We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Worth a Try”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2009

A cold wet day of birding in nearby Horicon Natl. Wildlife Refuge brought us to the Inn as walk-ins on a busy Saturday (Mother's Day weekend). Manager seemed "avoidant" and not very welcoming, but the young woman on the desk was obliging and showed us the two open rooms. Room quality was great, the whirlpool cure just what we needed, and the town is a gem, but there were small slip-ups (missing bath towels, sticky in-room coffee mug, indifferent Quik-Trip breakfast tray) that left us wondering if we hadn't just picked a bad weekend? This is a pleasantly updated historic small town hotel, though not a great value (even at a moderate walk-in rate reduction)...breakfast tray (the only Sunday option) best left unmentioned as an amenity. Perhaps understaffed or more focused on its flagship local restaurant ( no menu was posted and we are vegetarian, so less than optimistic in rural Wisconsin, but it looks well run and charming)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkplease49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2009

Lovely, spacious accommodations with a beautiful bar and excellent restaurant open for dinner. Close to the Horicon marsh for wildlife viewing, bicycling, and walking. Staff are attentive, but stretched to accomplish all.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craftylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

My husband and I decided to getaway for a week-end to just go and relax. i decided to go to the Audubon as we had been there for supper one night and the owner had gladly given us a tour of the hotel. It was beautiful and peaceful. So I made reservations to go for the week-end. We greeted by staff that were truly interested in making our stay a memorable one. We went to our room to relax on the queen size poster bed. I felt like I was a princess. The pub opened up at 5 so we went to have a drink before supper. Again, the staff was right there provide us with whatever we needed. After our drinks we were led into the dining room. The stained glass in the dining room and pub are gorgeous. Our food was fantastic. Everything about the meal was great. Our service and the food both. The soup was great I was told that the chef prepares it daily herself and our main courses were prepared perfectly. When we returned to our room we relaxed in our double whirlpool tub. It was wonderful. The breakfast the next morning was good too. I understand that the owners had just recently bought the place I wish them well and I will tell others about your establishment.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank mrsearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here many times. This is a fantastic inn. From the moment you walk in, to the quaint little town of mayville it is very relaxing. We love the large whirpool tub to the wonderful decor. You have to experience the whole atmosphere of The Audobon Inn

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deuceDePereWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Home away from home. everyone car about you from owner to houskeeping, wait staff and chef. we did have a great time will be back again soon.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank usa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2004

We just spent a romantic weekend in this beautifully renovated Inn.Very comfortable and home away from home feel to this place. Owners Fares and Cindy make you feel very welcome. We stayed in the Swan room on the third floor (each room has a theme).Fresh fruit and chocolates are waiting for you when you arrive in your room as well as magazines and an array of books. For me it was the simple touches that quiet literally made me beam!The four poster bed, the old fashioned TV (but when you switch it on you find cable and great quality picture), the whirlpool tub, the bubblebath, the thick carpeting. Fabulous! Can't wait to go back! Thank you Fares and Cindy.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Berrycm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht zur Straßenseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiserJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
13.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
8.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
12.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, West Bend
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range: $91 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing