We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Mayville Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mayville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayville Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Mayville B&B and Inns
Iowa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We have stayed at the Mayville Inn on previous trips to the area and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The rooms are spotless and of good size. Having a refrigerator was very helpful. The beds are comfortable.
Jane is a wonderful hostess and brightens your day. She is happy to share information about anything you need such as places to eat. The hotel is located near the best places to observe wildlife and walk in the marsh. A lovely place.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RetiredHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
20
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

This is our favorite place to stay. Even though you are at a hotel, you feel like you are at a bed and breakfast. They have a sitting\reading room that over looks an empty field, and just gives it a bed and breakfast feel. The owners are so personal and friendly you feel like you are staying with friends. We always get the whirlpool suite, and it is always clean and the property as a whole is immaculate. We go away just to go here. I wish more hotels where this good, especially for the price.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

enjoyed our 2 day stay there. clean, comfortable, affordable, spacious, excellent guidance from the desk clerk and his mom (who staffs the bar at nite) on where to eat. great location next to the road to the marsh's best viewpoints, a 3 min drive to mayville downtown and breakfast, a 15 min drive to a great place for prime rib. in-room fridge made it even better.

  • Liked — guidance from staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I can't say I was as thrilled as some of the previous reviewers with The Mayville Inn, however, for the price it was more than acceptable. The continental breakfast leaves a little to be desired but it's not the worst I've ever seen. Rooms were clean and generously sized. There is an elevator which was nice especially for someone with a bad knee. Don't plan on bringing any kind of gaming equipment to hook up for the kids though as the TV's are a pretty basic model and not equipped for anything like that.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsybluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

We are relocating to Mayville & had the opportunity to stay at the Mayville Inn for a couple of nights while getting our "new" house in order & my husband getting settled in his "new" job. All I can say is...WOW!!!

Clean, spacious rooms with a nice sitting area (couch, table, chairs), spotless bathroom with exceptional water pressure & a fridge...you can't beat that!

Jane is a most gracious hostess & is more than happy to recommend places to see, eat, etc...Plus, having homemade cookies set out every day at 4:00 is a real treat. I KNOW once we move to Mayville, I'm going to have to get her recipe :) Hope she'll share...

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegendsOnTheLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Mayville Inn. A spotless, well-run two story Motel just outside Mayville downtown. It has an elevator! The rooms are quite large, and the prices are insanely low. I think the most expensive is about $65-75 for the suites. The deluxe rooms have a double bed, chairs, TV, fridge, coffee, etc. for only $60. The standard room is even cheaper and has 2 double beds. But that's not the main reason to stay here. That would be Jane Klawitter, the proprietress. An unashamed Mayville booster, she knows everything going on in town and will share at GREAT length! She will treat you like family.

2 other good reasons to stay: the fitness center within walking distance is on a par with health clubs found in major metro areas (i.e. Chicago), and the town of Mayville is incredibly scenic. Main street leads out to the most beautiful riverside meander you've ever seen. It's within biking distance to Horicon Marsh, the greatest stopping place for migratory waterfowl in the midwest. And the biking is terrific! Challenging but not impossible hills, quiet back roads... Need I say more?

Going back this August, and can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 12, 2004

It was truly a pleasure to stay. The deluxe room was average size-but comfy. A refrigerator was in the room. We enjoyed the sun room on the main floor with games and books. Also, they have a nook of a bar that came in handy late at night. What a great area to tour. I highly recommend this inn. The owners are very friendly and helpful. If I had an opportunity to own my own Inn, this would be the one!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
1.2 mi away
The Audubon Inn
The Audubon Inn
#1 of 1 in Mayville
279 reviews
9.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
12.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
16.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayville Inn

Property: Mayville Inn
Address: 701 Mountin Drive, Mayville, WI 53050
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mayville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayville Inn is a 29-room colonial-style hotel located in Mayville, Wisconsin. We have a mix of accommodations that appeal to the business traveler, as well as the leisure guest. WI-FI is free. You’ll find squeaky clean rooms with a peaceful country view at a reasonable price.Just 2 miles from the International Education Center for the Horicon Marsh, our well-informed staff can suggest a variety of ways to see and enjoy this amazing treasure.Give yourself some time to kick back and chat in our European bar, The Library, or in The Gathering Room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing