We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Anniversary Getaway”

American Country Farm Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mequon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Country Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mequon B&B and Inns
Baileyville, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“40th Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We found this place online and were not disappointed. We stayed in a former summer kitchen converted into a small efficiency for two furnished with antiques, a gas fireplace, and a king size bed. For us the breakfast was a bit sparse (fruit, small cereal boxes, baked bread) but there are some great restaurants in the area and we didn't mind breakfast out. We slept very well and found plenty of quiet time on the grounds. The owners are congenial, and knowledgeable about the area. There is a TV, but we only put it on once, to get local weather. It's located right between Milwaukee and Cedarburg so you can easily get to either. We highly recommend this as a couple's getaway; singles would probably find it a good alternative to same-same motel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Six of us (3 couples) stayed in the Gardener's Cottage prior to Christmas 2012. We found the facility to be spacious and very charming. The beds could have been more comfortable and having only 1 shower for 6 adults was a bit challenging but we managed. Likewise, don't plan on getting gourmet quality breakfasts here. This meal is not cooked by the owners as is typical of most B&Bs but the pantry is stocked with typical hotel 'continental' fare--juice, muffins, quick breads, etc. The quality was not that good (quick bread defrosted from the supply in the freezer was stale) and the dozen of eggs that the owners were supposed to bring over never showed up. We ended up purchasing some groceries locally. We did, however, enjoy dining around the big ol' fashioned kitchen table. The kitchen itself is fairly well equipped if you are doing cooking but needed a thorough cleaning. Drawers were disorganized and dirty; looked like crumbs had built up for a long time. Our favorite part of the stay was gathering in the great room around the fire. There is plenty of seating to accommodate 6, and more. Would have been nice to have had a few Christmas decorations around considering the season. When snow arrived during our stay and the owner was prompt in shoveling paths and drives. All in all a nice stay and I would return but the food quality definitely needs improvement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torchy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in the Gardener's Cottage at the American Country Farm twice. Both of our visits were in late autumn, with our best friends sharing the cottage with us on each occasion. The grounds, as well as the cottage are a truly amazing experience. It feels as if you are living on your own private farm. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, featuring a bright country kitchen and a large living room with a wood burning fireplace. The cottage can easily accommodate 3 couples and is the perfect place to retreat from the frenzy of suburban life. It is local to Cedarburg which is noted for its quaint shops. In addition, Mequon and the surrounding communities provide for a wide range of cultural and dining experiences. The innkeepers are warm and congenial and provide everything necessary for a memorable stay. I'm already looking forward to our return trip this November!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the American Cottage twice, now. Both times were idyllic, romantic get away weekends. We stayed in the larger of the two homes. The other is the older of the two and really charming. We chose the large one mostly because it had the real wood burning fireplace. The first weekend we stayed, all the trees in the yard were blooming and the smell of apple blossoms wafted into our love nest. Heady stuff.
Donna provides a nice breakfast of cereals, fruits, and coffee cake. She and her husband were attentive without being intrusive. They were also uber knowledgeable on anything local. My wife took their restaurant advice and they were spot on. Cedarburg is a gem of a town and well worth spending the time to go.
This experience is all within 1.5 hours of Chicago and a good value for a getaway. Everything was neat and clean and spot on.
http://www.americancountryfarm-bedandbreakfast.com/

Room Tip: The big cottage is a bit more but really roomy and with a full wood burning fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This place is an absolute gem. I really didn't want to put a review on here because I wanted to keep it secret, but the owners are so lovely, people deserve to know about them and their cottages. This place, just a few miles from Cedarburg, WI, has two lodging options available, a charming cottage from 1844 that is perfect for a romantic retreat away from it all with Gas Fireplace (called the Summer Kitchen) and a three bedroom place with a Wood-Burning Fireplace (called the Gardener's Cottage). We stayed in the small cottage but the owner showed us the three-bedroom and it looks lovely if you want more space or have a bigger group.

We were celebrating our Anniversary, and could not have picked a better place. Warm, Cosy, perfectly decorated (not overdone at all) and lovely, and the bed was super comfortable, not too soft and not too hard. I wasn't sure how the gas fireplace would be, but it was actually lovely at the end of a cold day to be able to click it on and cuddle up. We are wood-burning fireplace fans, but this was actually very nice.

We were there the weekend of Cedarburg's holiday festival and that was a treat as well. We feel rejuvenated and relaxed, we were only gone two nights but the calm beauty of this cottage and the area really felt like a retreat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CVoelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mequon
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites. Grafton-Milwaukee
4.1 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee North/Brown Deer
4.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Milwaukee North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Country Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Country Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: American Country Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12112 N Wauwatosa Rd, Mequon, WI 53097-2704
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mequon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mequon
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing