We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~Uninspired Park-n-Fly With No Personality~” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Oostburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“~Uninspired Park-n-Fly With No Personality~”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed one night with a Park-n-Fly. Based on its worn-out, AARPy appearance from the outside, I was not surprised by its inside. Our room was OK; TV was excellent (HBO etc.). No noise from the airplanes. Free breakfast consisted of coffee, OJ from dispenser, fresh doughnuts, and apples. Front desk personnel were either unsophisticated or appeared bored. We did not go to their restaurant - we ate at Noodles & Company in Oak Creek (excellent). Shuttle was good going to airport, but there was a long delay when we requested a ride from the airport to the parking lot in back of the hotel (and it was cold!). What I found perplexing is why service people don't seem to try to please customers and act more professionally.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
leepoffaith
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has it's good points and bad points. Overall it's very average. The staff was fine; not overly nice, but not rude either. They do have free internet, free parking and it's about as close to the airport as possible. Another nice perk is all rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and our room was properly cleaned. That's where the good points about this hotel end. The room we got (Single Queen Bed) was horribly outdated and felt like we took a trip back to 1980. Also it was so small that one side of the bed didn't even have a night stand. The window in our room was looking out into the pool area and we could hear the noise from that area until about 9 pm. I'm guessing we got one of the worst rooms since I booked a very low rate for this hotel through Priceline. As for breakfast they buy doughnuts from Dunkin Doughnuts and put them on a tray. Don't get me wrong, I like Dunkin Doughnuts (which is why I am 100% sure that is where they are from), but to call that breakfast is a stretch. For a 3 star hotel I expected more. If I had to stay there again I would do so without hesistation, but I feel there are other alternatives in the area that are a much better value for your money.

Room Tip: Stay away from the single Queen rooms and the rooms that overlook he indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leepoffaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After calling them for a pickup, I had a van in 7 minutes. They have access to a full 24 hour a day gym which locals pay for. They have a nice inside swimming pool. They have a small business office with 2 computers and free printing. Parking was also free. The breakfast consists mostly of donuts. Do not expect a waffle maker or even a toaster. They do have orange juice for breakfast. I saw no milk anywhere. Coffee is available 2 hours a day and free. I was treated very graciously. Though I got a non-smoking room, it reeked like smoke my entire stay. I did call the desk clerk and was offered a different room or a machine to filter the stench in the room.

Room Tip: Just let the desk know if your room reeks of smoke, so you will not be charged a $150 cleaning fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notmuchifnotDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for the nice review. Our continental breakfast consistsof juice coffee, donuts, muffins and fresh fruit. In our restaurant, whch opens at 6:30 everyday but Sunday (9:00AM), has a complete menu of Breakfast. items. Perhaps next time you come you can have a made to order breakfast. Sorry about the smoke smell in your room. We are a smoke free facility but it seems as the weather gets colder, people will start smoking in their roooms. We need to enforce our no smoking policy better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Clarion on the Wednesday and Thursday of Thanksgiving and were pleasantly surprised by the facility. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet considering the location next to the airport. Maid service was very good and friendly. The beds were very comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool which was very nice and well maintained. This was a very good hotel for the price. The hallways and rooms may be a bit outdated but overall it was well maintained and very clean. I would recommend staying at the Clarion especially if you are going to do a park and fly out of the Milwaukee Airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the building were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel not only smelled awful but the walls, carpet and bedding were all stained. Porn was playing on the tv. The "breakfast" was nothing but donuts and oranges. I was horrified that places like this are in business/not condemned.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lt1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest, Did you notify the front desk that your room was unsatisfactory? I'm sure they would have changed you to another room.
We serve a complimentary continental breakfast of juice, coffee, donuts and fruit. Our restaurant serves a full breakfast. If you reseerved a room at full rate you would have gotten a $6.50 coupon for breakfast.
As for the porno...we have all the regular channels plus HBO and Showtime. I don't think any of these channels have porno.
I'm sorry you were not happy ,please contact me.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Phoenix
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here recently for three nights while on business in WI. The hotel itself has some age on it but the room I had was excellent. The room was very clean (clean, fresh bedding), clean bathroom & large LCD tv. The cost was not bad either < $100 a night.

The only ding I would give the place is that the wireless internet connection was not secure (open network that doesn't require a password).

Front desk staff was nice as was the van driver that took me back to the airport. (Generally all midwest people are good anyway).

I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonowner, Owner at Clarion Hotel Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for the response and the 5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My big mistake was reserving a room that had been previously been used as a smoking room. It still had the faint scent of smoke. I booked a suite and the whirl pool tub was great and ordered room service which was also decent. They have a restaurant and a gym inside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport

Address: 5311 South Howell Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a full-service hotel facility located conveniently across from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, just minutes south of the Downtown/Lakefront districts, and from Interstates 94/43. Featuring 180 tastefully-appointed guestrooms and suites, nearly 18,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet space, and spacious, complimentary open-air parking, The Clarion Hotel & Conference Center is a premier choice for both the business and social traveler coming to Milwaukee! Guest amenities include complimentary, 24-hour airport shuttle service, complimentary WI-FI, dining in our acclaimed Cork 'N Cleaver Restaurant and Lounge, long-term parking options, a 24-hour business center, a deluxe indoor pool complex, and complimentary 24-hour health club access to the on-site Sweeney's Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Milwaukee
Milwaukee Clarion
Clarion Hotel Milwaukee Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing