We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our needs - close to the lake”
Review of Park East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park East Hotel
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Waucoma, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Suited our needs - close to the lake”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on price and the ability to walk to the Riverwalk and to Lake Michigan. The hotel is older, but was clean. Room was small, but we were only there to sleep. Front desk was helpful with directions. The complimentary breakfast provided an assortment: waffle, omelet, sausage, bagels, cereal, donuts, yogurt. If we go back to Milwaukee, we'd probably stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Park East Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment with us on your recent stay in May 2014.

I am very glad that your stay was enjoyable and hope to extend our hospitality to you once again in the near future.

If there is anything else I can do to make your stay more enjoyable on your next visit please let me know.
Thank you again for your comments!
Sincerely,

Lisa Guibord
General Manager
Park East Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    52
    25
    21
See reviews for
45
54
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
America
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is very clean, well-maintained, with an efficient, friendly staff. Parking is right there. This is my 4th stay over the past few years. It is close to the colleges and art museum. There's a beautiful place to walk along the lake right across the street. And a small but useful exercise room. We can always count on it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likefrancebutnotCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Park East Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on tripadvisior on your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Lisa Guibord
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Milwaukee
414-225-3007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We travel with a daughter who has a life-threatening peanut allergy. Usually waffles are the only item she can eat in the breakfast area, but we always check the ingredient list to make sure there's no chance of peanut exposure. At this hotel, my wife asked the breakfast attendant if she could see one of the waffle-mix bags to check the ingredients and was told "No." The attendant then proceeded to tell her that she was too busy to help. When my wife told her that she would be writing a letter to hotel management, the breakfast attendant smugly and arrogantly said "Okay!" We have never been treated with such disdain by a hotel employee. To add insult to injury, eleven minutes after the close of the breakfast time, the same attendant told us to hurry up and eat because she had to clean up. Her attitude was unbelievable and she seems to believe she's above reprimand. We wrote a letter to hotel management and received a canned response. They truly don't seem to care. The hotel was nice otherwise, and the front desk staff was helpful and courteous. Too bad one employee can have such a negative impact on a family vacation! She ruined our stay by treating us and our daughter's condition with such contempt.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GREG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Park East Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Just to inform you we let the breakfast attaendant go because of your letter. We take this matter very serious and take the actions to better our hotel. Guest always come first.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Lisa Guibord
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Milwaukee
414-225-3007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
849 reviews
Downtown
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#48 of 56 in Milwaukee
191 reviews
Downtown
Knickerbocker on the Lake
Knickerbocker on the Lake
#39 of 56 in Milwaukee
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park East Hotel

Property: Park East Hotel
Address: 916 E State St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3451 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan an unforgettable stay in downtown Milwaukee at our lake-view hotel, located a stone's throw from beautiful Lake Michigan. At Park East guests will find the city's best museums, nightlife, sports arenas, shopping and restaurants right outside their door. All of our pet-friendly guestrooms and suites have been designed for simplicity, elegance and comfort - a combination that guarantees a relaxing stay at an unbeatable price. Every room includes a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, cable TV, free wireless Internet,cozy bedding and more. For an added touch of luxury, upgrade to a suite with a private Jacuzzi tub, or request a room with fantastic views of the lake or downtown. When you've finished exploring the city, return to the hotel for a locally brewed beer and dinner at Durbar Restaurant and Lounge, or unwind with a lakeside stroll on the paths located just outside. First-class amenities like a 24-hour fitness center and scenic rooftop patio make Park East Hotel one of the best values in the heart of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Milwaukee
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing