We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Walking Iron B & B is a beautiful place to stay with gracious hosts. The location is exquisite in early autumn and is near Spring Green, Wisconsin. You can enjoy theatre productions at American Player's Theatre in summer and early autumn. The B & B is easy walking distance from The Old Feedmill, a charming local restaurant. Cheese and apple lovers can make a gourmet tour of the region. We plan to be regular guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRA1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 121 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

The rennovation of this historic home has resulted in a perfect Bed and Breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Our room (Doctor's Study ) was comfortable and unique. Breakfast was superior. It is close to the Frank Lloyd Wright house and House on the Rock, and also Madison. Walk to the Old Feed Mill for dinner. It is also great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our very first B&B experience and I must say it put any fears I had to rest! Dave was very warm and welcoming upon check in. Our room was AMAZING! My husband ordered a special flowers/chocolate/champagne addition and it was in the room and ready to surprise me. Very impressed with that! I would definitely return to Walking Iron. The breakfast was so DELICIOUS!! Thank you for making our first B&B experience extremely MEMORABLE!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleSobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding at the Old Feed Mill and it was an amazing B&B. Karisa was a gracious host and the breakfast was very good as well. Wonderful property and highly recommended. We enjoyed all the historical photographs, history of the property and information about Mazomanie.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed many times at Walking Iron and have taken groups of people there annually. It is a magically restored Victorian mansion with rooms that are lovingly decorated in period style. The proprietors take enormous pride in what they have achieved (rightfully so). Breakfast are beyond ample and always delicious. The owners' hospitality is unmatched. Everything is spotless. The proximity to countless treasurable sites in Southwestern Wisconsin makes this the perfect spot from which to explore the region. Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin is nearby, as is American Players Theatre, the finest company of its kind in North America. Nature lovers are in for a feast. The proprietors will provide information for everything worthwhile to experience in the area. We will continue to return year after year (unless this review makes rooms unavailable!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaestroAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was planing our B&B stays for our business trip from Ohio towards St.Paul MN for a business convention and then on over the top of Lake MI and back down. After reading all of the great reviews on Tripadvisor for Walking Iron B&B, I booked on-line and was not disappointed.

We drove into the area and wondered how an incredible B&B could be located in such a little town, and then turned the corner to see the grande ole home.

Once inside we could see how lovingly the house had been restored. We stayed in the Lenora's Garden View room, upstairs. Thankful that the whole house was air conditioned with the record heat of the summer of 2012!!!

We were recommended to dine (within walking distance) at an old mill that was converted into a restaurant--excellent! Then we enjoyed the rest of the evening on the front porch of the B&B with other guests.

Breakfast, the next morning was outstanding! Everything was first rate!

The whole experience was highly recommendable!

Next time we go, we would love to take in show at the local theater, which had high marks from the other guests.

Room Tip: Verona's Garden View is one of the largest rooms with a spa tub (we did not use) in a spacious b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TemPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a wonderful property, and the rooms are all very quiet, comfortable, and decorated to the period. We felt like taking a step back in time! After spending a day hiking around the area it was wonderful to soak in the private whirlpool tub and then start the morning with the refreshing double-shower!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Doctors study and it was fantastic, but all rooms appeared to be very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APK_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazomanie
11.4 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
323 reviews
14.5 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#3 of 6 in Spring Green
128 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cedarberry Inn
Cedarberry Inn
#1 of 1 in Sauk City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Usonian Inn
The Usonian Inn
#1 of 3 in Spring Green
256 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range: $120 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing