We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where locals go for good conversation and great lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crabby Dave's

Crabby Dave's
Ranked #17 of 69 Restaurants in Marshfield
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where locals go for good conversation and great lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I just came back from another great lunch at the Daily Grind. If you're looking for ample soup, salad and sandwich portions where the recipes are homey but with a special twist, this is your place. Order at the counter; the atmosphere is lively and sun-filled. Reasonable prices are a plus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GFrazerWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The owner is a very nice old man so I feel bad for saying this, but we were not impressed at all with this restaurant. The space is so small that there is literally nowhere to wait for a table. We were left standing in the walkways, dodging people and waitresses with large plates of food. Our waitress was nice and I appreciated her determined attitude.

The cheese curds were okay, as in slightly less than average quality. The food arrived between cool to warm for each of our dishes, but not hot and ready to eat. The French onion soup, however, arrived very hot and burned my tongue. The taste of each entree was lacking in flavor. The buns were nice and warm, though, and probably my favorite part of the dish.

The atmosphere itself just seems dingy and really outdated. There is one big window at the front which is covered with yellow/mustard colored drapes.

Bottom line: I would not return. I can find better food and atmosphere in Marshfield for the same price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank safirestar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Fish fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Casual atmosphere. Food was excellent for a Friday fish fry. Our waitress and bartender were very ice and lots of fun,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LiaTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The bar dose not look like much from the outside but inside it is very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Ordered an appetizer of their "famous chicken wings" witch came out still frozen in the middle. Sent them back only to get the same order minus the two that we cut into, still cold in the middle. Our entrees must have been completed before our appetizer was re finished because they looked like they'd been under a heat lamp for a while and were barley warm. Portions sizes of food were good for the price, maybe just an off night, but I've had carry out from Crabby Dave's before and it wasn't much to write home about either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very good fish fry, expect a wait on Friday night as it's packed! Good burgers and it's kid friendly with good prices for the food. Would recommend trying it. Kind of loud due to how many people are there (good busy) plus the bar in a fairly small space.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 006r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Crabby Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing