We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekender for the family from Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekender for the family from Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Fantastic place to stay. Easy 2 hour trip from Chicago. Hotel is 10 minutes west of UW and downtown Madison. Middleton itself has a great family downtown of restaurants as well.
Hotel itself was so clean, rooms were nothing special but very well maintained. Pool was the reason we'll be back. our 2 and 4 yr old kids couldnt get enough of the splash pool area. The hotel itself sits walking distance next door to a strip mall of shops and food. I would have given this 5 stars except the breakfast didnt flow well. Instead of just buffet style you have to semi-order your breakfast with the exception of some doughnuts and cereal. With kids waiting 10-15 minutes for eggs or an omelette dropping $35 on breakfast for 4 at a hotel was something we only did once. Dennys sits seconds away which we did on our second day. Also had a wedding reception at the hotel which had us up all night but thats no fault of the hotel, just drunk loud people outside. Make sure you ask if there any events being planned before you book because this was the one issue of the whole trip we had. Breakfast aside this place is definite no brainer and well be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsox4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    139
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
181
108
24
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Yah Der Hey!
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed last year with wife, son, and his friend. Good breakfast and fun pool. Brought son last week on our Harley. They took great care of us again. Here this weekend with wife. I'm working, while she spends what I earn ;-). Had a misunderstanding at check-in, but manager took care of it. I'm very Hilton loyal. I wish the staff had more authority to resolve issues, but the manager's efforts turned a potential problem into an opportunity to earn my loyalty. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schMinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great room and beds. Room was very clean and a nice size for four of us. The pool was a lot of fun! Volleyball and basket ball and even some fun features for younger kids. Unfortunetly the features for younger kids were not working. The hot tub is huge and CLEAN! The breakfast was very good, just very confusing on where to order and what to do. Very busy and the gentleman running it spoke very broken english so he was hard to understand....very friendly, just hard for me to understand his directions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbecueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Check in was quick and easy. Our room was on the 4th floor and it was spacious and had the usual Hilton amenities. Friendly staff and clean room. A wedding reception was going on the night we stayed and we never heard any noise from the celebration. This was our second stay at this hotel and we would definitely return. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants and stores(Greenway Station). The elevator is a tad slow though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsunlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Fantastic hotel! Very friendly management and front desk staff. The staff in the breakfast area was also top notch! The breakfast selection and presentation was terrific!! The pool was more than expected at a hotel... my young children enjoyed their time!! Excellent location to a wide variety of stores and dining. We would return again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

First, a disclosure: When I travel for business, I try to stay at a Marriott brand hotel. I was, therefore, not looking forward to staying at HGI. Wow, was I wrong to think like this...

The Good:
Service here was amazing in every respect. Check-in could not have been easier, despite the fact that about 20 of us arrived at exactly the same time. The desk staff was attentive and kind, making sure that we had everything we needed. For example, when I asked if I could purchase a razor and shaving cream from their store, the woman at the desk said, "No--because I am going to give them to you." Nice! They provided directions everywhere my group needed to go. The kicker was that when they saw us getting ready to walk across the parking lot to go to dinner when it was raining, the front desk spontaneously asked if we would mind waiting a moment while they got the hotel van out to drive us to dinner. Wow again...as it happened, a tornado was just setting down (SERIOUSLY!!) and the winds were blowing at almost 100 miles an hour.

The exercise room is adequate and the rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. The TV's were not flat screen (OK, I don't have one at home) and the internet was quick and free.

Breakfast in the hotel (included in my group's rate) was very good. It was better, in fact, than the one offered where we were having our business meeting (EPIC).

Location is good--plenty of places to eat within a 3 minute walk (assuming no storms!!) so you don't need a car if you are going to EPIC.

The Bad:
Drive to EPIC is a bit long--15-20 minutes--and the drive to the airport is about 30 minutes.

The Ugly
Nothing was ugly!

All in all, if I have to come back to EPIC, I'd be happy staying here despite my Marriott preference.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKKandKSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is a very well run, comfortable, clean hotel. We enjoyed staying here. The room was spacious and easily accomodated the three of us. The staff was very pleasant.

The hotel has very good amenities -- excellent fitness room, good business center, pool, comfortable public areas and nice touches such as fresh fruit bowls and coffee for guests in the lobby area.

It also is situated in a nice shopping area -- you can walk to the various shops and restaurants.

The hotel is about 10 miles (a little more, little less depending on route) to downtown Madison; about a 20 minute ride and generally convenient if you have a car. It is also convenient to several shopping areas, inlcuding the big "box" stores which are helpful if you are buying dorm/apartment items for a UW-Madison student.

I would stay here again and I would higly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison West
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Madison West/Middleton
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
Address: 1801 Deming Way, Middleton, WI 53562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Middleton
#1 Business Hotel in Middleton
#1 Green Hotel in Middleton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at our Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton hotel, located within the Greenway Station entertainment district in Middleton, Wisconsin. Our suburban hotel features a swimming pool with water volleyball, basketball and a zero-depth entrance. Find attractions such as the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the State Capitol and American Girl Company, 7 miles or less from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton Hotel Middleton
Hilton Garden Inn Middleton
Hilton Middleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing