We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B w/out Hostess/Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“B&B w/out Hostess/Host”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The GOOD - Home was wonderfully refurbished and decorated. Room was charming and bath area was sumptious.

The AVERAGE - Breakfast was nicely plated, but food was only average.

The POOR - The owners only greet guests between the hours of 3 and 5 PM. STRANGE for a B&B. We arrived around 6:00 PM on a Friday. A note and key were waiting inside the front hallway near a small desk lamp. The ONLY light on in the whole place. After we stumbled around for 5 minutes we finally found some lights and found our room. When we finally found the advertised in-room TV it was a tiny 9 inch set that could be viewed by only one individual from the bed. I had to sit on the floor leaned against the bed to see the set.

Only by speaking to other guests the next day did we learn the B&B had a book and DVD library on the 3rd floor. They also informed us there was a private sauna for use of guests.

The hostess was nice enough when she served breakfast, but never offered any update to us about the property or provided suggestions for dining, things to see and do that only a local would know.

CONCLUSION - We like B&Bs and have been to over 50 different establishments. Only time we have never been given a tour, told of amenities, or not asked if we would like recommendations for restaurants/things to do. The home is quite nice, but it is more like the impersonal experience you get at a hotel than the fun of a B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BadgerTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karisa F, Owner at Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Here at Walking Iron B&B, we take reviews seriously and like to respond to them for our valued guests. We have been in business since 1999 and every guest’s experience, good or bad, does not go unnoticed. We don’t make excuses because we value our guest’s concerns, instead, we will address the negative points of this particular review.

CHECK-IN TIME: All guests receive a confirmation letter that clearly states our check in time is between 3pm and 5pm. We discovered that we had to have something like this in place in order to operate as a business and a family. (That night we were attending our son’s basketball game) The guest had made the reservation over the phone so we explained all of this information at this time as well. We had given suggestions for dinner as well and had told them of a great place to eat for fish on that Friday evening. We simply cannot be there for check-in for every guest, but we make every effort to do so.

We apologize about the lights not being on….many times other guests like to save energy and turn lights off behind them.

On the “note” that is left for all our guests arriving late- it explains clearly where their room is located, details about parking, breakfast and our contact info. Guests who choose to not read the note may find themselves searching for their rooms.

We do apologize to these guests if the information booklet was not present in their room. This booklet gives them everything they need to know about the amenities. In this case, it seems the information book was not placed in the room, which we have corrected.

As for the small t.v. in the room: We take pride that all our tvs are in cabinets or not clearly out in the open. We do not have oversized tvs in our bed and breakfast….it doesn’t enhance the décor. We find that many guests prefer the subtle blend of technology and history. This guest is correct- the tv size is smaller and we will be upgrading the size of the screen.

To address the issue of not providing information to the guests at breakfast…We do make effort to converse with our guests. In this case, the guests seemed to be having a lively conversation with other guests- often times we don’t want to interfere with these. We are not in-your-face-innkeepers…and do not want to be rude in interrupting guest’s conversations. If for a second, we thought they were not enjoying themselves, we would have intervened, but no attempt was made to ask for information before, during, or after breakfast.

This particular guest stayed two nights. Had we been aware of these concerns during their stay, every effort would have been made to correct any oversights on our part.

Once again, we are so sorry if they had a bad experience at our bed and breakfast. These last 13+ years we have made every attempt to make sure our guests stays are memorable ones. In this case, if we had known we were falling short, we would have been more than happy to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Walking Iron is charming. Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. Great two person shower and a personal hot tub in the bathroom. Sauna downstairs! Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Though a very small town, Mazo is a good location and close to many activities.

Room Tip: Doctor's study was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was dee-lish-us! The grounds, with Bear Creek running through, are beautiful. We love the proximity to Spring Green and American Players' Theater.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondville, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My daughter and I met half way at Walking Iron for a wonderful girls weekend. We loved the decor and the food was amazing! Karissa and David are the best hosts. There are so many things to do around the area you will never lack for something to do. If you are looking for a relaxing and special time away, this would be it! The Old Feed Mill has wonderful food and atmosphere! Tano's Pizza was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lenora's Room. It faces the street, but was very quiet. The king size bed was so co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Walking Iron B & B is a beautiful place to stay with gracious hosts. The location is exquisite in early autumn and is near Spring Green, Wisconsin. You can enjoy theatre productions at American Player's Theatre in summer and early autumn. The B & B is easy walking distance from The Old Feedmill, a charming local restaurant. Cheese and apple lovers can make a gourmet tour of the region. We plan to be regular guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRA1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The rennovation of this historic home has resulted in a perfect Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room (Doctor's Study ) was comfortable and unique. Breakfast was superior. It is close to the Frank Lloyd Wright house and House on the Rock, and also Madison. Walk to the Old Feed Mill for dinner. It is also great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our very first B&B experience and I must say it put any fears I had to rest! Dave was very warm and welcoming upon check in. Our room was AMAZING! My husband ordered a special flowers/chocolate/champagne addition and it was in the room and ready to surprise me. Very impressed with that! I would definitely return to Walking Iron. The breakfast was so DELICIOUS!! Thank you for making our first B&B experience extremely MEMORABLE!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazomanie
11.4 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
14.5 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
12.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
16.2 mi away
Victorian Dreams Bed and Breakfast
21.8 mi away
The Livingston Inn
The Livingston Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Property: Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing