We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Subpar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Airport
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Subpar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

This hotel was old, dingy and the air conditioner was incredibly loud in our room. We also killed a few bugs the 2 nights we stayed. For under $100 per night, it wasn't terrible, but I probably wouldn't stay here again. Some positives included the friendly service, the bathroom was pretty good and we didn't hear any noise from airplanes either. There was plenty of space in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Sorry you had a bad experience with your stay at the Clarion. Please contact me directly at the hotel so we can rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    113
    92
    43
    24
See reviews for
104
117
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
GREEN BAY
Level Contributor
803 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked through Priceline for $70/night + tax for 2 nights for Irishfest. Located literally walking distance to the main terminal of the airport (10 minutes to downtown/Summerfest grounds) the room was quiet (room 106) and clean and included a fridge, microwave, and free wifi. The staff was very friendly and efficient at check in. The bed was okay for comfort and the air conditioning was the classic noisy hotel unit (although very efficient at cooling). Parking for normal hotel is free and they do offer $6.50/night secure parking with free airport shuttle for air travelers. Would recommend for cost savings.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Clarion several times and was happy. However recently I traveled with my mother, who has two hip replacements, a defibrillator, and congestive heart failure. She walks very slowly with a cane and must stop to rest because of breathing problems. If there is much walking planned, I take her wheelchair with us.
When I made the reservation, I requested a room on the 1st floor not far from the lobby, because of my mother's health condition. The man on the phone assured me we were booked on the first floor. However when we arrived some days later, I checked with the receptionist and she said "Oh, no. You can't do that." She put us in a room on the third floor, quite a ways away from the elevator. This caused some difficulty, since we were loaded down with luggage PLUS had to deal with my mother's trouble with breathing.
I talked to someone at the hotel who said another guest had a similar experience of asking for a room close to the front desk because her husband was in a wheel chair, but was placed in an upper floor room far away from the elevator, also.
What gives? Is the first floor only for elite guests? Is there no consideration given for the handicapped? It's pretty sad, and odd, given the staff normally seem so considerate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The problem, we have been to capacity lately at our hotel. If someone books the reservation in advance, we can put a note on the reservation for your request, however that request is not guaranteed. Unfortunately, we can not preassign their room. When the day of arrival comes we can already be booked on the first floor, or second perhaps and only have the room type you requested if it was 2 beds in the room, only available on the third floor. Any room for king, or 2 beds are in the further wings of the hotel, and on all three floors. We are unable to accommodate that room type near the lobby area unfortunately, that was how the hotel was built. I hope you will give us another try in the future.

Joel K.
General Manager
gm@clarionmilwaukee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our fist time at the Clarion and won't be our last. We used the hotel for a park & fly and have never had such a curtious staff. From the moment we walked in and met the shuttle driver, to the front desk and then the bar/restaurant staff - all excellent. One staff memeber mentioned the owners have been the same for 29 yrs and some staff have been there 17+ year. The rates were fair and we were plesantly surprised with the free drink voucher too. Your car is kept in a locked area for safety. 2 minutes to the airport. The rooms are very large and well kept. The pool looked nice although we did not use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As you stated, yes the Rupena family has owned the clarion for quite some time. We pried ourselves in being a family owned and operated hotel. Thank you for your kind remarks, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I booked two rooms to attend the Wisconsin State Fair. Everyone we met at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and our reservation was in order. Pool area is very nice and we enjoyed it quite a bit. Rooms were clean and well appointed. When I was booking the rooms online, I messed up and didn't get the rate I was looking for, but upon arrival, the front desk went out of their way to help us get it rebooked. We read the reviews beforehand and had a few question marks, but after our stay, I would have no problem recommending this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for expressing your comments. I am glad to hear that the front desk was able to help you get the rate that you were looking for. 3rd party bookings can always be tricky. Look forward to your next stay.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tired. It's dated and worn but in a good location to the airport. My room is sparsely appointed and has a 70's feel. My chairs are so spring worn I can't reach the table that serves as a desk. I called the front desk for an office chair and, after a search, was told there were none. So now I have 3 pillows in the chair so I can reach the table. Not a bad hotel but I won't be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am sorry to hear about this. Please accept my apologies. Please contact me at the hotel, and I would like a chance to rectify this.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

The rooms were great, clean, and comfortable. We stayed here after Oshkosh Air Show, and there was no better place to rest at than this hotel and then pick up some delicious food at the hotel bar. Chris is great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matttfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel K, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We look forward to seeing you on the next visit.

Joel K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#25 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milwaukee Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Airport
Address: 5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a full-service hotel facility located conveniently across from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, just minutes south of the Downtown/Lakefront districts, and from Interstates 94/43. Featuring 180 tastefully-appointed guestrooms and suites, nearly 18,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet space, and spacious, complimentary open-air parking, The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a premier choice for both the business and social traveler coming to Milwaukee! Guest amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, complimentary WI-FI, dining in our acclaimed Cork 'N Cleaver Restaurant and Lounge, long-term parking options, a 24-hour business center, a deluxe indoor pool complex, and complimentary 24-hour health club access to the on-site Sweeney's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing