We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”
Review of Sybaris Mequon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sybaris Mequon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed in the Paradise Swimming Pool Suite recently. There were pros and cons in our experience:

Pros:
--This facility is set up to be a "romantic getaway". There is "mood lighting" and other
nice features that you won't find in a hotel. (Massage chair, etc.)

--Having the option for a suite with a swimming pool is nice. Much better than having
to share a pool with others at a hotel.

--Dual sinks and the steam room are a nice touch.

--The staff was helpful and friendly, both at check-in and check-out.

Cons:
--Sybaris is not exactly for the budget-minded. While it is a unique experience, it is
rather pricey. Our suite was $375 for a Saturday night stay. (We went here only
because of a gift certificate I received as a gift. We had an ENTIRE CABIN in
Gatlinburg, TN - with a pool - at a nightly rate less than this suite.) I would probably
not pay full-price to stay here. (Besides the fact that they require a MEMBERSHIP,
which needs to be renewed yearly.)

--For this price, there should be a more comfortable bed. The bed was reasonably
soft, but there's not much cushioning. We did not have a very good night's sleep.
The pillows were very flat, and did not provide much support.

--The TV remote and operation leaves much to be desired. The remote did not work
unless pointed directly at the sensor on the TV. It was nearly impossible to
change any options on the TV, such as closed-captioning (I'm hard-of-hearing).

--I received at least two e-mails about "upgrade" options prior to our stay. These
upgrades (chocolate-covered strawberries, rose petals, etc) are extremely
overpriced.

--Despite what the brochure said, our suite included a jacuzzi instead of a
whirlpool/hot-tub. The difference is that you have to climb over the 3-foot-tall side
of the jacuzzi in order to use it. There is no ladder or step stool provided. We were
not able to use this feature, because it was literally impossible to enter this jacuzzi
without a ladder or step stool.

Overall, while this is a unique type of resort, I believe that some upgrades (the bed, pillows, TV's, etc) should be made to make this facility more user-friendly. For the cost of a stay here, there should be a more welcoming environment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darobsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Sybaris Mequon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Traveled here for a romantic getaway for our anniversary. The facility is beautiful outside but the staff and support need alot of help. We paid extra for strawberries and drinks to be waiting in the Majestic Swimming Pool Suite we reserved. After getting to our room, found that the bathroom and whirlpool were dirty. We had to leave while they cleaned the room. We went to dinner and when we returned it was their 6pm check in and between the guests trying to check in and their staff parking their vehicles in the driveway, we waited about 45 minutes just to be able to get in and to our suite. This was mainly because of their staff pickup trucks blocking the road. When we finally got to our room, had to search for our drink bubbly, they had hid it. And the chocolate strawberries, don't waste your money... they were rotten. Between the lack of staff support and the average/sub-standard accommodations to guests in the adjoining suite extremely loud music/smoking at 3am, the visit was an extreme disappointment. Definitely not the quite, romantic getaway we wanted. After talking to the front desk many times and after checkout they wanted an "stay" evaluation with the option for them to contact us... well, they never talked to us which supported their attitude of "we've got your money, so who cares". Don't waste your money here. We tried them instead of our usual Sandals, and regret the choice. We're going back to Sandals.

Room Tip: Great concept, poor execution. Do not stay here.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank glass_man111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the swimming pool suite. We were originally signed up for the country whirlpool suite, but a few days before we recieved an email saying we could upgrade for discounted rate. It was wonderful and so glad we went for it. We enjoyed our own private swimming pool, steam room, jaccuzi, fireplace, and comfortable king size bed with all the romantic lighting imaginable. We will stay again for sure, as everything was clean and all the little extras were wonderful. The only complaint was that the massage chair was not working, but with all the other toys we had it didnt seem important.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Sybaris several times and have enjoyed it. The rooms were very clean and it was very private. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful time. I have recommended Sybaris to my friends and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in the Majestic Swimming Pool Suite for (3) nights and my wife and I finally had a chance to reconnect our relationship with one another after a rough year. It was more than what I had expected. Our suite was beautiful, romantic and spotless!!! The features were all in working order. The pool temperature was PERFECT!!! Whirlpool was so soothing and relaxing. Steamroom was a stress reliever. I highly recommend the Sybaris in Mequon, WI to anyone looking for a romantic getaway or just looking to escape for a while. Customer service was EXCELLENT and EFFICIENT. The office manager was extremely helpful and courtesy. Never seen positive customer service like that before. It was a bit pricey but well worth the trip and we will definitely be back as soon as possible. We also purchased the VIP membership with our stay, which includes extra perks when you make a multiple night reservation or just an 1 night reservation. BEST ROMANTIC GETAWAY EVER!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sp33dy3GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is my 4th time to the Sybaris. It was my first time in the Country Whirlpool Suite. We loved that room. So quiet and cozy. The whirlpool is great and we would definately be back again. We got a great deal because of an e-mail last minute code.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steno_starlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and I celibrated out 15th anniversary and were pleased with the features and amenities. Most importantly the room was clean. It was very relaxing and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captnsteve262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mequon
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Milwaukee North Shore
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mequon Milwaukee Area
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee N. Brown Deer/Mequon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Washington House Inn
Washington House Inn
#1 of 1 in Cedarburg
741 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grafton
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Milwaukee North Brown Deer/Mequon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Mequon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Mequon

Address: 10240 N Cedarburg Rd, Mequon, WI 53092-4506
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mequon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mequon
Price Range: $114 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Mequon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Mequon, Wisconsin is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sybaris Mequon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Mequon Hotel Mequon
Sybaris Pool Suites
Sybaris Hotel Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing