We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers”
Review of Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q

Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Marinette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Richmond, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great little 50's style burger joint that's been around forever, with a juke box with old music. They have hot dogs & brats, but we always get the burgers, love the crusty buns & chocolate shakes. We always go here when we visit family in August. Love Mickey Lu's :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marys1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    41
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It seems as though Mickey Lu's has kept up with all the old time traditions with the exception of common courtesies and small to”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ever since I was young, my family and I have made Mickey Lu's a tradition whenever we are in town. Unfortunately we will no longer be participating in this long loved tradition due to the level of disrespect we received during our last visit.

The employees at Mickey Lu's refused to serve us while they were busy due to the size of our family and our potential order of 10 burgers. It is a small establishment so if you have a family of 5 or more, keep in mind they most likely will not serve you!

I am a younger gal and understand that I may not be percieved as an important customer. However at 26 years old, I myself run a fast paced business, and I never imagined that a business could treat any of their guests with such disrespect. To treat a group of loyal customers this way is another story...

Because we are such a large family, we would have filled every seat in the restaurant! So attempting to be courteous and with the expectation of it being a busy day for this restaurant, I tried to call in our order an hour before open, only to be told they would not be able to take carry out orders that day.

Against my husbands pleas to find another place to eat that day, I waited in the parking lot until the doors opened. I wanted my Mickey Lu's while I was in town! At 11:03 am they were open and being the second guest in the door, (and not worried about how long it would take) I ordered 10 hamburgers.

The man cooking the burgers, who I believe to be the owner, turned around and said no, he will not make that many. He explained that there were 2 gentlemen in the restaurant who had already ordered and that he had a pile of phone/carry out orders waiting to be made, even though I was told carry out orders would not be accepted.

They did not give me any other options nor did they tell me what they would be willing to do for me, instead they asked me to leave.

Due to the request of what I assume to have been the owner, my large family (many of them local) and I will most definitely be finding another restaurant and creating a new tradition where we can be treated with a level of respect we deserve...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SonnyLaHaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My first (AMAZING) malt”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Walking into Mickey-Lu's is like going back in time with its 50s decor. The burgers were delicious, although I would definitely order at least a double because the patties are thin. I was assured by our exceptionally kind server that everything is 'real' in the food (real bread, butter, meat, etc.). I had the butterscotch malt, my first malt ever, and it was the most delicious thing I've ever had to drink. Wow! The fire grill taste really comes out in the burger and the pat of butter makes it really drippy. Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at Mickey-Lu's and I'll go back if I return to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melpitber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Should be on travel channel”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

There is NO better burger than a burger from Mickey-Lu's. friendly service too. A must visit if you are even close to Marinette. Worth flying from Hawaii if you had too! You will never find a burger like this outside of Wisconsin.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJH72Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Addictive”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't stop here unless you are prepared to come back again and again due to your new addition to the burgers! I have business colleagues that will plan meetings so they are not on Monday (day the place is closed) so that we can stop for a couple of burgers when we travel through Marinette. The owner is on site most of the time doing the grilling inside on a charcoal grill. How cool! I travel every week of the year around the country and this is one of the few places that is a must visit when I'm in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gbtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Mickey-Lu-Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing