We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay for the price, but maybe not for very light sleepers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Marriott West
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The property is just off of the main highway west of Madison. It is easy to find. It also is close enough to hear the highway sounds in the rooms. The room was very clean and well appointed. They really did a good job setting it up. It was quite large enough for us. We enjoyed the restaurant decor, but the food was unremarkable to bland. We attended a wedding reception at the hotel. It was good.
I was impressed by the friendly front desk service. We got directions to a really good restaurant not far away. When one of our room keys stopped working, the desk person came with us to make sure that the new one functioned properly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGrummpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

I was in town for a business seminar that was held at this hotel. The hotel is really nice and it is huge. My room was on the top floor, and quiet as a graveyard. While the room was not large, the bed was comfortable, it was clean, and had free Internet service. The meeting room was spacious - there were over 100 attendees, and we fit comfortably in the room. The climate control was excellent; my experience is that these rooms are either sweltering from all the bodies, or freezing cold. Not here - the temperature was probably 75 degrees, which is perfect.

The company which held the seminar provided lunch every day, which was prepared by the hotel. It was always excellent.

There is no complimentary breakfast, but there is a restaurant that was reasonably priced for an upscale hotel. Dinner at the restaurant was also excellent.

If you want to be close to the airport or to downtown, this is probably not the best choice. The hotel has a shuttle which picked us up at the airport, and it was a 30 to 45 minute trip to the hotel. If you don't have a rental car, your only transportation choice to go downtown is a taxi. If you do have a car, the hotel is just off the freeway which is convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrailBlazer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This place used to be an Embassy Suites hotel ... you can tell, the atrium setup, and the long and narrow rooms. Too bad Marriott didn't take advantage of the space, and either leave it as a two room suite, or add size-appropriate furniture to make it feel more comfortable.

Can't complain though, great value, great location (if you're working west of downtown) but it wasn't very special. As I don't have a lot to compare it to in the Madison area, I'd probably stay here again.

Clean, updated, lots of FREE parking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestValueHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Marriott Madison West is a great choice in Madison. The location is very convient to many dining options just west of the hotel. Stayed here 4 different times over a two month period. Check in always a breeze, easy parking, everything is easy.

They have two types of rooms at the same category. Try and get the updated rooms with flat screen Tvs. Has a small fitness center but always able to get a machine. Dined about 3 times at the restaurant. The last dining experience was not good. It is rare for me to complain but the dinner was inedible. Discovered that I was not the only person that had a bad meal that night. You might want to try one of the dining options just west of the hotel.

Overall- a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelToLiveToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

A few problems with this hotel. As the previous reviewer noted, the elevators are right outside the pool area, in a tiled foyer, and the elevator floor is tile. With water on the tile, I saw a young girl step onto the elevator and almost fall, and elderly people were quite anxious walking on it. That is an accident (and lawsuit) waiting to happen. The hotel was pretty empty other than for a family reunion, so the atrium noise did not carry up to our 5th floor room, but it is noisy in the atrium even with only 15 people seated there. We went to get a drink at the bar at 10:00 PM. The bartender held up his finger to tell me to wait while he tended another customer ( the ONLY other customer at the bar), then left and did not return. After 3 to 4 minutes of standing there we left. The tub did not drain after my shower, so I pulled the stopper up and a wad of hair and scum followed it into the bath water. It took about 1 hour to coordinate maintenance and housekeeping to clean up the mess while my wife waited to use the shower. The TV is an old tube TV, but that's no problem for me, just a surprise to see it in this hotel. The coffee maker makes 1 cup at a time, and they give you enough for 2 cups...no carafe. Cleanliness of bed and other facilities seemed very good, and the bed is comfortable. The room is spacious. Not bad enough for me to say stay away, but a disappointment from Marriott standards.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is the first Marriott I have ever been a little disappointed in. I thought initially it was going to be an amazing hotel, since I totally screwed up on the reservation (made it for the wrong day) and the girl at the desk was so cool to work with me and get me a room when the whole place was fully booked.

Except, the place was fully booked for the "Little Miss Junior Miss" Pageant, or some other stupid name like that, which meant HELL for my fiance and I as the entire place was infested with pre-teen beauty queens, their scary domineering mothers, and other random siblings that came along for the ride. Can you say O. M. G.

Now, normally this would be a non-issue, as we are rarely in our hotel room except to sleep and once in the room you couldnt hear a lot of hallway noise. But this 10 story hotel had a grand total of 2 elevators, which were packed at all hours of the day with girls in gowns and tiaras, groups of girls in heavy makeup, or wet children dripping from the hotel pool. This made getting in and out a bit challenging since we were on the top floor.

I realize this is hardly Marriotts fault that the Junior Misses had descended upon Middleton, since they are just trying to turn a buck in this economy, but the design of this place was not user friendly in the slightest. Also, hey brilliant idea guys, put the pool across the hall from the elevator and then make that whole area tile so people track water out and the floor is slippery! Nice. And also understaff the dining area so noone can get in and eat because there is noone to clean off the tables and take your order. Nice planning!

Man, that whole experience left a bad taste. The worst part will be trying to convince my fiance to stay at a Marriott ever again as he is just now getting relief from the migrane he got on Saturday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madcapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This is a quality as usual Marriott property - everything you would expect without frills. It is built in an unusual for Marriott atrium style. The rooms seem a bit larger than other Marriotts. They have an executive lounge with various services throughout the day. On the day I was there they we offereing a generous slice of apple pie for desert. Breakfast in the lounge was the usual fruit, cereal, packaged pastries, warmed eggs.

The location is on the beltway so not very close to downtown Madison and opposite of downtown from the airport. It's an odd location actually with not much around.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
6.8 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#18 of 63 in Madison
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Madison West, WI
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Marriott West

Address: 1313 John Q Hammons Dr, Middleton, WI 53562-3502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Price Range: $121 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Marriott West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madison Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Madison West Hotel Middleton
Marriott Hotel Middleton
Marriott Middleton
Middleton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing