We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider staying here very carefully and then opt not to”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mauston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodside Ranch Resort
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I am a lifelong Wisconsinite raised not too far from Mauston WI. I had never heard of the Woodside Ranch but went to a family reunion there in June 2012. I was appalled at the room conditions I found. My lodge room was so dated that I did not even turn lights on for very long as I was afraid to get too good a look at it. I noticed a lack of any documentation in the room attesting to inspection, etc. The tub was multicolored from rust, and old age and dripping water from the faucet. Although meals were included, as were all the horse and animal activities, we did not partake of any of those--meals yes, activities no. The two nights we spent there were so expensive that I asked to be removed from the mailing list and never wish to return. The food was nothing special --school hot lunch variety. This is not a place for couples without kids or for couples not interested in animal activities. Truly the four legged creatures had better accommodations-new barns and updated plumbing and sleeping quarters than did we two legged creatures. Don't be fooled by the website. The highway that runs through it is very noisy and very close to the lodge. You ride a hay wagon thru the woods to get to breakfast every morning. Don't miss the bell or you miss your meal. No tvs, no radios, no amenities in the rooms in the lodge.

Room Tip: AVOID too costly and too barren
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VASQUEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Woodside Ranch Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have been going to Woodside Ranch for many years until our last visit. We were on a trail ride and the bugs were awful, the poor horses were eaten alive. I ask one of the employees who were trail riding with us and he said the new owner, who is from LA, is pretty cheap and wouldn't buy fly spray for the horses. We will never return to Woodside until they atleast give those poor horses so fly spray. They were being eaten alive and it was terrible to see them like that. It's too bad because the horses are the main reason most of us go there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

my wife and me just left the ranch last Friday, we were there for our honeymoon.All I can say is that we LOVED it there, the staff were so nice to us and the food was out of this world. Thanks woodside for a great week and we WILL be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I love the ranch, leave the electronics at home because you wont have time to use them here nor will you miss them either. Stay in a rustic cabin and let your stresses of the world fade away as you horse back ride whenever you want care free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We've been going to Woodside Ranch for years now...my kids love the horseback riding, activities and friends they've met over the years. The staff is friendly, funny and we look forward to seeing fellow guests year after year. The food is more comfort then gourmet and be sure to bring your own pillows towels. Woodside Ranch is frozen in time from the 60s so it's charming; but the beds aren't too comfortable and the cabins/ranch is looking a little tired.

Room Tip: cabins; not suites per se
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patiflannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

5 years ago we took our whole family here for an anniversary long weekend. This year we repeated this wonderful adventure. The good news and bad news was that nothing had changed. The meals are tasty and hearty - but a bit like 1955. Delicious! But not reflecting modern preferences for fresh vegetables and fruits. The rustic decor remains authentic. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Opportunities to enjoy riding good and family friendly horses are extensive. My favorite thing is still riding (horseback or in the wagon) through the woods to an outdoor wonderful breakfast being cooked. Nothing like trotting through the woods and beginning to smell the coffee and bacon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheetosBurlingtonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Me and my family have been going here for the past 10 years. I love it so much that I actually applied to be a wrangler. I can't get enough of this place. It is worth going to this wonderful location. It's a lot of fun. the horses are great, the activities are fun, they have a nice pool, their cabins are clean. really there are no complaints. And through all of my years attending Woodside I have heard no negative complaints. If you want a fun get away this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spartacussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mauston
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Mauston
73 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Park Oasis Inn
14.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites New Lisbon
14.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
641 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#25 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Ranch Resort

Address: State Highway 82, Mauston, WI 53948
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Mauston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mauston
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside Ranch invites you to experience the ultimate family vacation in legendary western hospitality. Located close to the famous Wisconsin Dells, among the pristine woodlands of Mauston, Wisconsin, come enjoy our Horseback Riding on over 1400 acres of trails. From beginners to experts, Woodside Ranch offers something for everyone, from old-fashioned covered wagon rides, pulled by our Majestic Percherons, to the famous Woodside Breakfast Ride, beautiful heated pool, private stocked lake, a modern fitness facility and fun daily activities, if horseback riding is not your saddle. Experience Chef Jaaffar's Down Home Fixins and of course- Uncle Z's Famous Fried Chicken! We promise you won't leave hungry! We offer Cozy Log Cabins, Ranch House Rooms, or the newly remodeled Lake House to accommodate large-kin families and/or groups of any size. Here at Woodside Ranch, we're happy to customize your vacation as active or relaxed as you choose to be!Come, Discover a Wisconsin Legend - 100 years in the Making!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodside Ranch Hotel Mauston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing