We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
260
56
17
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
56
17
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bardog bowlsocial hourpet free roomyoga matwine hourcomplimentary beerquirky hotelsmall platesbathroom amenitiesdog friendly hotelmemorable staygreat hotel in a great locationmini baralarm clockblackout curtainsflatbread
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 349 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Little gem of a hotel in the third ward. Excellent service, well appointed. We had so much fun at the rooftop bar. Beautiful views , great cocktails and snacks. Loved the couch seating with the fire pit tables.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Greetings Michelle G,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to hear that The Outsider, the rooftop bar, was the highlight of your stay.
The Outsider, is a definite must see and experience when you are in Milwaukee. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to Milwaukee.


Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Just got home from an MKE business trip. I, along with my business partner, stayed at The Journeyman the whole time. I said to him, as we were checking out, "I've never written a review for a hotel before, good or bad, but I'm going to for The Journeyman."
Everything exceeded expectations, from the ease of booking and upgrading rooms, to the friendliness of the entire staff.
We had some pretty specific requests that they were able to deliver on, and we felt valued and appreciated from the second we walked in the door, to the moment we said "goodbye."
Not to mention, they have one of the city's best bars (The Outsider on the 9th floor), and restaurants (Tre Rivali) in the building.
I've had some great Milwaukee stays in the past at other hotels, but unfortunately for them, I'm only going to stay at The Journeyman from here on out.
Is it more expensive than other hotels? Yes, but you get what you pay for.
-----------------
*Update: I have stayed here a few more times since this review was originally written and can safely say this is my favorite hotel in the U.S. by a long shot.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank danimalGking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Greetings danimalGking,

WOW! The Journeyman is your new favorite Hotel in the USA? We are very honored and appreciative of your extremely high praise and kind words. We are thrilled that we were able to deliver such an impressive experience for you and your business partner on your recent visit to Milwaukee. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and are grateful that we have won you over. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Decorated with throwback decor! Cute and quaint. Loved the location walking distance to the festival. Third ward district is charming ! It’s all redone and looks pristine. We would stay here again. If planning to go during summer fest it’s recommended to secure the room early

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank ChicagoAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Greetings ChicagoAlexis,

So glad you enjoyed the design and the decor of the property along with the convenient location to the Summerfest grounds. In addition to all the festivals year round, the Third Ward neighborhood makes it the perfect location to stay. We hope are already thinking about next year's Summerfest dates along with upcoming concerts, events, and performances at the Fiserv Forum. We can't wait to welcome you back.


All the best,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Not often can a hotel please all of your meeting guests, but the Journeyman achieved this accomplishment. The location was wonderful for restaurant, shopping and exploring options. The relatively new hotel offered comfortable guest rooms, spacious meeting rooms, beautiful private dining options on the top floor, and a great rooftop bar that was well designed for conversation and social spaces. The easily accessible wi-fi, the nightly treats in the reception area, the signature dogs in each guest room, and the catering options were praised throughout our stay. The staff were incredible from meetings preparation to housing to catering and av needs. I know that I will be back as well as many of our meeting attendees.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVA_JVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

Good Day JVA_JVA,

We appreciate you choosing us as your destination for your most recent meeting. We couldn't be happier that it was such a success and that your attendees we singing your praises as well as ours. The team appreciates the recognition and are ecstatic that they had such a positive impact on your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next meeting.


Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We love staying in the Third Ward when we come to Milwaukee. The Journeyman has a great vibe and is our favorite place to stay. We love the rooftop bar and the hotel is close to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robperry205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Greetings robperry205,

We are thrilled to hear that The Journeyman is your favorite place to stay in the city. The Third Ward neighborhood is amazing with a fun, cool vibe with the convenience of so many great shops, restaurants, and bars within walking distance. We hope we see you more often than once a year because we can't wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews