appreciate your honest feedback. We do truly value all of our guests in sight and feedback.
I am very excited to say that we are currently scheduled to begin a renovation on our Tower Section and should be completed by Spring to Early Summer. The rooms are beautiful and would highly reccomend that you try them should your travles bring you back anytime after they are complete.
Again thank you for sharing your kind words and for continuing to choose the Pfister.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is a beauty! The lobby is gorgeous - especially now, all decorated for Christmas. We had a room in the old section and thought that it was charming with extra tall ceilings, and fine furnishings. The hotel was very clean throughout. We had a chance to dine in the restaurant for dinner and the cafe for breakfast. Both were very nice. All of the staff that we dealt with were courteous and professional. I would highly recommend staying at the Pfister.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romantictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us all!! We truly are so lucky to work in such a special and beautiful place and beyond thrilled that you were able to enjoy your stay with us as well. Again we thank you and wish you a happy holiday season!!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Pfister. Heather at the front desk was extremely helpful. We were able to upgrade to a king size bed and suite. Beautiful! We would stay there again in a heart beat with a couple of changes. Our room was really warm. A man working the front desk said that b/c it's an older hotel, some times they have that problem. He said he would send up a fan. We asked for that a 11:30am and when we returned 12 hours later...no fan. Room still very warm. The exercise room was nice but the middle eliptical machine...part where you plug in earphones/ear buds....kept losing the sound. We went to the Blu Bar (on top floor of Pfister). Good music! Got a little attitude from the bartenders when we said we had reservations (we were in town for a wedding and the bride spoke to the bar manager and he did not share that with his staff) and they firmly stated WE DO NOT take reservations. A few minutes later the bar manager cleared things up and we were well taken care of. The music was much better Saturday night than it was Friday (our opinion only). Overall....wonderful experience from the gentlemen working the front door, valet to front desk....can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor. Nice view. Just be prepared for warm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that the staff made such a good impression and we are thankful to hear about the opportunities we have also. We take our guests comments very seriously and will review each area. Again we are so glad that overall you had such a great experience and we are truly looking forward to your return visit. Thank you again and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

To keep this in a proper context I am a 65 yr. old Disabled Vet. I clean up good but imagine 'Jeff Foxwothey' saying (in a Southern accent 'you're from the Midwest ain't ya'?. Some of my family are 'suits' and some don't own one. That all being said the reason we hosted this event was that it was 'our turn' . Holidays always fell to the one with the biggest house, This year we decided that it was time to take on the burden for Thanksgiving. In short it was out of this world. Ambiance, food (right down to the free Champagne and Bloody Marys), service (very impressive), and perks like free parking in the parking garage. 8 adults, 3 children and on 3 yr. old (free). With tax & gratuity added (automatically) the bill was under $600.00. Pricey? Not when you realize the Pfister is a landmark for over a 100 years and a Milwaukee tradition. So, decidedly casual elegance, and by the smiles of both parents and children alike it was a big success.

Room Tip: Our first experience with the Pfister was the beginning of our Honeymoon as we had a suite and I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We are so thrilled that we could host you and your family for this special occasions and holiday. We put on several holiday brunches throughout the year and beyond rewarding to be a part of so many peoples special day together. Thank you so much for taking the time to talk about your experience and share it with us all. We truly hope to see you all again. Best Wishes and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My daughter and I stay at the Pfister several times a year for a "getaway". We have NEVER been disappointed. Stayed a night this weekend for my husband's birthday. Could not have been treated better!! The rooftop pool is super!! It overlooks the lake and the city. Of course our daughter and grandson came to "visit" and to "check out the pool (our grandson's request). If you LOVE French onion soup you MUST order it from room service. It is the BEST we have ever had. Daughter and I are staying there again for a couple of days in January; can't wait - and bring on the French onion soup!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experiences here with us!! We are so thrilled to have become a regular getaway for you and your family and we look forward to being a part of many more to come. And we will definitely have a warm bowl French Onion Soup always waiting. Again it is truly our honor and pleasure and wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake geneva, wi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here with 3 girlfriends to attend a concert in Milwaukee. We were easily accomodated in 2 adjoining rooms with 2 queens each. Because we were just there for the night, we didn't really utilize the hotel ammenities (the pool, restaurants, shops), but we did visit Blu, their lounge on the top floor with amazing views of the city. Blu had comfy couches, a great jazz band, fun drinks and nice vibe. It was cozy, relaxing and fun at the same time. The lounge in the loby was always full of people when we walked past.

And it was the lobby that was impressive! The ceiling mural, the gild work, the wood, the carpet--all so beautiful! I could have spent hours just taking it in. The desk staff were very pleasent at check in and everything went smoothly.

Our rooms were average size and comfortable enough. Not spectacular, but just fine for the night. The carpet could use replacing and the matresses should be updated at sometime. Only draw backs were a few too many cobwebs in the corners, no mini fridge, very small bathrooms, and the whole hotel was quite warm. But, none of these issues were too bothersome and I would most certainly stay here again--in fact, I can't wait!

There are several great eateries within walking distance and so are the museums and lakefront. Tho, if it is cold and the wind is coming off the lake, you might want to cab it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor in the tower section (newer, I guess)--great view of the city. This are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us all and again thank you for choosing the Pfister Hotel for your recent visit. We are so thrilled that you all had such a good time and even more so that we got to be a part of this special trip. We truly look forward to your return visit and we look forward to making it another special one. And if possible during your next trip I would suggest trying our Pfister Rooms. The rooms are beautiful and actually original to the hotel and I think would be another great experience for you. Safe Travels and Happy Holidays.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing