We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone was nice, the hotel was clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knickerbocker on the Lake
Ranked #39 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Everyone was nice, the hotel was clean”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here during summer fest week due to it being a walking distance to the campground and it's availability and price. We checked in early and we were able to snag the last parking spot, they get really busy during summer fest week. Checking in was quick and easy, all the staff were really nice and friendly, we were really pleased with their customer service. We finally got in our room and I would have to admit that it was very outdated but everything was kept clean so it was okay. There was a weird smell in the room, kind of like old lady perfume or moth balls which bothered me at first but we did not stay much in the room so it was okay. The location is probably the best feature of this hotel, it was walking distance to everything! Overall this hotel is very charming I like the character it has, don't change anything except maybe just get rid of the moth ball smell.

Room Tip: If staying here for summer fest, arrive early to get a parking spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wowok2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    25
    20
    25
See reviews for
29
54
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

As a disclaimer I understand that this was the 4th of July weekend. My wife and I came in to stay close to summer fest and drove in. We reserved this hotel because they advertised an onsite parking lot for guests of the hotel. We arrive and they tell us we can't use their parking lot because it's sold out and had zero recommendations of where to park.

We drove around the neighborhood for about 45 minutes to locate a parking spot that was about a half mile away.

The second strike against this place is for whatever reason housekeeping never came by to pick up the room, replenish the soaps, etc. I was quite shocked by this, as we checked out the following morning we made mention of this to the front desk and the staff member seemed to not really care which was kind of disappointing.

I'm probably going to look somewhere else to stay next time I go to Milwaukee, I really like historical hotels and charming little places, this one really let me down. Especially a let down for the 179.00 rate we had to pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Woodstock, MD
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I love this place and it is the only spot I would choose when in Milwaukee. It is a converted apartment building that now contains condos and rentals. The neighborhood is fantastic and it is a short walk to all of the lakefront festivals. Don't need the sheets turned down or a mint left on your pillow every night? This just might be the spot! Friendly, spacious, convenient & clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

What a wonderful find in the heart of Milwaukee! We walked to the lakefront (a little chilly, but still only April), to the fabulous Art Museum and the Children's Discovery Museum. The lobby is a beautiful art deco blast from the past. The room was perfect, with a kitchen and partial view of the lake. The Italian restaurant has a great Happy Hour deal with drinks and appetizers. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Much more fun than a typical chain hotel. Price was good, especially for the location. If I could take off half of a star for the parking, I would have given 4-1/2 stars, but I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Plenty of room in a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyday711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I used to stay here for business. Weird hotel. Kind of place you would think is haunted. It's overpriced and definitely not your typical hotel. Overall I never really had any problems and it was always clean. I guess if you want something unique then I recommend this place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Limes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I used to live just up the street, & this location is one of the best you can get for downtown. I really liked the historic nature of the hotel - lovely lobby, even the hotel room doors have character (used to serve as laundry pick-up spots in the olden days). The old fashioned bathroom was small but cute - it would be a shame to ever remove the old fixtures. My room (818) had very nice hardwood floors, all new stylish kitchen cupboards & counter. Generally very attractive & comfortable. But don't look too close - while it is clean by the majority of people's standards, I could see the cleaning staff did only a cursory swipe. The grey glup around the bathroom sink faucets which I immediately saw? I assumed it must be calcified or hardened, or how else could a cleaning person miss it? But nope, one swipe with a bit of toilet paper and it was gone. And when I took a plate out of the cupboard to heat up the pervious night's leftovers? A look at it in the light showed it also got only a meager swipe, and was not really thoroughly washed - same for the next plate. (And one can only imagine what the cleaning person wiped it with...) And while the room was attractive, a look at the colorful paint on the walls showed some sloppiness as well (colors bleeding into each other where they meet, and not fixed). As for the staff, my initial impression was very good, as they gave me a reminder call about my reservation a day or two before. But the actual girl who sat behind the counter when I arrived was apparently there just to occupy the seat - certainly not to welcome anyone. The man occupying that same seat in the morning was pleasant, professional, and helpful. A bit of a mixed bag.
I would definitely stay here again - and the hotel itself has a good bit of charm to it. It's the staff (cleaning & front desk), for the most part, that let it down.
Also, about the parking - I was lucky enough to get street parking right in front of the hotel, after meter time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located between Downtown and Eastside Milwaukee, Clean rooms.. The Lobby can be improved. corridors carpets needs to be changed as it does look old and dated. otherwise an excellent choice to be in downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
832 reviews
Downtown
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#49 of 56 in Milwaukee
187 reviews
Park East Hotel
#44 of 56 in Milwaukee
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,855 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knickerbocker on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knickerbocker on the Lake

Property: Knickerbocker on the Lake
Address: 1028 E Juneau Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2933
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knickerbocker on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Knickerbocker on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knickerbocker On The Lake Hotel Milwaukee
Knickerbocker On The Lake Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing