We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun little stop in our road trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rahr-West Museum and Mansion

Rahr-West Museum and Mansion
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Manitowoc
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beaver Dam, WI
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A fun little stop in our road trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This month they have a display of place settings! I thought it sounded kind of "hokie". But it was really interesting! Also went to the Mansion. It had alot of collections-was not what I expected-not alot of original displays in the house. It was worth our time and their is not a fee-just donations so always worth your money. Person that showed us around was very knowledgeable. Learned some info about the history of Manitowoc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzz22bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KENOSHA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An eclectic collection of artifacts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This art museum and former home is definitely worth a visit. Exhibits change frequently. No admission fee. Exhibits included doll houses, doll collections, ivories, wood, Boehm ceramics, nice stained glass windows, fun metal yard statues, some world class art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“totally unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

what this art meseum lacks in quantity it makes up in quality.some really neat works of art.the mansion is beautiful and the 1-2 hours spent there browsing through the hiddem treasures were a wonderful experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank majormoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It had an excellent Frank Lloyd exhibit, as well as other interesting features, including being able to tour the mansion on your own. It was walkable from our lodging, and it was free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love Christmas? Must see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

During the holidays they decorate a tree in every room of the mansion. It's great! They also do a place setting display. There is usually something special going on.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rahr-West Museum and Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Rahr-West Museum and Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing