We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price - bring your own spirits if must go”
Review of Sybaris Mequon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sybaris Mequon
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the price - bring your own spirits if must go”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our room ( 29) was fair to average for cleanliness. ( 2 pts ) Bed was average for comfort ( 1 pt ) Chairs were of child size, I stand 5 10 and when I sat in them I was not more than 18" off the ground. (-1 pt) Massage Chair had ripped arms where one had been repaired and the left arm was ripped ( -3 pt). We filled the water bucket with ice to chill our wine. Went out to get some snacks, 5-10 minutes. Came back and the bucket had leaked from the melting ice all over the stand. I called hsk'ing for replacement Ice Bucket and was told they did not have any and please put the ice in the plastic bag that was in the Ice Bucket (-3 pts ).
I realize we did not have the big swimming pool suite ( and yes we have stayed before in the waterfall/pool suites in by Chicago ) but when the whirlpool is the biggest plus for the room shouldn't it be higher quality? 8 - 10 jets is not enough. Me and my wife could not sit comfortably in whirlpool due to placement of jets and water spigot to fill the whirlpool.
Bottom line we did not get the $240 + money's worth. I am a little surprised by the great comments posted...

Room Tip: Our room was a Classic whirlpool - - Your better off going to a hotel with a suite and whirlpool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestMale50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    15
    4
    9
See reviews for
1
119
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

So far , we stayed there 3 times and we are going back again next week. We don't get to really vacation anywhere, so this is our mini vacation . With jobs and kids , this is the perfect escape for people who cannot allow too much time to get away. The rooms always look and smell clean and everything has been in good working order. The people at the front desk are friendly and helpful, and when we went to check in and out , we didn't feel skeezy like I thought I would. The outside of the place looks kinda old and run down, but you would never know it once you go in your room. I love that there are no windows...Only a peephole in your door to see what time of day outside it is . Once you are there, you lose all track out time..so go there and shut out the outside world and relax.

Room Tip: Bring you own food and drinks. They have a mini fridge and microwave. Once you are there you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have to say that our experience at this Sybaris was NOTHING like our experience at the one in Frankfort.

I had received a GC for an afternoon stay as a present and wanted to upgrade it to be an overnight but was told I could not do that. I was willing to pay the difference but it was still a no. I booked it anyway to breakup our long drive up to Door County. The reservation person was very unpleasant to deal with.

Upon our arrival I noticed that the buildings were in much worse shape than they were in Frankfort. Also the parking lot was torn up with big pot holes.

I went to check in and the front desk people were very unfriendly. They did not explain the "rules" at all and just had you sign the forms. There were 3 front desk people all on there phones, very unprofessional. The front office was a mess.

We got to our room and although it was very clean, there was a high odor of chlorine. Also the pool was much smaller and instead of having an attached hot tub, it was separate and looked like a big tub. The jets were not powerful at all. The pool was nice but there was so much chlorine in it that it dried my skin out very badly

The massage chair at this location was also broken. They had tacky stars on the ceiling that lite up. Also there was a lawn mower going on right outside our door which was very distracting and loud. The only adult stations they had were not only all "snowy" but very specific. Not everyone wants to see girl on girl. The sound system was also very bad in the pool area, very staticky.

I would never stay at this one again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Sybaris in Mequon earlier this week for 2 nights for my birthday and had an amazing mini-getaway. Special thanks to Denise for helping us make our reservation - she was incredibly friendly and helpful both on the phone and in person. Sybaris is lucky to have employees like her on their payroll. The room itself was beautiful, clean and laid out very well. There were many unexpected touches in the room - under bed lighting, the "starry sky" overhead lighting, the ability to hook up our mp3 player to listen to our music both in the room and the pool area, etc.. The pool & whirpool were heated perfectly for our tastes, and the steam room was VERY relaxing. I like that it was on a timer so you didn't stay too long - I could very easily have fallen asleep in there! The waterfall in the pool was a nice aesthetic also. We were like kids trying to decide which amenity to enjoy first.
We brought along soda, wine, a meat & cheese tray, etc that we munched on over the course of our stay - the room has a decent sized mini-frig and a microwave. At check in, Denise had also given us a sheet with the info for many local restaurants. We ate out one night, and had dinner delivered on the 2nd. I had actually remembered to bring a corkscrew on this trip, but there was one provided in the room should you forget.
Be sure to put the chain on your door - our door was opened twice in the early morning on Monday, and again around noon by cleaning personnel. After the first time, we did hook the chain so the door didn't open all the way. If you were in the pool or not near the door, it could make for an embarrassing situation!
On our first night, a couple checked in to the room next door and before too long we had a very strong odor of smoke (cigarette and other) in our room. We investigated and noted it was the strongest in our bathroom - we just shut the bathroom door, turned on the exhaust fan and the odor cleared out quickly. This isn't an issue with Sybaris in any way, just a tip in case this happens to you.

All in all, I rated Sybaris in Mequon as excellent. As far as price... well, it's not a "budget" location, but you DO get your money's worth. Neither of us regretted the cost as we left relaxed and refreshed. I highly recommend the Paradise Suite to any couple looking for a short, romantic getaway to de-stress and reconnect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AudnDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENFIELD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are seniors looking to celebrate a special anniversary which we did last night at the Sybaris in a Majestic Pool Suite. It was truly memorable and one I would suggest for couples of any age looking for a totally private romantic destination complete with 22 foot swimming pool, steam room, 7 ft. whirlpool and a fireplace. We began the day shopping in Cedarburg. Would suggest you avoid Monday nights as many of the fine restaurants are closed on Mondays.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the pool suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raelynn219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in the Majestic on Mar 21. The room was as clean as any hotel I've ever seen. The pool was very clean and the perfect temp. The steam room was very relaxing. There are plenty of good places to eat within a few miles so you don't have to be away from your amazing room long. We came up from Indiana and stayed here on on our way to Minnesota. Our next 3 days in Minnesota were so disappointing that we decided to go back home thru Mequon so we could stay again. All they had available was a county whirlpool so we booked it. By the time we arrived they had had a cancellation on a larger room and gave us a fantastic deal on it for the night. The grounds are well tended, the rooms are spotless and the staff all seem very friendly and professional. We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttroastsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a Paradise room. The place was very clean. Pool was warm and waterfall was great. Steam room was nice. We loved that you can plug your own MP3 player into the stereo and that it played in the pool area too. The mirrors around the pool room mixed with the choice to dim lighting in pool area was very romantic. They have a restaurant/bar on site. We had lunch and dinner there and the food was very good and priced very reasonably. Our room had small kitchen area with sink, microwave and small fridge. We stayed for 2 nights and didn't want to leave. Free porn on the TV. At first I was a little disappointed that they didn't have internet but now I am glad there were no interruptions. Got a good laugh that they had a bidet in the bathroom. This is a great place for a couple to spend quality time together.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alireep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mequon
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Mequon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Mequon

Property: Sybaris Mequon
Address: 10240 N Cedarburg Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-4506
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mequon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mequon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Mequon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Mequon, Wisconsin is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Sybaris Mequon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Mequon Hotel Mequon
Sybaris Pool Suites
Sybaris Hotel Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing