We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding night delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wedding night delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. We had an afternoon hor d'ouevres reception so our plans were to go out to a fancy restaurant afterwards for dinner in our wedding clothes. Well, it poured on us getting in the hotel to check in and so one look at the room service menu and we were sold. The food was incredible, and the room was very nice with a cozy bed and very clean. My husband chose a deal with champagne and breakfast included. We had the champagne, camped out with our huge room service dinner on the beds in the comfy robes provided, and rented Midnight in Paris. The breakfast was phenomenal. Order the steel cut oats...wow! We didnt get a chance to use the spa or other amenities, but the lobby was gorgeous, the service attentive, and we got to feel fancy for a night. This isn't our usual scene but I sure could get used to it. Looking for a honeymoon in Milwaukee? Book it here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenh147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    325
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
372
681
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I love going to the Pfister on business and it would make a wonderful romantic retreat as well. The Old World Charm feels genuine as does the personal service. Staff look you in the eye, listen to you carefully and make sure you have what you need.

But you don't need to ask for much because everything is there already. Beautifully appointed rooms, beds that feel and look luxurious and a lobby that makes you feel courtly and romantic. The soundproofing in this hotel must be "old world" too because there is so much heavy upholostry and deep carpeting throughout that the lobby that it never sounds like a bar or stadium the way so many trendy, modern hotels do.

A trip to the top floor of the Tower will take you to the night club Blu with its star studded ceiling and floor and to a sweet little indoor pool. The Tower is the new part of the hotel and whether you stay there or in the Historic part you get wonderful Pfister service.

The only drawback is the breakfast cafe which seems to have been downgraded with Starbucks coffee and pastries. Service was slow and sort of confused the day I ate there but maybe it was just an off day. The real restaurant in the hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Historic Side if you want that Old World feeling. The suites are extraordinary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Pfister is a classic hotel with great service but the room felt like I was in a time warp. The room felt grand but grandmotherly...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute thru priceline. Was really nervous not knowing what hotel I had booked! I was thrilled to discover it was the Pfister! The online pics do not do this hotel justice.The lobby was beautiful....dark wood, muraled ceiling, chandeliers and fresh vases of roses everywhere. Our room was on the 8th floor in the "old section" of the hotel. High ceilings, tasteful decor...all modern amenities. The staff were extremely professional and helpful! Hotel was clean, never a spot of dirt or piece of litter spotted. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are larger (for family) and have better views, but I preferred the ambiance of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
428 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was one night on Business and it was a great place to have late meal on arrival before midnight. Staff helpful and the place oozes old world. Would recommend it to anyone. It everything you would expect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
While short we are very glad to hear a sweet trip. Please remmeber us should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee. We hope to see you again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Pfister and we could not have been happier with the experience. The lobby is elegant and we enjoyed the ambience of the piano lounge located there. We also enjoyed the views from both our lakefront tower room as well as the lounge Bleu. Perhaps the hotel's greatest asset though was the friendliness of their staff. Everyone from the front desk clerk to their artist in residence and from the wait staff in the cafe to the concierge made us feel genuinely welcomed. It was truly refreshing to see that level of customer service. We absolutely will stay there again the next time we are in Milwaukee!

Room Tip: The lakeshore views from the tower rooms are very nice, but I think the rooms in the older section w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmboyGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
With the grerat pride we take in our attention to detail and historical elegance we take even greater pride in the staff that makes the real impact for every guest. Im thrilled to hear what a personal and postiive experience you had with us and thank you for sharing it with everyone. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here two years in a row for Christmas and enjoyed the Christmas brunch and very low room rate. In June we stayed in a lakeview tower room. I definitely prefer the tower double rooms which we had twice compared to a suite we needed once for 3 people. I love the beauty of the hotel and convenience to everything downtown. Mo's Irish Pub is close with a shuttle to Brewer's games or Summerfest, but you can also walk to the all of the lakefront events. The people who work at The Pfister are fantastic! Everyone was really pleasant and helpful. We came back after a shower and dinner to find fresh, dry towels and the beds turned down with a chocolate on each bed. Breakfast was extra special because we sat next to Senator Kohl and got to say hello. Downtown Dining Week is a great time to spend the night in downtown Milwaukee. I really want to use the spa on one of my visits, but haven't yet. Maybe next time, and there will be a next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth W, Front Office Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your incrediable experiences with us all. Its stories such as your s that reminds us of the hotels rich history and memories still to be made. We look forward to many more.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#24 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing