We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool place to visit a have big sliders”
Review of Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q

Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Marinette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
464 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“cool place to visit a have big sliders”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

this is a slider place..jus bigger slidders..place is great with a old fire pit..no frys or rings..thats kind of weird..get a hot fudge sundae to go..great deal

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    41
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“You gotta try it!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As I was driving through town, I passed by this place. I thought to myself, "I gotta try this". I went back later in the day. It's like stepping into a time machine to a small diner. The only small detractor from the atmosphere is the ATM machine in the corner as they don't accept credit cards. It's very informal and laid back. The workers were very friendly.

If you're expecting fine dining, then this is not the place for you (although I don't know why anyone would expect that by looking at the place). There's a fire pit behind the bar with what appeared to be charcoal where they cook their burgers. I ordered a double cheeseburger and a homemade milkshake (about $7). I REALLY enjoyed the food. The bun was kinda crisp on the outside, yet soft on the inside.

If you pass through Marinette, you gotta tray this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhg155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not a BBQ but old fashioned burgers and malts”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This classic spot is a cramped diner that hasn't changed in decades! The old time juke boxes, the counters, the booths. The burgers are good, but the best part is the bun--soft on the inside and just a bit crusty on the outside. The brats are great, too (no sauerkraut, though).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viajera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I like simple and old fashioned. Burgers and brats on a real charcoal grill and malts. It's great! Like an old diner, and convenient.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great old-fashioned hamburger joint.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is a time capsule, with hamburgers from before the days of fast food (on a smaller, lower kind of bun with a harder outer crust), brats that have a smoky flavor from being grilled).
Milkshakes from real ice cream, waitresses out old time (efficient, businesslike, cheerful, but no "cutesy" quality). Real limited menu (mostly hamburgers, brats, pie, milkshakes- I think I remember a ham sandwich), but if you are going to a hamburger joint, that's what you want.
Atmosphere from the early forties that feels real, not assembled by a franchise. Great experience for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Menominee, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing