We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel has a lot of old world charm, and the rooms are well-laid out and comfortable. My room had a lot of light and the bathroom was spacious. It is an elegant hotel if you find yourself in Milwaukee. I thought it was a good value for the rate also. I ordered room service breakfast and it was generous and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us all. We are extremely fortunate to work in a hotel that has not only the physical elements of charm, class, elegance, and comfort but also work with a team that also strives to provide the true warmth and light of hospitality every day. Again we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will continue to choose the Pfister the next time your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    299
    73
    29
    21
See reviews for
328
596
63
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have stayed here several times and also used it for many guests that have visited. This is a beautiful old world style hotel with European elegance and character. It houses a wonderful original art collect that can be toured. In addition to the spa it has a fabulous steak house style restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Wow!! And thank you for taking the time share your wonderful experiences with us. We couldnt have said it any better ourselves what we strive for. We truly do hope to provide all with the experience of meeting where old meets new Milwaukee along with providing the highest leels of service for each and every guest. Again we thank you and look forward to the opportunity to host you as well as your guests for long time to come.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lake County, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You feel like you are staying in a beautiful castle when you are here. Decor is amazing and the staff is great. The only thing that bothered me was that we asked for a quiet room because my husband and I were finally child free for the night, and they put us next to the elevator. I couldn't take the noise so we moved from the new part of the hotel to the old part, which I liked better. However, that room was close to an event or banquet room. Luckily I had a couple of noise machines to help block the noise....beautiful hotel but I wish I had a better night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much sharing your experience with us and for choosing the Pfister for your special evening away. We take experience such as these very seriously as we strive the absolute best possible experience for all and wish everyone a "fairy tale" like time with us. We of course apologize for the disturbances you experienced but are thrilled that you all were still able to have an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again for your next evening away. Best wishes and safe travels.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love Milwaukee, and the Pfister is renown for it's class. I was in town for a wedding, and it was truly beautiful. My view was nice, bathtub looked brand new, and the room was lovely. However, I rented a car, and had to spend about $25 to park at the hotel, when I never actually left the hotel. I should have parked on the street (way cheap & safe), but didn't know about the fee until I checked out.

Room Tip: Definitely the higher level the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We thank you so much for your response and for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we very much hope you continue to choose the Pfister the next time you visit Milwaukee.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to commemorate our 30th anniversary - hadn't been at the hotel since 1982. It's more lovely than we remembered and the service was exemplary. Peter, the concierge, interviewed us extensively to make sure he was recommending a restaurant that would make us happy. After much consideration, we dined at the Mason Grill - were able to watch the goings-on in the kitchen and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I can't say enough about delighted we were with the entire experience - and we're looking forward to making this an annual event.

Room Tip: Try to get an exterior room - the interior rooms on the lower levels are less satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience!! It is truly an honor and a pleasure to be bale to be a part of such a special occasion. We very much look forward to continuing to be a part these special memories. We'll see you soon!!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Pfister Hotel while visiiting our niece who is attending college in Milwaukee. The room was very nice lots of space with a very nice bathroom. The hotel is very clean the people were nice and we enjoyed our stay. The only drawback was at one point we could hear our neighbors in the next room very clearly. They had a baby and we were afraid we would be kept up all night however we did not hear anything at night but they were loud during the day and evening. I would recommend this hotel to those visiting Milwaukee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conniez972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Pfister and for sharing your experience with us all. We are thrilled that you and your sister had such a good time. We truly hope that you will continue to choose the Pfister every time you visit Milwaukee and/or your niece.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEWAUKEE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a gorgeous Grande Dame hotel! Stayed on business in the tower and it was OH SO Classy! There are so few places where one can feel elegant and pampered! Mason grill was tasty and room service was on time, hot, exactly as ordered and delivered by a pleasant mannerly young man. Loved the robes! How nice to come home and slip on a robe to relax! Wonderful tradition and lovely historic hotel!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ROXANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much Roxanne B. We are so glad you were able to experience the comfort of a home away from as well as the elegance the Pfister is fortunate to have cast for so many years. Hopefully on your next visit you can continue to enjoy more of the elements that encompass the Pfister experince such as the renowned Well Spa. Again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing