We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere, Marginal Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nines American Bistro

Nines American Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Nines American Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 71 Restaurants in Mequon
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fieldwood
Description: nines is the new public restaurant located at the River Club of Mequon, the most inclusive private club on the north shore. The panoramic, casually elegant dining room features a fresh twist on New American cuisine that can be served as a single entree or as part of our “flight service,” which caters to a preference for tastefully composed trios of smaller plates. Nines also offers a private executive dining or corporate meeting room plus a seasonal covered balcony. The nines’ bar features a creative but more casual menu in a captivating atmosphere along with Wisconsin’s largest Cruvinet with 44 wines by the glass. And for the kids, we have the Playdium Game Room with nearly 4,000 square feet of pure awesome. For a singularly inspired culinary experience and atmosphere on demand…spend your night at nines.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
272 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Marginal Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautifully decorated with great service. Had a bone-in ribeye that was full of gristle. Wine decanter was filthy and had to ask to have it cleaned. Creamed spinach on the menu was served sautéed. Will give it another chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Wi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a party of six with a 1245PM reservation on Mothers day. When we arrived, the parking lots were jam packed. When we entered, there were folks all over the place. However, we were seated within 10 minutes of us signing in with the hostess. It is a huge dining room, but they had a lot of wait staff and busers to handle it. Started off with free mimosas(included in the cost of the buffet). The buffet itself was fabulous and consisted of a variety of salads and cold appetizers, pancakes, waffles, crepes(add your own toppings to them like strawberry, blueberry and cherry), bacon, sausage, chicken, shrimp, prime rib and salmon(carved to order) and a multitude of sides like potatoes and asparagus.They had a separate table for children with chicken fingers, mac and cheese, etc. The deserts were excellent, including the chocolate fountain which included everything from bread chunks to pineapple. Our server was prompt at clearing our plates and getting anything we asked for quickly. The only downsides were the crowd(but expect that on Mothers Day) and the cost. Although listed at $30.00/person, it actually came to $36.00/person because they have a 20% surcharge(not the tip, a surcharge) This was explained when we booked, so it was no surprise.We would return for their regular Sunday brunch($20.00, no prime rib, but tenderloin steak instead.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachedwhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had heard good things about the Nines Sunday buffet so we thought what a great place to go out for Mother's Day, It was not what we expected. There were so many people there that they had tables in every nook and cranny they could fine. The noise level was so loud you had to shout to be heard. The included mimosas were a nice touch but the non-alcoholic version that we had to order for the children cost $1.50 each. The food was very good but they kept running out of things on the buffet and could not keep up with replacing them. Again, I think it was because of the huge crowd. Out service was very slow and we had to initially ask a passing server to find out server. Our server tried to be attentive but seemed to have responsibility for a lot of tables. We had to serve ourselves for juice and coffee. When it was time for dessert, half the serving plates on the dessert table were empty. Again it seems they were trying but could not keep up with the demand. The last disappointment was the bill. There was a twenty percent service charge added. I usually leave a twenty percent tip but to be forced to pay twenty percent for a buffet is disappointing. I can understand a service charge for a large party but we were three adults and two children. We may try the Sunday Brunch in the future to see if it is any better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, average atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We ate at the Nines last night for New Year's Eve. Ended up seated near the bar despite having reservations. Not what I would call high ambiance as it was extremely noisy which is to be expected on a night like that. The waitress brought out a "special" menu, and walked away. Didn't explain that it was basically a 4 course meal with your choice of 2 items in each category. We kind of read between the lines and figured it out. It would have been nice to maybe highlight a few of the choices and explain the ingredients, etc. None of it was over appealing so we asked if there was a regular menu available. Gee, there was one.....A bit later, we heard the waitress for the table near us give the customers the special menu, explain it to them, and let them know they had their regular menu available. I had ribeye steak which was very good, and prepared as I requested, rare. My husband had filet, requested that it be rare as well, it was barely pink in the middle. My ribeye came with onion rings which amounted to exactly 2 thin rings on top of the steak, a few spinach leaves, 4 cherry tomatoes, and a small chunk of blue cheese. That was it, for $36. The filet came with a small amount of cheesy potatoes, nothing else. That was $31. Those prices are not ridiculous for sure, but when you consider it was basically ala carte, not a great value, especially when you consider the seating area was a glorified bar. It was also very cold in there, most of the women were wearing their coats at the table. Highly doubt we would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bland!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to the Nines for a family dinner this evening...I have to say that the menu sounded a lot better than what eventually arrived at the table.

I ordered the Paparadelle pasta....sounded great in writing! What I got was a bland "pasta" dish of egg noodles, literally three small pieces of sun dried tomatoes, one cooked garlic clove and a small pile of spinach that seemed fresh out the bag...no sauce or seasoning of any kind on either the pasta or the spinach. In fairness the shrimp were cooked well...but for a 17 dollar entree I would expect more than 5 shrimp and at least a little flavor. Mind you, the shrimp were extra...one can order just the pasta dish. Thank God I ordered the shrimp! Overall, I left most of the pasta and spinach on the plate.

Other meals at the table looked mediocre. Another person in the group ordered the butternut squash pasta and said it also was a little "flavorless".

A glass of wine will cost you from 9-12 dollars for a 6 ounce glass.

Atmosphere is essentially that of a sports bar. Lots of big screen tvs in the bar area, which, for me, kill the concept of "upscale" automatically.

Overall, nothing special and you can probably cook a much nicer meal at home. I know I can.

Service was decent. The waiter did his best with what he was given to serve. The girls at the front of the house seemed very high school and they acted it. Lots of giggling and generally not very serious. More mature employees would add a needed touch of professionalism.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zingari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninesRiverClub, General Manager at Nines American Bistro, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to visit 'nines' Bar and Restaurant and for sharing your thoughts. Your feedback is important to us. Please know we are committed to creating an exceptional dining experience for all of our guests by providing friendly and attentive service, a range of menu options and your preference in casually elegant environments. Please contact me personally so that we can learn more about your recent visit to 'nines'.

You may email me at: Ryan.Doerr@RiverClubofMequon.com with your phone number and a good time to contact you. We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to speak with you in person.

Thank you, Ryan Doerr / General Manager at ‘nines’ and The River Club of Mequon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nines American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Nines American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing