We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice hotel, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knickerbocker on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knickerbocker on the Lake
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the junior suite. It was like a small apartment. We had a separate kitchen with a full fridge, stove and microwave. They also had glasses, utensils and cookware. We had 2 closets and quite a bit of space including in room free internet. It was quite old an interesting, yet updated and comfortable. The shower was a bit weak. But the decor was fun and we enjoyed discussing the different pieces, including the very unusual doors which opened up 2 ways. The houskeeping did a good job, but did not come one of the days... we are not sure why. Great location across from a park down by the lake. Service at the front desk was good. We also ate at the restaurant on site which had phenomenal food. We had tilapia with a succotash which was very fresh and tasty. We also had a hummus with artichoke and tomatoes paired with warm pita. I loved it. Good experience. We will return. I did not see a pool or fitness center, so I put average as not sure on them...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoderickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    24
    20
    23
See reviews for
25
48
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is need of renovations. This was made apparent by the pounding that began at 8:30am on a Sunday. On what planet would you allow renovations to begin at that hour, on a Sunday, I have no idea. On what planet you would allow someone to be placed in a room directly adjacent to renovations when it's not fully booked, I have no idea.

I intended for a sweet night with my girlfriend who I had not seen in 3.5 months, we got have the night in peace and the morning ruined. The reaction by the front desk was dismal at best.

Room Tip: Obviously, ask where renovations are being done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RipleysBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Woodbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a business trip for 2 weeks and was really a wonderful, safe place near to lake with lake view in the room. Walkable distance to Metro Market, Restaurants, Starbucks, AT&T, Indian hotels. 10 minutes walk to E Wisconsin where most of the giant companies are!! Gym was small but it is kept good. Got a parking lot in the hotel easily which I found was little difficult and unsafe to park outside on downtown. Room we stayed was 1 bed, with attached kitchen and it has everything to cook for two. Receptionists are so friendly!! @lmost enjoyed my stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vignesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent just one night at the Knickerbocker hotel - staff was very cordial and efficient at check in/out. Looks like most of the hotel rooms of this semi-converted apt. building are on the 7th floor, near the top of the building. It was well outfitted with all the kitchen utensils one needs. The room was spacious, with an office alcove next to the small kitchen. The kitchens are obviously well used as their was a smell of bacon from another apt. A very noisy but efficient a/c cranked away all day/night. A good bar and restaurant is on the ground floor.

For a bit of old Milwaukee just a block from Juneau Park and Lake Michigan, the Knick was pretty neat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normal, illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived just a few minutes before the early check in (3 PM) on a Saturday. There were 5 or 6 people in line and they were being turned away because their rooms weren't ready. There was only one person in the cubby hole "front desk" and she seemed overwhelmed. They had our room ready so we were able to check in but we felt bad for the others standing in the lobby.

The room was quaint but it had an older apartment size gas stove in it with a working pilot light. The bathroom was small but functional and did have a tub/shower combination. The bed was king size and comfortable.

We changed clothes and went to a wedding on Lake Michigan unaware of the hotel's biggest issue: PARKING. When we returned from the reception we found that their lot was full and were told by the only person on duty that they had limited parking and we'd have to drive around the block until we found parking on the street. He said we should have been told by the person that checked us in that we could have reserved parking in the lot for $15. Luckily we found a spot 1/2 block away and after we calmed down got a pretty good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Room was very large and comfortable with a full apartment sized kitchen, cove with writing desk, kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fib55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Keep in mind that this is a boutique, 1930s hotel. Don't expect modern day luxury! However, if you are seeking a great location and interesting, historic architecture, this is your place! We stayed here during a busy weekend in Mileaukee when most hotels were booked. We were a little nervous with some of the reviews, but ended up very pleased. Our one-bedroom suite was not "modern", but the bed, kitchen, and bathroom were spacious, clean, and rather cost-effecient for a busy weekend. The hotel is a short walk to the lake. If you are looking for a good meal and interesting bars, Brady Street is a few blocks away. The front desk help was helpful and accommodating, and was staffed 24-hours. I would stay here again. Only thing I didn't appreciate was parking was $19 a night in their private lot. The lot was tight, and even though we paid, there wasn't always space available. We would have to find street parking until space opened up. I would suggest they become more careful about "overselling" their parking spaces.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank needsvacation82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a condo hotel. No bellhop, no doorman, no conceirge.

Our suite was a one-bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and two televisions, and we liked the old-fashioned details. Had a real 1930s-'40s charm. Very homey, quiet, unpretentious (without being shabby), clean, and comfortable, and the location next to the lakefront park was fantastic. There's a pretty good restaurant in the hotel.

However, the furniture wasn't too comfortable, the bathroom was tiny, the paint and carpeting needs updating (but again, it was not shabby), and the window air conditioners weren't quite adequate for a hot day, but on the other hand it was nice to have windows that opened. The bedroom was big enough for a king-sized bed, but it was a queen. Also, the Wi-Fi was iffy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Downtown
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Park East Hotel
#44 of 54 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knickerbocker on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knickerbocker on the Lake

Property: Knickerbocker on the Lake
Address: 1028 E Juneau Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Knickerbocker on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Knickerbocker on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knickerbocker On The Lake Hotel Milwaukee
Knickerbocker On The Lake Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing