We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”
Review of Merrimac Ferry

Merrimac Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Merrimac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have heard of the Merrimac Ferry for years and have always wanted to try it. We got lucky and didn't have to wait and were the last car too load. the ferry left immediately and the whole trip was about 10 to 15 minutes. It was a very smooth ride and great picture opportunities. I think kids would love this so next time well bring ours. The best part is it's 100% free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 233JasonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    30
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Merrimac Ferry”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Ferry ride has become a ritual for us. We usual take it first thing in the summer and last ride of the fall on our motorcycle. The ferry in Merrimac is Wisconsins only free ferry. Chester Mattson obtained charters in 184 to provide ferry service at this location and someone has been doing it ever since. It is open 24-7 until ice forms on the Wisconsin river. The Ferry holds 15 vehicles, plus pedestrians and cycles. In 2012, 282,000 vehicles were ferried across the river. The trip takes about 7 minutes and while you're waiting for it to come to your side, you can have an ice cream sold on the bank. All the proceeds go to the ferry up-keep. This activity is family friendly and you can meet people from all over. It's hard to ride the ferry and not smile! We always enjoy it. Rest rooms are available on one bank of the river at the small park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scenic Route . . .”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The fam and I like to take this route back to Milwaukee from the Dells any chance we get.
Good times, kids love it, the parents like the ice cream and it breaks up the monotony on I-94.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Time saver & beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great fun, easy to use! Liked the convenience & beautiful scenery and it is FREE!!! Need to allow some extra time unless you use it daily and can figure the schedule. Thanks Wisconsin for this lovely feature.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go back and time”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recommend this to visitors and locals. The kids love going across the river on this ferry. Very small, but worth the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrimac Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Merrimac Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing