We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”
Review of Motel 6 Menomonie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Menomonie
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Menomonie
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Clean room and bathroom, only complain was the room I was in used to be a smoking room and could still smell it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
22
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The rates for this stay were very reasonable. However, you get what you pay for. The facility and rooms were clean and well maintained. The towels were very thin and small. There was a small bar of soap, but no shampoo or conditioner. The mattresses were very firm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
328 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This Motel is affordable and clean. It has 3 floors. It has an elevator. The TV had expanded channels. The gals at the front desk were friendly & helpful. The only problem was people in the hallways slamming doors and making noise quite late. And I could hear people in the room upstairs from us. I should have taken a room on the third floor. I would stay here again because the price was right & free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Motel 6 hotels can be hit or miss - this one was pretty good. Clean room, updated, very nice. They offer free WiFi, and the speed and service is as good as any full scale hotel I have stayed in (be sure to book on line before coming in - can save you a few dollars off the rack rate). Add that to the reasonable price and it is an affordable winner!

I stayed here for two nights due to getting trapped in a blizzard storm (included the freeway being closed). The price was right for an emergency stop - only issue would have been the time it took to plow the parking lot. There were a lot of upset people at the hotel, as check out was at noon - but the lot was't plowed out until after 1:30. There were people stranded at the hotel who were forced to check out - and then couldn't leave the property because it wasn't plowed (and the front desk apparently wasn't about to call the plowing contractor to see when it would be cleared). Another shoker was that I went out to my truck about an hour before check out to get a phone number and clean off the windows. Came back in after 15 minutes to find that even though I hadn't checked out yet, my room had been entered by housekeeping and they stripped down the bed to the mattress and took out all of the towels. I thought that was strange.

Anyhow, as long as it is not blizzard weather, I would advise this as a good and affordable place to stay if you just need a smaller yet clean place to rest the night. I will stay here again if I am ever in the area (during summer!)! :-)

(I travel all over the country with my job, and I contribute on EVERY hotel I stay in. Trip Advisor has been a great tool for me, and I contribute fairly, for both good and bad facilities.)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunnyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

After having stayed at various other motels that charge an arm and a leg for just resting my head and showering after a long drive, I have always had a positive experience staying at Motel 6 locations. This location was extra nice because of it being situated in beautiful northwestern Wisconsin northwoods area. The check-in person was friendly and cordial and made me feel right at home. This area also provides many places to dine with a few within even walking distance if you don't feel like driving, especially after driving a long distance. For the value, I really liked staying at this Motel 6 because you get value for your dollar and a pretty area to view. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEENAH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Traveling to and from Minneapolis MN for business and I needed a quite safe place to stay. Tried the Menomonie Motel6 on the trip to Minneapolis and on the way back home I decided not to push my travels into the late night and once again stayed at the Motel6. Very pleased.

I am self employed and very aware of the out of pocket expenses ... Motel6 charged me $46 out the door for a safe, clean environment.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We were either really unlucky or they were having an unfortunate weekend during the time we stayed at this hotel. Reservations and check-in were easy and went smoothly, and our room seemed fine-- we dropped off our bags, freshened up a bit and went to meet our daughter at her apartment in town. Other than noticing that there were no facial tissues supplied in the room, things seemed okay-- the room appeared clean and although very basic looked like it would serve the purpose, which was a place to sleep the night before moving our son into his dorm room.

When we returned to our room later that evening, around 8:30, we smelled a very strong stale smoke odor in the hallway outside our room. Much to our dismay, the smell was not confined to the hallway-- it also smelled of stale cigarette smoke in our room. This was confusing because it had seemed fine earlier that day. We should have requested a different room right then, and I regret that I didn't because our entire family had after effects, from headaches to a general feeling of lethargy and not having gotten a good night's sleep-- unrested.

In addition to the offensive odor, we also were treated to A LOT of noise on the floor above us around 2:30 in the morning. At one point it almost sounded like someone had jumped off of something and was going to come crashing through the ceiling right into our room. I understand management cannot control all of the guests actions all of the time, but this problem I attribute more to the construction of the building, as in NO sound-proofing what-so-ever.

Overall I guess you get what you pay for. We paid $50 for a Saturday night, and I realize that is on the inexpensive side, but it would really have been nice to at least have a box of facial tissue provided in the room. There also was no clock, but the free wireless internet seemed to be working which was at least something. If it wouldn't have been for the smoke odor, our stay would have been acceptable, the staff seemed friendly and helpful, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldo_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menomonie
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Menomonie Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Menomonie
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Menomonie
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Eau Claire
19.5 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Durand, WI
16.8 mi away
Days Inn West-Eau Claire
Days Inn West-Eau Claire
#20 of 25 in Eau Claire
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Menomonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Menomonie

Property: Motel 6 Menomonie
Address: 2100 Stout St, I-94 at Exit 41, Menomonie, WI 54751-1381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Menomonie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Menomonie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Menomonie 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Menomonie Wisconsin is conveniently located off I-94. Nearby is Wakanda Water Park, Menomonie Golf and Country Club, and Dunn County Fair Grounds. All guest rooms have Free Wi-fi and are 100% Smoke Free. Guest coin laundry also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Motel-6, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Menomonie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Menomonie Hotel Menomonie
Motel Six Menomonie
Menomonie Motel 6
Menomonie Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing