We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Place In Mercer.... Hands Down”

The Gateway Lodge & Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Mercer
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mercer, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Place In Mercer.... Hands Down”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I thought our first visit was a fluke for the terrible service and rude bartender/ owner so shame on us we went back, again same bartender /owner behind the bar with the same crappy attitude, oh and the waitress went to he same school of rudeness as the owner, we were seated at he bar and she asked where we wanted to sit for dinner, we said right hear at he bar would be perfect, she says um, I don't think so, I looked 3 stools down at the only other guy there on a friday night at 6:00 and yup, he was sitting there at the bar eating, so not to make a seen to the 1 other patron we graciously went to a table I had the waitress pick so I didn't get rudded again, when our food came it was all messed up and the waitress didn't even say sorry, she looked at my wife like it was her fault, there is a reason this place is empty on most Friday nights!! We will never go back and I would not suggest this to someone I didn't like!!! WHEN they fold hopefully the next owners will treat there customers to good food and good hospitality as its a beautiful location with very UGLY owners!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mercermayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    2
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After studying the menu, we decided to try the Gateway....it seemed to have lots of interesting choices! I made a reservation but when we arrived, I was embarrassed....Saturday night, peak season and there was only one other table of people eating???? No reservation needed!

They offer a salad bar but it was basically chucks of iceberg, chuncked tomatoes and carrots. There were also a couple of prepared salads but they looked like they had been sitting there for a while.
Our dinners were 'grilled' or 'broiled'....they were absolutely bland! No seasoning and no flavor at all!! It was horribly disappointing....we won't be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Florie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Du Sac, WI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gateway Restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family had a great experience at this restaurant. We loved the atmosphere, the games the kids could play, and all had tasty food. It was a fun, festive place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trumpet1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Vacation of the Year”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I camp for a week every year at next-door Lake of the Falls County Park, and always end up spending a lot of my time at the Gateway. It's a quick walk from the campground, and is a beautiful place in the middle of the woods on the shores of a beautiful lake. It's unusual to find such good food in the sticks, and this place also has a wide selection of booze and beer. I can't wait to come back this summer!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“taste of the northwoods.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

whenever i'm in the mercer area i always make a point to stop in at the gateway lodge.besides making the best bloodymary ive ever had, the food is always excellant.from the pan fried walleye to there cheeseburgers the food always hits the spot after a long day of fishing on the flowage.i also like the fact they have alot of games and a pooltable to keep the kids happy.its a good family restaurant with affordable prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bobb519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gateway Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing