We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Model Courtyard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Madison West/Middleton
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Model Courtyard!”
Reviewed February 16, 2009

From check in to check out, everything went very smoothly! Professional, friendly staff and one of the cleanest hotels I have seen. The rooms are new and spacious and I would definitely stay long term if I had the opportunity.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Breakfast not included - but that is standard for Courtyards
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank k8gret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
34
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My husband and I usually stay at Marriott hotels, but the Marriott in Middleton Wisconsin was "sold out," so we opted for the Courtyard by Marriott based on Trip Advisor reviews of others. We loved the hotel, and will stay here again (versus the Marriott that's a short distance away). The front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and more spacious than the Marriott. The bathroom was much larger as well. As another reviewer wrote, the water in this hotel is extremely soft; we always felt "soapy" (but that's the only negative comment about our pleasurable experience)!

  • Liked — Newer, spacious, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Soft water (too soft)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsgeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This Marriott Courtyard is similar to other newer Courtyards in which I have stayed and is overall a good value with the exception of internet access.

The internet connection was sporadic and very slow with both a wired connection and a wireless connection. I called the front desk several times on multiple days, but nothing they did fixed the problem. Talking with others from my company who have stayed there, the problem is not unique to me. The only night that my attempt to access the internet was not seriously hindered was on a Thursday when (presumably) the population was low.

Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. Rooms are spacious and beds are fairly comfortable. The heating and A/C unit are controlled by a digital thermostat in the room, but the unit would run when I had it off...and when I set the thermostat for 78 degrees, cold air would occasionally blow from the unit.

Location is pretty good in the "Greenway Station" area. There are several restaurants within walking distance, and it is a quick 5 minute drive to the Middleton business park.

  • Liked — Good location, clean room, one of the newer hotels in the area
  • Disliked — Very slow and almost unusable internet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jla_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2008

This hotel was nice, new and very clean. We booked a rate that included breakfast and was an additional $10 per night and included 2 adult breakfasts. This was well worth the cost (only $5 per person). They had fresh pastries, fruit, and even an omlette/egg station. Very nice hotel in a newer area that has a couple of nice restarants in walking distance. The Mexican place (abuelo's?) in the same complex was really good (but stingy on sangria!).

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My daughter and I booked a campus tour to look at the University of Wisconsin. Unbeknownst to us it was on Parents Weekend. All the campus hotels were booked so Marriott recommended this hotel. It was great. It was very close to the campus and in a wonderful location next to PF Changs and Ruth Chris' Steakhouse. It was very clean and new. I have already told many other parents I would stay here on the west side of the campus in this new hotel over the older hotels near campus. The university is a 15 minute ride away. You pretty much need a car to get around the university so it didn't matter that we had to drive a little to get to the campus. Also, the parking garages near the campus on Lake and State are very affordable...$3.25 for 4 hours. Not like the parking in Chicago where we are from. We went to breakfast at Mickey's Dairy Bar on Monroe. A must for outstanding breakfasts. The dinner at the Edgewater Hotel overlooking Lake Mendota was memorable.

  • Liked — Everything was so clean and new.
  • Disliked — Breakfast was not included
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

A business trip for the fiance resulted in my getting to choose between Courtyard by Marriott and some other chain hotel next door. I glanced at the descriptions, cursing my bad luck inside my head that these were my two horrible options. I picked the Marriott, merely as the lesser of two evils.

God, I have to stop making assumptions. This was a wonderful hotel, from the ample parking in the lot outside to the many pillows on the beds, the ample storage, the flat-screen TV, the in-room delivery from area restaurants, the 24-hour health club that had a lot of machines, the pool with great hours, the gorgeous decor, the wonderfully setup lounge and lobby where many small groups can have cocktails, meetings or work sessions, in-room coffee, the products offered in the bathrooms, the lobby fireplaces, the outdoor patio, the comfortable leather chairs and couches, everything.

The beds are comfortable, and well sized. The room temperature is easily regulated and quiet. The rooms are huge, with a good-sized sofa and coffee table in them as well as a good-sized work desk and comfortable desk chair. Seriously, HUGE. The window opens, but the area is quiet, and leaving the window open doesn't create any sound issues. The curtains completely black out the light. The in-room lighting is intelligently placed and well designed, allowing for very specific area lighting for one person to work while another person who is light-sensitive can continue to sleep.

The two complaints I have are relatively minor. One is the selection in the lobby bar is pretty bad. If you want more than one or two choices of scotch, vodka or gin, you'd do better to bring a bottle back to your room with you. Wine? Fuhgeddaboudit. Bring your own. Beer, you can score some of the local faves and your basic Buds. Normally I don't care about the lobby bar, but if you stay here, chances are you're on business or here for a football game, and the lobby bar is going to become your living room.

The other complaint is the water pressure in the shower, and the showerhead. It's nice and large, but you can't move it, and the shower is large, with a lovely bench built in at one end. Sadly, if you want to sit on it and have a nice warm shower, the water doesn't reach you. No, I tried that. Nope, that doesn't work either. I can't really understand it, because everything else is top tier here.

There is a little convenience store area in the lobby for apples, potato chips, cookies and drinks in case you don't want to run out in the middle of the night. There are two computers with printers tucked away behind the fireplace in the lobby. The sumptously decorated common areas are elegant and sophisticated, but rustic enough to appeal to even the most Alpha of alpha males.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I am really a pain in the backside, normally. I find TONS of things wrong, wherever I travel, and I can hardly find a thing here. This hotel was designed down to the minute-ist detail to be a haven for the business or casual family traveler, and delivers on all fronts.

  • Liked — Seriously, everything.
  • Disliked — The soft water in Middleton is so soft you never feel clean.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Silveryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I've stayed in a lot of Marriott-family hotels, and this was the best I've been in--better than the top-line Marriotts. It seems new, and the room was great--big comfortable bed, large flat-panel TV, spacious shower stall with a great shower head. Free internet. The lobby is also very big and comfortable. As is common with Madison, this is quite a ways away from the capitol/university/downtown area, but the drive isn't bad. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_in_Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Madison West/Middleton
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Madison West/Middleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Madison West/Middleton

Property: Courtyard Madison West/Middleton
Address: 2266 Deming Way, Middleton, WI 53562-5509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Middleton
#3 Family Hotel in Middleton
#4 Business Hotel in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Madison West/Middleton 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a NEW STAY at the Courtyard by Marriott Madison West/Middleton located on Madison's west side in Middleton, Wisconsin. Visit this Platinum Award winning hotel - 1 of top 21 Courtyards in the World! The hotel is just minutes from Greenway Station, downtown Madison, University of Wisconsin, Kohl Center, Alliant Energy Center and Madison's new Overture Center for the Arts. The Courtyard by Marriott is convenient to major companies such as American Girl, Epic Systems, CUNA Mutual, GE Healthcare and Electronic Theatre Controls. Eat. Drink. Connect at the Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Madison West/Middleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Madison West/Middleton Hotel Middleton
Courtyard Middleton
Middleton Marriott
Middleton Courtyard
Courtyard Madison West Middleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing