We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I travel a lot and I must say this was the worst experience I've ever had. My family and I were able to check in early at 1pm which was nice. We immediately noticed that the room felt warm. This day the outside temperature was in the upper 90's. I walked down to the front desk and mentioned the issue. The first response was that they didn't have anyone available to fix these problems on the weekends. We discussed switching rooms but apparently the hotel was full and the only room available wasn't a suite which is why we decided to stay at the Staybridge in the first place. The lady at the front desk then suggested that I turn the temperature down by 3 degrees only and then see what happens. After 2 more hours of my family being uncomfortable I went back down and mentioned the issue again. The front desk again said they didn't know what to do and eventually said they'd call a "manager." Someone did finally come to the room 30 mins later and immediately says that they don't know anything about maintenance and are mostly in charge of the food services. She attempted to reset the system and again advised us to "give it some time" and it should be fixed. She also said that this was a problem last week as well and the real maintenance team said it was fixed. 30 mins after she leaves the temp has climbed another 2 degrees. At this point I go to the front desk and say that my family is checking out and that we're not paying for the room since it's broken and they knew about it and they can't fix and no similar room is available. The response was that she couldn't authorize non-payment for the the room and that management wasn't available until Monday (this day was Sat) and that I would have to call on Monday to discuss the issue (i.e. waste even more of my time). How ridiculous right? No maintenance team? No manager? No service. Anyway, at this point I proceeded to point out these failures including the sign on the wall which reads "number one in customer satisfaction" and the fact that I wasn't satisfied. Finally I walked away and started packing our things to move. The front dest did call up in 10 mins to say that she was able to reach her manager and that we didn't have to pay for the room and that they were giving us 2000 rewards points. We didn't get fully moved into the new hotel until 945pm at night. This was definitively the worst service I've ever experienced at any hotel. They are under staffed and in my opinion not responsive to the needs of their customers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding early check in.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and the poor customer service you received from our staff which was unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overnight stay with a buddy and me, staying in two separate rooms. Pleasant and efficient check-in process and in our rooms pretty quickly. Rooms were of typical Staybridge quality and comfort with the normal small kitchen areas, closet area with items expected for an extended stay (laundry basket, etc). All areas very clean.

Beds were comfortable and both of us slept well in our rooms.

Breakfast next morning was decent with some proteins, pastries and breads, waffle station, cereals and fruits.

Location was decent for the Middleton area, right in the "downtown" area of the Madison 'burb. Parking for the hotel is actually underground, which I can imagine in the winter would be a nice perk.

Perhaps only (very small) concerns were the entryway, being in a shared parking lot, was not quite as typical of Staybridge as you mostly have to climb stairs and there isn't really a carport area to drive up to. Also, while I have seen this in other Staybridges I'm not much of a fan of non-automatic opening doors - not even a handicap door opener option. Especially with my buddy being in a wheelchair, this is annoying. Even without the wheelchair it's a bit of a pain to wheel a luggage cart trying to maneuver doors without an automatic opening door.

All said, I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a weekend with our two kids (3 & 2). Perfect place for a family. Nothing fancy, but it's quiet and clean and the free breakfast is good. Staff is very friendly. Plenty of parking, and pool area is clean and just the right size for kids. Safe location and easy to find (right off the Beltline, aka Hwy 12/18). We like to stay on this side of town because it's a short drive to West Towne Mall, Greenway Station, and lots of restaurants. Best of all, this hotel is only a minute or two walk to the Old Middleton area - we only discovered this on the second night of our visit, but the hotel really should advertise this more! Neat restaurants, a cute gelato shop, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbyr960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had an unexpected late night trip to Madison when a family member ended up in the emergency center at the UW hospital in critical condition. We didn't make it to the hotel until after 1:00am. When we checked in at the the front desk, we asked if there was any kind of a special rate that the hotel offered for circumstances like this. Our front desk attendant was not sure, but in sympathy for our situation she offered us a slightly lower than normal rate.

She took the time to check into it overnight, and the next day when our bill came under the door she had attached a note expressing sympathy and saying that she found a company rate for UW which was even a bit less and had made sure to give us that instead. Thanks Lily G. for being so caring at a time that was very difficult for us. At times like that every little bit of kindness helps and it meant a lot to us!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebekka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We booked this since it was the cheapest option with the highest reviews. Clean, comfortable rooms and curteous staff. Great breakfast, would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ihavethetravelbug_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I am currently sitting in my room. The highway is directly outside my window. It is about 20 yards away. Consequently the room is very loud. Very difficult to sleep. I have spoken with the staff about changing rooms, but they can not help.

The shuttle to EPIC is good. The facility is pretty good. Free food in the morning. Rooms are larger than normal hotel rooms. Mine even came with a great used toothbrush by the sink. Other than that the room seems clean. This hotel might get 3.5 stars from me if it were not for the horrible noise issue.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 341. Get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Silrak,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I'm sorry your stay was affected by the ambient noise surrounding the hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The assistance and hospitality of this hotel is second to none. I travel 3-4 days per week for work and I will not stay anywhere else in Madison. They are the best. They make hotel stays feel “like home”. Social every Tue-Thur with food and drinks is a great add on.

Room Tip: Their two bedroom suites are huge and great if you are bringing the kids for a weekend getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Middleton hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Madison West/Middleton
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison West, WI
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
0.7 mi away
Madison Marriott West
Madison Marriott West
#7 of 7 in Middleton
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Madison West/Middleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison

Address: 7790 Elmwood Ave, Middleton, WI 53562-3131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Middleton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Middleton
#5 Business Hotel in Middleton
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get comfortable at Staybridge Suites, located in charming downtown Middleton. Restaurants, shopping and businesses, such as TomoTherapy, Epic Systems, Electronic Theater Control, University of Wisconsin Madison, are within walking distance or a short drive. The hotel is conveniently located only 4 miles from downtown Madison, where you can experience all that the area has to offer, whether here for business or leisure.Our all suite property is designed with a residential feel and offers three suite types including studio, 1-bedroom, and 2-bedroom options. All feature a living room with sofa and fully equipped kitchen - perfect for a relocating family or the corporate traveler. Offering the convenience of a home away from home, Staybridge Suites provides our guests with complimentary wireless Internet, underground temperature controlled parking, a 24-hour business center, laundry services, fitness center, indoor pool, hot tub and evening receptions Tuesday - Thursday serving beer, wine and light appetizers. We offer a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, available 7 AM - 9 PM Mon-Fri; shuttle service must be scheduled 24 hours in advance with hotel directly. Pets 25 pounds and under are accepted with non-refundable $150 fee, call for specifics. Area Events: Midwest Horse Fair, Badger Family Spring Visit, Epic UGM, World Dairy Expo, UW Bagder Football World Dairy Expo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Middleton / Madison Hotel Middleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing