We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People and facility top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Marriott West
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“People and facility top notch”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here on a quick business trip to the area. I usually stay closer to downtown but that was not an option. the greeting was the start of an excellent stay. Front desk extremely friendly and positive. room, very nice. hotel is relatively new and the room was a typical Marriott. I was upgraded which was nice due to my status.
only negative is you can't walk anywhere. otherwise very convenient to highway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBF6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    147
    88
    34
    41
See reviews for
76
50
18
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice lobby, decent restaurant too with local foods which was a nice touch. Rooms were clean and comfortable. It appears they have re-done their bathrooms in the rooms since I last stayed there which was badly needed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Tried to order a movie--- it was $17.99 for a regular movie, and it didn't work. Probably good since the price was an insult! Silver Marriott member- got free internet. Rate of $161 was reasonable. It would have been nice to have covered parking in Wisconsin in the winter. Overall was happy and would stay there again. A tip- when you go there google a restaurant called "ENO VINO wine bar & tapas". It's not far away and was beyond amazing. It made my zero degree trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel isn't perfect but it is pretty nice. You can tell the place is a little old but it still has some charm such as glass elevators so that you can see into the lobby. My favorite part of staying at the hotel however is the staff. One of the staff members who works in the top floor lounge (her name is Susan, I don't know her last name) in-particular is tops on my list. She is always happy, always friendly, and very helpful when you need it. I return to this hotel whenever I'm in Madison.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are not a Gold or Platinum Marriott member I wouldn't stay here because of the wifi fee and no free breakfast (included at those levels). Figured I would give it a shot since I am a gold member.

Pros:

-Large workout room and pool, though the hot tub seems like it is on it's last legs (didn't want to start up easily and sounded very strange)

-Friendly staff

-Breakfast buffet was very good

-Good bar

Cons:

-Outdated design with large atrium

- Rooms below average for Marriott- need new beds, furniture, and a full redesign

-Long wait to be seated for breakfast, despite ample open tables

- Exec lounge closed on weekends


If they give this place a full makeover, it could be a great property. Until then, you are probably better off at the Fairfield across the street. This place wasn't bad, but for a full-service Marriott property it should be better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott for a conference. The room (on the 8th floor over looking the atrium) was very nice. Clean, well maintained, and tastefully decorated.

The staff was very nice, but seemed overwhelmed by the amount of guests in the hotel. It took two days to get a second suitcase valet, and the toner in the printer in the business center was never refilled for printing boarding passes, despite several days of requesting.

Also strained to capacity were the elevators. Just two for the entire hotel. They were at capacity the entire time I was there, and the waits were very very long.

Highlights included good food, and fantastic staff at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knobhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Generally this hotel might be OK if nothing else is available, but there are a number of reservations. My 3rd floor room was on the expressway side, barely a half block away, so it was very noisy. At times it sounded like the room was right on the road. This hotel is built with rooms around a large central echo-producing courtyard, a design which must have been considered stylish at one time, but it unfortunately also contributes to the already heavy road-side noise level.
The toiletries were all of the odoriferous Aroma Therapy brand, a type which currently may stylish and appealing to some people. However, to many people like myself, they are irritating at best, and down right allergenic at worst. It seems I need to carry my own along now, and not rely on the hotel to supply them on-site.
The Wi-FI service cost $12 which was outrageous considering the service was very slow and that it is free in most lower priced hotels.. Overall the hotel is not worth the price, and is nothing special. At best choose it for basic lodging if you can't find anything else.

Room Tip: Don't get a roadside room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Every year, Marriott Madison West hosts TeslaCon, when for three or four days over a thousand costumed lunatics descend on Middleton to celebrate and participate in the steampunk fandom. Even before I arrived, I was amazed and delighted to see hotel staff posting on the event's facebook page about how excited they were and how some of them were already planning their own costumes.

From the moment my partner and I checked in, we were made to feel so very welcome. Staff never looked twice at the array of costumes, accents and behaviour on display and were unfailingly friendly, helpful and apparently pleased to be hosting the convention. It's an amazing event in many, many ways, but it wouldn't be the same without the brilliantly positive attitude of the staff.

Added to that, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and even though the hotel's decor looks slightly dated there's a grand feel to the place - especially the ten story atrium in the center of the hotel. It's also close to a variety of local shops and restaurants (walking distance!), and offers a free shuttle service to and from Madison airport. If there's any down side, it's that I've got used to free internet in hotels, and so $13 dollars a day seemed steep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleton
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Madison West/Middleton
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Madison West/Middleton
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Marriott West

Property: Madison Marriott West
Address: 1313 John Q Hammons Dr, Middleton, WI 53562-3502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Middleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Marriott West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Madison Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Madison West Hotel Middleton
Marriott Hotel Middleton
Marriott Middleton
Middleton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing