We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Love Nature, Check It Out!”
Review of Horicon Marsh

Horicon Marsh
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monticello, WI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If You Love Nature, Check It Out!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We entered at the visitor center on Highway 33 just outside of town. Inside there are interesting exhibits and facts about the marsh as well as maps. We walked the paths near the Center. Very peaceful and beautiful scenery. It is nice to see land relatively unspoiled.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    27
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, IL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Blue Heron Landing Marsh Tour is Amazing!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I took the 9am, two hour Marsh Tour on May 25, 2013.

Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the marsh history and the many birds in the marsh. He could hear and identify birds long before we could even see them!

We were fortunate enough to see and hear 42 different species of birds - including Great Blue Herons, Pelicans and one of the nesting pair of Bald Eagles at their nest.

It is so peaceful and quiet on the marsh, making it very easy to hear the many songbirds calling. We just loved it!

I would recommend this to anyone - even other novices like ourselves with little knowledge of birds - just the experience of being on the marsh is worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wif52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good learning experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Looking for a place to take the kids or be a kid yourself, this is the place. Love the variety of animals and birds you can see here and the Marsh is huge with a lot of walking area. Great place to visit in the Spring and Fall to see the geese migration.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reeseville,Wi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birds”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On Hwy 49 you can see egrets,pelicans, and ducks from road. You can go to Marsh Haven Nature Center to hike or check out programs in spring and fall. Boardwalk off Hwy 49 to watch for birds and Federal building between Brownsville and Waupun. Horicon DNR side offers spring and fall programs and at other times at building north of Horicon on Hwy 28.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Hiking and Kayaking”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Part of Horicon Marsh is managed by the US Fish & Wildlife Service and the other part is managed by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. Both parts have a visitor's center and walking trails. The walking trails of both parts are easy and consist of lots of boardwalks (it's a marsh so the boardwalks are necessary to protect the marsh and to protect your feet from getting wet). The federal part also has a driving loop.

My first visit was in April to kayak the canoe trail which runs through the State part. (No kayaking/canoeing is allowed in the Federal part.) It was a chilly, somewhat windy day, but we thoroughly enjoyed our paddle. My mother-in-law had never kayaked before and she found the wind a little challenging, but nothing she couldn't handle. Along the way, we saw white pelicans, a bald eagle, etc. The Federal and State visitor centers do not rent kayaks or canoes, so you have to bring your own.

My second trip was in October as a chaperone for my daughter's middle school science club. We visited both the Federal and State parts. Again, it was a chilly, somewhat windy day, with light to moderate rain, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We saw a snowy egret, lots of ducks (I never knew their were so many duck species), etc. The Federal and State visitor's centers are both worth a visit, and both have small gift shops with unique bird and wildlife themed gifts. If I only had time to go to one, I would go to the Federal visitor's center, as it had more displays and a nicer gift shop. We were supposed to take a pontoon-type boat trip but had to cancel due to the weather, so that is another option for people who want to boat but not kayak or canoe. The visitor's centers don't offer boat trips so you have to arrange them with private outfitters.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horicon Marsh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing