We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Riverfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Marinette
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Met expectations”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The Riverfront Best Western offers convenience and is properly priced. Unlike others, it is not located near the train tracks which is especially important to light sleepers. The lobby, though small, is well appointed and comfortable for visiting with a few friends. The rooms are reasonable for a single, but may be a bit tight for more than a couple. All the rooms have reportedly been recently remodeled and include a microwave and bar refrigerator. The cleanliness of the room and hotel in general could use some improvement, but nothing was abhorrent...just not as clean as I expect. The included breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon / sausage, home fries, pancakes / French toast, bread / English muffins / bagels and cereal) is better than offered by most restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoCarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    56
    18
    7
See reviews for
62
41
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for four nights while visiting nearby relatives in Marinette and as a stopover for a trip to Calumet, MI. The room was very comfortable, quiet and well laid out. Breakfasts in the downstairs dining room were buffet style and free on weekdays. I recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalehiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Our non-smoking room was ready when we arrived and check-in went smoothly. Our room was located on the sixth-floor which was designated non-smoking. The room was clean and the queen beds were reasonably comfortable. The room air conditioner worked well but was noisy when the cooling compressor came on. Cable TV was fine and an internet cable connection was available but it was a bit slow. The room had a microwave and refrigerator. The room décor is dated and needs to be refreshed. A faint smell of cigarette smoke permeated the room through the bathroom ventilation system from the smoking floors below. I was surprised to see that the iron was bolted to the ironing board making it difficult and inconvenient to use.

Although we did not have a chance to use the indoor pool, it appeared clean. Complimentary breakfast was not served on the weekend, but a regular breakfast was available in the restaurant. Our breakfast and dinner meals in the restaurant were adequate. The parking is ample and we felt that the security was good. We found the hotel/restaurant staff to be friendly. The hotel itself appears old-looking and needs to be updated throughout.

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Marinette.

Overall, we believe that newer hotels in the Marinette/ Menominee, MI area offer better value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBHappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Basic as in very ordinary property.

Bed/Mattress - Like sleeping on the flight deck of the naval aircraft carrier Kitty Hawk. Industrial grade that doesn't know the meaning of "pillow top."

Bring your own pillow, because the hotel's are the stereotypical "sacks 'o concrete" aka heavy duty, industrial grade.

Continental breakfast - Skip it! They had the usual "cereal silos" and "toaster tunnel" that took an excruciatingly long time to ever see your rock hard English muffin or dry toast again with a semi-tan exterior.

Coffee - We found far better at the gas station and it was fresh brewed every hour.

Restaurant air quality - Previous night's cigarette stale smoke odor. Yep - The people puff away in the bar during the evening and you get to re-live that experience sans humans during the "breakfast."

Best Western needs to do a serious evaluation of this site in their chain.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CABarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Went to the UP for a wedding in Menominee, MI, which is directly across the river. This and one other hotel (Americinn) were the only choices for stay. Bestwestern Riverfront is a beat-up hotel. The carpets are ragged and dirty, and it needs a fresh coat of paint. Beds were clean, shower clean. The hotel was adequate for our needs but nothing special. The restaurant is VERY SMOKY. Smoking is popular up there...YUCK! Greasy spoon feel to the bar/restaurant. There was a wedding (not the one I came for) in the hotel that night and the drunken attendees were screaming down the hallways at 2 am....and the walls and doors are thin. Would I stay again? Well, only if I had to but, I don't plan on being in the UP anytime soon.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smoky, run down
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank thebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Comfy beds and clean rooms were over-shadowed by the hotel policy of letting parents drop their kids for the night. The room across from us had 6 pre-teens holding a BD party. Mom left and came back the next AM to pick them up. Until 2:00AM there were slamming doors, kids running up and down the hallways, etc.
Cleaning personnel told us the next morning this is something that occurs with regularity. Stay away unless you stay up all night and party with teens. Oh yes, during the night the kids stole all the do not distrub signs from the occupied rooms.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, frig in room
  • Disliked — No parking - we had to park across the street and a block away
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank A-ZPals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Good bed, standard 1990-style furnishings, very musty hallways, very basic breakfast service in a coffee shop that was clearly not one doing a "land office business". The staff were friendly and did not appear to have all that much to do, either, as business was slow. The city had a limited selection of places to stay, and I don't know if there were any better ones, or not.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wizeoldowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marinette
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marinette
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Menominee
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marinette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marinette
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge On the Bay
Econo Lodge On the Bay
#2 of 2 in Menominee
77 reviews
19.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Riverfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Riverfront Inn

Property: Best Western Riverfront Inn
Address: 1821 Riverside Ave, Marinette, WI 54143-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Marinette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Marinette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Riverfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six story full service hotel overlooking the Beautiful Menominee River. Featuring the Avenue Grille & Bar. Located in the downtown district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Riverfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverfront Hotel Marinette
Marinette Best Western
Best Western Marinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing