We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is an incredible value!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Motel Of Mequon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mequon
Certificate of Excellence
wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This place is an incredible value!!!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Chalet Motel may often be overlooked because it is older, and is not a chain. Its way nicer than you may think from just driving by. Yes, its older, but what lacks in modern amenities it makes up for in charm. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The price can't be beat, and I mean it. The price is less than half the price of other hotels in the area.

There is no pool, and don't forget your hair dryer, but there is a large dorm sized fridge and a microwave. The wireless high speed internet is quite reliable. The shower gets quite hot if you want it to and the water pressure is great!!

The community is about the safest community near Milwaukee, the chances of your car being broken into or stolen are slim to none. The highway outside is rarely noisy. The three restaurants within a stones throw of the Motel are all excellent choices.

My only complaint about the Chalet is that the noise really travels through the rooms. I'm here for a very intense class, and I can hear every word the people next door are saying, and I can hear his tv running non stop. No problem, though. I downloaded the white noise app on my iphone. Problem solved.

Again, the price can't be beat and its a very basic, comfortable, and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybrook311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
31
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is my second stay at the Chalet of Mequon. Came back up to visitation to CUW. We booked two king bedrooms and one of the rooms was the same room I stayed in the last time. Once again everything was wonderful. The other mother thought the room was nice and clean and well worth the money. We both will be staying again since our kids will be attending CUW this fall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The Chalet is perfect for someone looking to spend some time in the area without paying $100+. While most mom and pop places are neglected and run-down, the Chalet actually is very well-kept and comfy.

Pros- The rooms are very clean, the location is in a nice area, and the whole place is well-lit and feels really safe. The rooms have wireless, a fridge and a microwave. It is a large Motel with plenty of rooms. The place also has a friendly staff.


Cons- Don't expect as pool or anything too fancy, but it is very nice for an independent motel.

Overall- well worth avoiding the chains and spending some time here.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jackoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Booked two rooms on a Thursday night. One contained a double queen, the other a king. Rooms were very clean, spacious and nicely updated. Rooms were $54/night plus tax which for the quality and location can't be beat. The Best Western was $120+ night (stayed there before, nice but pricey) and the Radisson, on a summer special was $70 (we stayed there too and had some problems). The Motel staff were helpful and friendly. Can't go wrong with the Chalet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emojonation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I have stayed at a lot of fancy hotels in the past 12 months and paid $400-$600 a night. I like good service and comfort. The Chalet offers all the comfort you need at a really fair price.
I would have to say it was the cleanest places I have stayed in the under $200 range.
I have stayed at the newer business hotels nearby and their beds and pillows don't match the comfort of the Chalet. I was really comfortable the entire time. I stayed over a weekend. It wasn't any noisier than other hotels I have visited. I will visit my relatives and stay at the Chalet again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holymooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

What a nice place to stay. Great location, close to everything. Nice people, quiet atmosphere and most importantly clean!! I would definitely stay here again it is such a nice change from the large, impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Whether your trip is based on business travel or for pleasure, the Chalet proved to be above and beyond your average motel. My trip was based around a shopping trip around the Mequon/Cedurburg area and also the Bayshore mall area. Once arriving at the Chalet we were greeted by the most friendly, helpful front desk manager - Mr. David Dordel. During our stay, Mr. Dordel went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. That alone was worth the stay! My sister-in law and I enjoyed the comfortable / clean room - especially after a long day of shopping! In the morning you can go down to the front desk lobby for coffee, tea, juice and enjoy muffins, sweet rolls and fruit! That was great since that was all we needed to start another day of shopping!
I highly recommend the Chalet to all travelers looking tor a comfortable, affordable, highly personable stay! Thanks Chalet and Mr. Dordel!!! By the way, the shopping was great too!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2shop014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mequon
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee N. Brown Deer/Mequon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Milwaukee North Shore
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Milwaukee North Brown Deer/Mequon
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee North/Brown Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Motel Of Mequon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel Of Mequon

Property: Chalet Motel Of Mequon
Address: 10401 N Port Washington Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-5534
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mequon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mequon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chalet Motel Of Mequon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chalet Motel Of Mequon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Motel Of Mequon Hotel Mequon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing