We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located Wonderful Old World Boutique Hotel”
Review of Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astor Hotel
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed August 29, 2010

After reading the earlier reviews I was a little apprehensive about staying at the hotel. When I arrived I found the staff to be quite helpful even at 6 am. Check-in was not until 3 pm and as it turned out my room would not be available until around 4 pm because they were sold out for the upcoming weekend’s largest annual festival – Irish Fest, but they let me stash my bag behind the desk. My room was ready as told and it was very nice and quiet in the newly remodeled section of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The showers were hot and had great pressure. Since it was in the remodeled section it had a flat screen TV, but I could never figure out the HDTV stations as the TV listing in the room had not been updated. Breakfast was included in the little breakfast room until 10 am; nothing special but it had your basic breakfast – cereal, donuts, bread/toast, waffles, fruit, coffee, tea, juice, and water. The hotel had not been updated for either wired or wireless internet connection in the rooms so you had to take your computer to the lobby, which had only one round table, to use your computer; maybe someday they will install internet into the guest rooms. I would definitely stay at the Astor Hotel again as it was within walking distance of most places for sightseeing in the city. The city bus was only two blocks north of the hotel and during the summer, Wednesday through Sunday, there are free trolleys that go around the city; it could be caught a few blocks away to either the east or south.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomboy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

This place is a dump and the pictures on-line are not what the rooms were like. Location is great but does not make up for the dark, dingy feel of the place. I felt like I was staying at a $20 hostel in Germany, not a $139 hotel in a major US city. Don't lodge there if you want to have fond memories of Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFM410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Astor is a wonderful hotel! The location is perfect, close to all the summertime events in Milwaukee! The staff is awesome , the room is clean and the deck on the 9th floor amazing! I stay @ The Astor about 6 times a year for a week @ a time. The weekly rates are great!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomK2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was without a doubt the worst hotel room that I've ever stayed in. (by that I mean actual hotels, not motels, as I've stayed in a few of those even worse). We only chose the Hotel Astor because every other downtown hotel was sold out. The small room had significant water damage and peeling paint and plaster and seemed like a place transients would stay at. There was a bed, two nightstands, two lamps and a newer TV, that was it, very spartan furnishings. The window was tiny, about the size of my computer monitor screen, and the window unit air conditioner was unbelievably loud and hindered sleep.

The common areas were not as shabby but sadly the lobby appeared to be many coats of bland paint over what was once likely much more interesting than that. It's clear they are trying to keep the place up and somewhat current, but it really needs a thorough rennovation.

On the plus side the location is excellent, the bed comfort was fine and there is a roof deck with excellent views. While I don't recommend the Astor Hotel, I would stay again in a pinch if nothing else were available as long as it was only for a night and I didn't plan on spending any time in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svicious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Due to a convention in town, there were no rooms available anywhere downtown. I had read the reviews on the Astor which were poor but decided to give it a try. The location is pretty good. The rooms are terrible, the hallways are dirty, everything is falling apart. I requested a renovated room. If it was renovated, I would have hated to see it before. It consisted of two beds, a night stand and a television. Not worth the price....believe the reviews you read...they are true!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We came to Milwaukee to see friends and stayed at the Astor. The location was very nice but the rooms were DIRTY!!!! We had to change rooms BECAUSE OF BUGS IN OUR BED!!!!!! The staff you rude on top of it!! We will never be there again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank audiA4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Our original hotel reservation was lost by the Days Inn and we wound up at the Astor. The proximity to downtown is great. County Clare across the street is a superb Irish Pub. The rooms are hit and miss with the suites being updated with newer furniture and nice kitchenettes. The older rooms are dated but accomodating for a short 1 or 2 night stay. There is little staffing available but when we needed a rollaway bed, they were there within 15 minutes. There was issues with the parking lot being full, it is only $5 to park. They accomodated by taking $10 of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexxx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
865 reviews
Downtown
Knickerbocker on the Lake
Knickerbocker on the Lake
#40 of 55 in Milwaukee
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,111 reviews
Downtown
County Clare Irish Inn and Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Address: 924 E Juneau Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-2748
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing