We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Victorian Bnb”
Review of Oaklawn Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menomonie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Menomonie B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay very much! Maggie was so welcoming and the two connected rooms worked very well for our family of five. We particularly appreciated how accommodating she was regarding the breakfast menu for our two boys (both have mild autism and as a result have a limited diet). The other three of us enjoyed her fancier homemade breakfast fare.

Since I am working on a special travel guide that focusses on historic period lodging I was in heaven in this charming Victorian farmhouse. Maggie was also very kind to spend some time sharing the unique history of the place, and sitting for an afternoon on the big porch looking toward the small pond one could feel like they had travelled back in time. It was wonderful!

One thing to be aware of is that it sits, preserved, in the middle of a modern technology park, so if it seems like you are in the wrong neighborhood, don't worry it's right there in the middle. And, thankfully, they left a stand of trees around it so when you are there if feels nicely isolated and beautiful.

I heartily recommend this place for families, couples, and anyone wanting a charming stay in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonjainCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I were joined by my brothers and sister and foreign student for three days at Oaklawn. First, we love Maggie. She is a gem. She makes you feel very comfortable, and she goes out of her way to make sure everything is going well. Second, she creates a great atmosphere. My family felt so welcomed and happy. She talks with a few times before arriving to stay abreast of your plans and making sure she is ready for you. Her communication is the best! Plus, we loved her old restored farmhouse. Great setting and great breakfasts! Lastly, our foreign student saw her piano and provided a lovely classical concert for us and guests. Only in a setting which is so comfortable would such a thing happen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Peaceful, welcoming, unpretentious, and accommodating -- these are all words that describe our many experiences at Oaklawn over the past ten years. We visit to unwind, catch up with the wonderful Inn keeper Maggie, bike on the Red Cedar River trail, go antiquing, and of course to see whatever is scheduled at the Mabel Tainter. The price at Oaklawn is right, it is not a fussy B & B, it's quiet and in a woods, and we love the small town atmosphere. Yes, we recommend Oaklawn Inn!

Room Tip: We love the green room the most, it is quiet and there are trees outside every window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Oaklawn Inn and highly recommend it. Maggie, the innkeeper, made sure we were aware of all the things to do in town and all of our restaurant options. Every morning she made a lovely breakfast.

The Inn is a beautifully restored lumber baron mansion. It is has an easy charm about it that reflects the inn keeper's nature. We look forward to future stays!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Oaklawn Inn over an extended Memorial Day weekend as we helped our son settle into the Menomonie area to start his new job. It was an absolutely delightful stay! Maggie Foote, owner and hostess extraordinaire, welcomed us with grace and warmth as we entered her door near midnight. Delicious breakfasts were served with care and consideration of not only of the guest's schedules, but also any requested dietary needs. The home is beautifully decorated, and the rooms are large with comfortable beds and space for a sitting area. Each of the guest quarters have a private bathroom complete with bath tub and optional shower. Sitting on the front porch in the morning, with a hot cup of coffee, listening to the Canadian geese around the pond was a special time to enjoy the quiet of the day break. Great place. Great hostess. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night in early spring - such a beautiful home - you can just imagine the history that transpired there over the past century. Maggie has renovated and decorated so it is comfortable and charming without being stuffy - very soulful environment. She was a great hostess, willing to chat about the home and local venues. And the birds! And the screen porch!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 400DonnaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been to Oaklawn Inn multiple times in the last year and keep going back for a number of reasons. The Inn is itself is an historic building built sometime in the late 1800's. The common rooms are grand. The bedrooms are of good size and have comfortable beds. The grounds are lovely being surrounded by all manner of trees, some wet lands and containing wildlife. One of the best features is the large, enclosed front porch with a great view of the sunset.

Maggie is a gracious and knowledgeable hostess who puts on a good breakfast. I highly recommend the Oaklawn Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineS650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menomonie hotels
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Menomonie WI
Super 8 Menomonie WI
#2 of 8 in Menomonie
585 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Menomonie Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Motel 6 Menomonie
Motel 6 Menomonie
#3 of 8 in Menomonie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Menomonie
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Menomonie
93 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Menomonie-UW Stout
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklawn Inn

Address: 423 Technology Dr E, Menomonie, WI 54751-2300
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Menomonie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Menomonie
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaklawn is a 129 year-old farmhouse, built by a lumberbaron. The last structure remaining of a 518 acre stockfarm where horses were raised and trained. Now a bed and breakfast with four spacious guestrooms, queen beds, complimentary refreshments and private baths. Great hot tasty breakfasts to accommodate your taste or special needs and showcase local fare. Wonderful screened porch for fantastic sunsets, bird watching and night time chorus of peepers. Free Wi-fi and parking. Just an hour's drive east of Minneapolis/St. Paul. Off I-94. 5 minutes from downtown Menomonie. Near Red Cedar Trail, UW-Stout, Mabel Tainter Center for the Arts, Phillips Medisize, Andersen Windows, Leinenkugel’s. The area is perfect for biking, hiking, antiques, golf, microbreweries and Wisconsin fish fries. State and Federal rates honored. Corporate guests welcome. Extended stay options available. Flexible rates customized for guest needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing