We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WestPort Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Manitowoc B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I like to get away for his birthday, and were looking for a new place to adventure to. We chose the Westport and were not disappointed. The home is lovely, well decorated, comfortable feeling, and cozy. After a brief greeting from Paul, we were told where we could find menus, movies, and refreshments, then brought to our room . The room was beautiful and stocked with a few beverages and snacks too. There were even candles and fresh flowers in the room to give it that extra romantic touch. The breakfast was one of the better I have had in a B&B--Beautifully presented food that was delicious. Janice and Paul were gracious hosts, who left us to ourselves...but were only a door bell ring away if we were in need.
The only thing I would ask them to change is to share more about the history of the home, as it is one of the special things about staying at a B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svandons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked our stay at Westport B&B with the intention of taking the SS Badger across Lake Michigan the next day. However, due to Hurricane Sandy the waves were too high and ferry trips were canceled for a couple of days. We decided to stay anyway and we are very glad we did. Janice and Paul are gracious hosts and helped us find a restaurant for dinner and gave us information on alternate travel to get to our destination in Ludington the following day. The B&B is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and the fresh flowers and abundant snacks with a variety of coffees and teas were a special treat. The breakfast was amazing--incredibly delicious, beautifully served, and very filling. We were the only people there that day so all this effort was just for us so it's no wonder we felt like royalty!
Pete and Dot

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our one night stay at the WestPort and give it an excellent rating. The home is beautifully decorated, the room was very comfortable and the sheets were out of this world. Janice and Paul are excellent hosts and have thought of every detail to make anyone's stay enjoyable. We wish we had booked a second night. Breakfast was not ordinary either, it was wonderful, yummy and very filling!!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The owners were very personable, making their appearance every day during our stay. They were helpful in making wonderful recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The food was great, there were snacks everywhere! The rooms were decorated wonderfully, every little detail had its own purpose. The complimentary snacks and fridge were a big bonus! Lastly, we were extremely amazed and impressed with the maid service. Even my clothes was folded when we came back! We will definitely be coming back to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeelaB243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The owner refused to give us a refund or a "rain check" on our reservation. The SS Badger was not able to make the run across Lake Michigan due to an "act of God" ( high winds on the lake). We don't know how nice the rooms are or how well the staff attends to detail. We recommend waiting to pay for your stay until you get to this B&B.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_westport, Owner at WestPort Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We have many families that like to share their experience with their parents or siblings.
Example: Mary from Minneapolis commented how her Son and Daughter-in-law so
enjoyed the Westport, that they gave them a gift certificate to duplicate the experience, they enjoyed it so much, that they have returned every year since.

When a reservation is made 30 Days in advance of a stay, there is a commitment from both parties to honor the obligation. Notification of this commitment prior to a stay goes through due process. All guests receive the cancelation policy three times before arrival. At the time the online reservation is made, in a confirmation, and in a Welcome letter days before their arrival, so the position is clear.

When we received the cancellation, we opened the room for rebooking letting the guest know that if we could rebook the room there would be no charge to them. Unfortunately, we were unable to book the room, at such a late date, less than 24 hours notice. Remember the room had been booked by their daughter 30 Days prior, so even though we had gotten calls for reservations for that particular day weeks before, we were unable to accept any reservation as we had already booked the room. Our B&B was fully booked for that night. Our city was having a Harvest Festival that weekend, so rooms were at a premium.

When they cancelled the reservation, saying that the Badger wasn’t crossing the next day, they demanded that we give their daughter a refund for the reservation. We told them that wasn’t our policy, and that their daughter was aware of the reservation cancellation policy We would try to rebook the room, and if that wasn’t possible we would send them a Gift Certificate to be used at a later date, which wouldn’t expire for a year from date of issue. They said they didn’t want a Gift Certificate, saying that they didn’t know if they would be coming across to Manitowoc again. They were very adamant that we give them a refund, and would pursue the matter unless a refund was given. We had already made purchases of perishable items prior to the guest’s arrival such as flowers and food. Another person in the same situation cancelled, and we were able to reach an amicable agreement in minutes without all the vitriol. The comments are disingenuous, and untrue. We take very good care of our guests, check our Trip Advisor reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a very nice B&B. The house itself is beautiful, well-decorated and very comfortable. What made it a standout was the hosts willingness to accommodate my late arrival time, the complimentary well-stocked fridge and snack basket in my room (most appreciated after a harried day of travel) plus additional snacks and coffee in the common area, and the multi-course, freshly cooked breakfast. The room and bathroom were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. No issues with this inn whatsoever other than the relatively minor complaint about the lavender-scented sheets making me sneeze! I enjoyed my stay and it is clear that theses hosts know how to run an excellent B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The room was quiet, beautifully decorated and simply wonderful. Paul and Janis are excellent keepers and we would recommend the Westport to anyone without reservation. We felt more like family than guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeander50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitowoc
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
5.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Manitowoc
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Manitowoc
Quality Inn Manitowoc
#5 of 6 in Manitowoc
57 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
#3 of 6 in Manitowoc
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestPort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestPort Bed and Breakfast

Address: 635 N 8th St, Manitowoc, WI 54220-3919
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Manitowoc
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Manitowoc
Price Range: $100 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your WestPort Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing