We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak sandwich and excellent smoked turkey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lazy Ace Saloon

The Lazy Ace Saloon
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Mercer
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best steak sandwich and excellent smoked turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Wow...what a great lunch after an all morning ATV ride (they are right on the trail). The chips were great as well. We will definitely go again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler-kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“We now dream of this pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a follow up to an earlier review. We've been back twice for the pizza and it is absolutely scrumptious. Smoked turkey pizza is the best. Great stretchy lengths of cheese, perfectly smoked turkey (with a hint of lemon), so darn delicious. Nice, nice, nice! Ask for some barbecue sauce to drizzle over the top.Their traditional sausage pizza is also delicious. Their sausage is really good. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin,Michigan Border
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped in due to some of the reviews on TRip Advisor. Coming down South on hwy 51, I remembered reading about the smoked pulled pork sandwich. The place was not crowded as it was a weekday. Some locals enjoying their favorite beverage.

I ordered the Pork sandwich, which was served with chips, my choice, and their homemade bar-barbecue sauce. It was huge. The sauce was the topper,nice and spicy, not overbearing. Tough to hang on too, but that's the best part of a very good sandwich. Would definatly go back and try the Turkey next time.....

Stop in and try it for yourself.

Thanks for the great service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank statelinekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were vacationing in Springstead WI, French Lake Resort. The owners are my sons in laws they recommended it. The have smoked turkey, pulled pork, and brisket. They offer their own home made BBQ sauce, home chips, and Robins cole slaw. The service was execellent. There was enough seating for our group of 11. The place was clean and the decor was southwest including a life cut of the Duke. We all had pulled pork or Beef Brisket, except 1 shrimp. Everything was priced between $8.00-8.50 the portion sizes were good. They also make and sell pizza on their menu. Looking forward to next years trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcomets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really great sandwiches but no tap beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Try the pulled turkey sandwich, really delicious! This place is a bar and the atmosphere is interesting. This was our second visit and both times we had really good food and friendly service. Next time we are trying the pizza. The couple across the bar from us had one that looked fantastic.

There is a good mix of different ages at the bar and we've always been welcomed warmly even though we are not locals.

Check it out for lunch or dinner, you won't be disappointed unless, that is, you are looking for beers on tap to accompany your meal. Plenty of bottled or canned products from which to choose.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedBuddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Ace Saloon also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Ace Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing