We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed June 2, 2010

It's not pretty looking from the outside, but it's nice inside. I experienced impeccable service from amazing room service delivery times, to anything I ever needed from the front desk like taxi's etc. You can walk from the Amtrak station and also it's easy to walk to the bus stop to get downtown. The casino shuttle picks up/drops off too. Second year of staying there about 3-4 nights each year. No complaints and it's a great value. Beds are very comfortable. Note that the "freeway" side of the building is actually very quiet (it's far away), more so than the street side so ask for a room on that side. I travel to Milwaukee often and that is my affordable hotel of choice. Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 958 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

Our bed was so comfortable; we had the best nights sleep. The room was large too with plenty of space. Everything was clean and inviting. They had a beautiful pool area and the water was crystal clear. The Bar and Restaurant had good food and friendly people. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

A number of colleagues and I stayed here on a recent business trip because most of the hotel rooms in the city were booked for a convention. All six of us checked out after the first night and opted to stay a varying hotels, driving over 30 minutes in from the suburbs rather than staying another night. The hotel reeked of smoke. My room smelled and was filthy. When I walked in the first thing I noticed was that it looked like someone had already slept in the bed and quickly pulled up the sheets. The sheets themselves were a dingy gray color, and everything else in the room was covered in a layer of grime. The television was an old 80s model that only received about 4 channels, none of them clearly. After checking in late (11 pm), I stayed up another hour calling hotels throughout Milwaukee to find another room for the next two nights. Thankfully, after an hour I finally found one. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well that first night and was grateful to leave the place by 6:30am the following day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCityCentre, Manager at Ramada Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2010

As soon as this guest departed, I inspected the room. Please be assured that these comments are grossly exaggerated. I suspect this person may have been looking for a five star hotel, and because the entire downtown was filled, he settled for our three star property. We are not the Taj Mahal but we do offer clean rooms at the best value in downtown Milwaukee. Our TV's have 37 satellite channels- not 4 - with premiums such as Showtime and ESPN. We have our own laundry and we daily inspect every sheet for cleanliness. Our beds are made with the open-bed concept and I can assure you our rooms are clean, daily dusted, and vacuumed. We have a full-service restaurant, a free fitness center, a complimentary business center, a full-sized heated outdoor swimming pool, complimentary high speed, Internet access, and the friendliest staff in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We had meetings with Directors and staff at the Harley-Davidson Museum and chose the Ramada for it's proximity. The Ramada is only a short walk from the Museum so it must be first on anyone's list if they are going there.
Staff at the Ramada went out of their way to make our stay a great experience. The in-house Bar / Restaurant was excellent. Rates at the Ramada could not be beaten in downtown Milwaukee and the hotel provides free parking. Guess where we will be staying next time we visit Milwaukee ?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panheadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel.....Very nice people and very clean. It is an older hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago_ILGambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The inside of this hotel looks nothing like the above pictures! The only recognizable photo was that of the front desk. The only good thing about this hotel is the location (however we would have rather stayed at one of the many other hotels within a few block radius). The staff was somewhat friendly, however they all gave us different answers for our questions. For example, we were told we would receive continental breakfast, which we later found out required an extra purchase of a "breakfast package" that would give us coupons to the attached dirty and outdated restaurant. We were also told that parking for all guests was free, but when we got there they made us pay 10$ for an extra vehicle.
The room was in very bad shape. There were stains that looked like blood on the inside of the outdated comforter, the sink would not drain, the window would not open, and the knob to the heater was broken so we slept in an 80 degree room with no way to turn it down or open a window. The entire room smelled like a gross air freshener trying to cover up smoke even though we were in a non-smoking room. This hotel is not worth the trouble. Stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yourguest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCityCentre, Manager at Ramada Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

April 13, 2010

Dear Yourguest 22,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems you encountered during your recent stay with the Ramada City Centre.

Let me assure you it is our intention to maintain the highest level of cleanliness, convenience and service at our location. We strive to provide our guests with a high quality hotel experience, and rely upon comments such as yours to maintain these standards.

I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. The photos on our website are current. We are in the process of converting our smoking rooms to non/smoking and will re-inspect all of our previous smoking rooms to make sure they are clean and odor free. We recently revised our breakfast offering and are currently revising our package rates. I am sorry if some of our staff are having difficulties with the numerous changes we are implementing and if you were misinformed in any way. Again, I am sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay and for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality. You are indeed a valued customer to us.

Sincerely,

The Ramada City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We booked this hotel on very short notice, and when we arrived at the hotel, the staff had everything ready, and we were checked-in, in a very timely fashion. First impressions of the room were so-so. The room could use a remodel, and the lack of a screen on the window was somewhat scary, but the two double beds, with extremely comfortable mattresses, and plush blankets/pillows, completely made up for everything else. The bathroom was nothing to rave about, but also nothing to complain about. The next morning, we headed down to the in-house restaurant for our free continental breakfast, and were extremely disappointed. There was no selection, and what there was, was a less than desirable quality. However, the desk staff was extremely helpful when I realized that I had left something in the room after checking out. If you are looking for a no-frills hotel with a great value and great location in downtown Milwaukee, this is your best bet. Free parking is also a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLudens2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
#44 of 56 in Milwaukee
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#33 of 56 in Milwaukee
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 633 W Michigan St, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $94 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown, in the heart of downtown Milwaukee, is known for its exceptional value, family friendliness, and outstanding customer service. With onsite FREE parking and close to freeway ramps for all Interstate directions, it is within walking distance to the Convention Center, the performing arts and cultural theatre district, Harley Davidson Museum, the IMAX theatre, the Milwaukee Public Museum, the Shops of Grand Avenue, and Marquette University. Ramada is near everything the city has to offer. Minutes away are great attractions, including Potawatomi Casino, the Milwaukee Brewers' Miller Park, the famous Calatrava Art Museum, the beautiful Domes of the Mitchell Park Conservatory, the Milwaukee County Zoo, and Wisconsin's exciting State Fair Park. Along the nearby lakefront shore of Lake Michigan is ethnic Henry Maier Festival Park, the home to Summerfest, Polish Fest, and German Fest, to Festa Italiana, Mexican Fiesta, and African World Festival, to Irish Fest and Pride Fest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Milwaukee City Centre Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing