We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an okay place in the country.”
Review of Landmark

Landmark
Ranked #16 of 71 Restaurants in Mequon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Milwaukee, WI
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is an okay place in the country.”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We ended up here for a Friday fish fry based partly on the raves here in TripAdvisor. While I would say the fish was good, it could have been better. We tried both the battered and the breaded and really, they were good, but the fish were quite small and you didn't get many. My wife and I are rather lite eaters, and we walked away feeling as though we hadn't eaten much - maybe that's a good thing.

It is a cool little place that seems to be very popular, but it may be as well known for its bar as for its food since that area was quite crowded with seemingly happy patrons. I should also say that the folks running the place are quite nice.

If it's about the food, you might try another place, but if you're looking for a more simple and pleasant experience with a little noise, you'll be happy here.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martinaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than ordinary bar food and beverage!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have eaten at the Landmark for the past 12 years. You are always greeted with a "Hello" by the bartender or staff, which makes you feel that they really are happy you have choosen to stop in for food or drink. In addition, the food is better than the food you get at most bars, mainly due to the fact it is always fresh. This is evident by the numerous daily specials, homemade soups and desserts. Most of all, the friday fish fry is outstanding. Don't turn away due to a crowed parking lot, the turn around time from bar to table is quick. Not to mention the regular customers are the friendliest around!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish Fry”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stopped in last night after driving by for years because it was so crowded. The perch fish fry was fantastic, thinly breaded and not a bit greasy. We will definitely return.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Certainly not what I was expecting!”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

After reading the reviews here I was expecting a little bit more... It was allright, just not great and I probably will not go back-certainly nothing to rave about!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere, good food, our favorite place to spend an evening”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

You can't go wrong by visiting the Landmark for dinner. Their fish fry is excellent, the homemade desserts are wonderful, the soups are great, and the price is right. The specials on weekdays and Saturdays are always delicious and there is something for everyone. This is a family owned restaurant that cares about their customers. It's like going to a friend's place for dinner.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countingsleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landmark also viewed

 
Thiensville, Mequon
 

Been to Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing