We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron BrewPub

Blue Heron BrewPub
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Marshfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Blue Heron BrewPub and The Oven above the Pub offer two distinct dining environments. Downstairs the BrewPub offers a casual, comfortable eating environment with a variety of foods prepared from "scratch". The menu changes frequently and can be viewed on our website. Upstairs at The Oven above the Pub, the menu features items prepared in a Forno Bravo brick oven located within the dining area. Customers my order then watch their food being prepared. The menu items include appetizers, flatbreads, salads, and iron skillet entrees. Both areas can prepare food for individuals with dietary preferences. All tap beers are brewed in our own brewery and available both upstairs and downstairs. Flagship brews include Honey Blonde, Tiger's Eye, Hop Heart IPA and Loch Ness Scotch Ale. Six additional brews assure that anyone should be able to find a quaffable libation. An elevator serves all levels of the building for those requiring assistance.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We live in Texas, so we only get to come here when we are in town visiting family, but we make a point to go every time we can. They have a large variety of good beers that they brew, and a wide variety of food. They have my favorite Reuben sandwich - the corned beef has more of a pulled pork than sliced deli meat texture and it makes a tremendous difference. Other sandwiches have been good, too - hamburger, smothered chicken, fried walleye... They have some vegetarian options, as well. The soups have been good, and the french onion was excellent. We can't resist fried cheese curds, and we had them twice this trip, and both times they were too greasy and not crunchy enough, but that is our only real complaint. They are trying to get people to rate their beers on Untapped, so you can check out that for beer information. They had some fantastic coffee beers while we were there. The service wasn't over the top, but it was what I expect for a busy bar. The atmosphere is generally warm and cheerful - no smoking inside, clean restrooms.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    54
    21
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stopped in here on a recent business trip. The dining room has a wonderful industrial feel, I was seated quickly, and staff were very friendly. The fried portabella mushrooms (which won't be on the menu after January, from what the server said) were wonderful - crunchy, not greasy, and just a touch of spiciness. The novAmber ale was refreshing. The real star of the meal was the Shroom & Swiss burger - juicy, flavorful, and properly sized. For my side, I ordered the sweet potato fries, which were also nice and crispy. Overall, a great meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckopczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Neat place! Good food..Meatloaf sandwich was tasty.....Be prepared to sit for awhile. Service is slow, but friendly wait staff.... Good drinks, but again took to long to get one......Go if you are not in a hurry..Experience pub like setting

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pospychala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visited the popular spot and was not disappointed. The service was great and the lunch was very good. Nice selection of beer as well. One of my favorite spots in Marshfield.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RansomGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fair lunch spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Service was good. I just think the menu could be more modern or have more modern choices. Seemed beer was all they cared out. I was at lunch so didn't drink but they were out of one major beer. Would not go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Owner at Blue Heron BrewPub, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Scott, I am delighted you chose to visit us for lunch recently. We take pride in both our service--which you seemed to appreciate-- and our menu. With over 80 items on the menu I find it hard to imagine that there is not something that could stike your fancy. Blue Heron BrewPub is just that, a BrewPub. Incidentally, as a BrewPub, beer is our highest concern and we are proud of each of our uniquely crafted brews. As you noted our Loch Ness Scotch Ale is currently not on tap as it is a fall and winter beer. As soon as we have an open tap line, Scotch Ale will be on line. I invite you to come back some time soon when you can enjoy one of our excellent brews--it's what we do best. By the way, what exactly do you mean by modern food? Looking forward to hearing from you, Paul M, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron BrewPub also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron BrewPub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing