We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond in the service they provide”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria
1 review
“Above and beyond in the service they provide”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I am grateful to have the team at The Pfister step up to the plate and help me plan an amazing weekend for my bride to be. We stay at the Pfister on Feb. 19th and Josh, Jen, and Laura made the trip amazing from the coordination of the room to the ring getting to dinner and the surprise factor. They even sent a bottle of Champagne to the Room for us.

We plan to go back ever year to celebrate that date and share with the people of The Pfister who made it happen.


Thanks,

Frank

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fweglarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
It was our pleasure to help you on your special night! We hope we can expect to see you up with us on future visits and anniversaries.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    332
    85
    38
    25
See reviews for
386
695
71
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My girlfriend had a business meeting in downtown Milwaukee, and we decided to make a long weekend of the engagement. I researched the area and chose the Pfister Hotel. We were traveling with our small dog, and the hotel accommodates small pets at an additional cost. We were very surprised by the overall excellence of the Pfister. It exceeded our expectations. We had a suite package with parking and internet access included. The room was spacious and well appointed. The sitting area in the suite was large and comfortable. The hotel is spectacular. It has a fantastic Victorian art collection: the largest for any hotel in the world. There is an artist in residence at the hotel who works daily and is available for portraits. The service at the hotel is without peer; it is truly special from the time you step in the door to the time you leave. The hotel concierge is extremely helpful and entertaining. The hotel has a nice location near shopping, restaurants, and museums. This hotel seems to be quite busy with special events on the weekends and the lobby bar is somewhat loud. There is a nice pianist who otherwise plays nightly to create a more refined and subdued environment. The hotel's Sunday brunch is the best ive ever seen. It has everything you may imagine and more. The dessert table alone is worth the cost. The work out area was state of the art and pleasant. The rooftop bar is very loud and busy late on weekends, but otherwise charming during the early evenings and midweek. We had a fantastic time in Milwaukee as a whole and were surprised to find some great quality fine dining establishments in the city (the Samford was extraordinary and Carnevor Steakhouse was very good. Lake Park Bistro, however, was a bit disappointing). The Pfister was an absolute delight, and i look forward to possibly returning to Milwaukee again soon. I will definitely recommend this hotel to both the business traveler and to any couples looking for a romantic retreat. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J&J:TravelCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your amazing review. It sounds like you really had a fantastic time in Milwaukee and the Pfister Hotel. Thank you for uploading those great pictures. Cute puppy by the way, looks like the little one enjoyed the stay as well. We look forward to having you with us on future visits to Milwaukee. Thank you again.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My travel plans did not permit a stay at this hotel, but seeing it was on my "must visit" list while in town. So I stopped in for late morning breakfast and had a wonderful meal, with fine service and attention from my server, Tera. I told her how impressed i was with the luxurious surroundings, the beauty and the history of the hotel; she encouraged me to stop by the front desk and ask for a quick tour after breakfast. I did so, and ended up getting a guided tour by the Assistant Mgr. who personally accompanied me to several areas of the hotel, explaining her history and some unique features of the august structure along the way. He was very kind and informative. Wow, this place is a gem, truly a Grande Hotel, with exceptional staff! I will be back!

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
The pleasure was all mine, I was happy to take you around. I personally look forward to your next visit from Minnesota to Milwaukee and the Pfister Hotel. Stop by anytime. Thank you again for sharing your story and kind words with other travelers.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

There are very few hotels out there they can match the Pfister Hotel for quality, staff and service. The food quality can't be beat! It's absolutely superior! I found the staff to be excellent in service, professional and very friendly. You'll love your experience at the Pfister Hotel. I would highly recommend your next stay in Milwaukee to be at the Pfister Hotel.

Mr. Dale: "The guy that travels internationally, as a hobby."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDale74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Mr. Dale,

Thank you so much for your accolades to our establishment. It is a true compliment. Know that when you are in Milwaukee, you are always a welcomed guest, at the Pfister Hotel. Thank you again.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. We went away for the night to celebrate a birthday. Everything was perfect, champagne was even sent to the room for our celebration. The staff was friendly and the hotel is just beautiful. We had a terrific view of the lake. It was a perfect place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyNurse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Sounds like you got the full feel of the Pfister Hotel. I hope the champagne was to your liking. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with the world, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Truly an experience that captures the way guests should be treated. And reasonable as well.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsbrookeKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
What a compliment! Thank you so much for sharing your insight with everyone. We can't wait to have you back for another stay. Thank you again!

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This hotel was stunning. I have never stayed in a more gorgeous place. It was close to all the fun of down town even when walking (and the cab ride back was inexpensive). The rooms were fantastic and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud! The service was fantastic and prompt!! I will absolutely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandywilliams1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoshuaWolter, Hotel Assistant Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Wow! Really sounds like you enjoyed yourself with us, thank you so much for your compliments. The Pfister Hotel really is a 19th Century gem, we do our best to maintain her history. I am happy you got a great nights sleep. We can't wait to have you back with us again, we truly look forward to it.

Joshua Wolter
Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,502 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing