We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good midwest skiing for families, great condos”

Devil's Head Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Merrimac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Devil's Head Resort is nestled in the apex of a heavily forested, 1200 acre private Nature Preserve that encompasses natural farmland, rivers, streams, and rises up the Baraboo Bluffs. Experience the gourmet cuisine of the elegant Cornucopia room. Then enjoy the live entertainment in the Devil's Den or an evening of gambling at the nearby casino. Spend some time hiking or biking around the scenic hillsides or take advantage of our tennis courts. Facilities are available for your indoor or outdoor wedding ceremony and reception, conference or gathering.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good midwest skiing for families, great condos”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We've been coming here for years. The trails are generally well maintained and monitored by the ski patrol so that out of control skiers are not an issue. The Inn rooms desperately need updating (cinder block walls - really!). The condos however are fabulous. They are beautifully outfitted and great for multiple families skiing together.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_traveler_cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    24
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Midwest Skiing that is not in CO”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

As long as it has snowed recently...and is not all made snow, it is a great place to go and spend the day snowboarding or skiing. Short lines, good bar, lots of runs. Its not Colorado or other popular mountain locations...but for inexpensive, non mountain range snowboarding...it is a good time.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank JmetKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Devils Head is an unknown family friendly gem near Chicago”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our family just returned from a weekend skiing at Devils Head. We were all pleasantly surprised at this semi-local resort. We traveled with another family, and between both families we had 6 kids -ages 7,7,6,5,4,3. The five older kids were all beginning skiers (had been a few times at Wilmot)....so we signed them up for the ski school. For the youngest child we took advantage of their "kids club" - the hourly child care.

The Ski School was exceptional at really getting the kids to learn the basics of skiing, this was especially true when we as parents could describe the specifics of what the children were struggling at. By the end of the weekend all five kids were skiing making nice controlled turns from the top of the hill to the bottom of the hill (yes, this even includes the 4 year old).

The youngest had a ball in the Kids Camp. We were shocked over how many adults were in the room, and this child had a ball with dedicated attention to her all day. There were activities, fun play structures, and art's and crafts to entertain. For $7.00 per hour - you can't beat it! She loved it.

We adults were shocked that the resort managed to have enough snow to allow for great conditions - especially considering the dry and warm winter we've had this year. Although only about half of the resort was open, there were plenty of runs for two day of fun, and the snow was fantastic!

Last - the people who work at the entire resort (including the lodge accommodations) really made the weekend magical. From the lift operaters who proactively slowed down the chairs, to the ski school team who made sure we were happy, to the hotel staff who served with a smile - it was great.

We'll definately be back! And we will encourage our friends looking for a local resort to also head this direction. It can't be beat near Chicago.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank teresac860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great skiing for the Midwest”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Decent size and terrain for the Midwest. Also close to Chicago

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best midwest skiing terrain I've found”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Devil's Head is a well-run resort with reasonable lift ticket prices. Despite an early-season lack of natural snow, they had multiple challenging runs open. Lift operators and ski patrol members were friendly.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank rihintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Head Resort also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing